Bob Woolmer passes away at age 58

Re: Bob Woolmer passes away at age 58

by God, Hamid Mir is a truly classless person.

I hope when he dies people make a mockery of his life just as he has mocked Woolmer's today.

Woolmer always appeared to be a very joyful individual and wanted his team to have fun while playing cricket. I’m a 100% sure that this bakwas about suicide is not true. His time had come I guess. Rest in peace, chacha Bob :teary1: . I will personally miss his interaction with the fans on his website and how he always replied to even the most idiotic questions. I will miss his sense of humor. May God bless his soul.

Majid Bhatti, Geo's correspondent from Jamaica reporting that police is investigating blood found on Bob's bed.

I totally agree. He was not a person who would consider suicide. Even statements from his yesterday’s conference indicated that he was hurt but at the end of the day it is just game.So he laughed also few times.
I suspect it could be error of judgement with late night drinking or some angry fan going crazy. Ofcourse these are just speculations. May Allah give him peace. He was a great man.
This worldcup is turning out to be nightmare for lots of people.

pakistan team kay gham say?

May he rest in peace :flower1:

My last sight of Bob Woolmer was the TV shot of him putting his laptop back in his bag (immediately after the Pak-Ireland match yesterday)....as if to suggest he was "packing up and checking out" of something.

as it turned out ... this is what poor bob had been preparing for over the last few months :( ... the focus has been on the WC for the last couple of years now and the poor guy didnt know what fate had in store for him :( ... still can't believe it :(

:teary1: I hope people wishing death upon him in the streets of Pakistan realize how stupid they are now. No sporting event is above someone’s life.

shocking shocking news inzi ne haar ko kismaat per daaal dia aur bob nay apnay oper lay lia aur chaala gaya.Kia yea Beared rakhnay walay Allah ko samjhtay bhi hai.Allah blessed him indeed he was a keen humble person in cricketing world.we should give him a tribute aur goverment level per is ke khidmaat ko saarhana chiye.see how sincere he was he couldnt digest the defeat of pakistan cricket

This really is very sad news.

I know many people have been blaming Woolmer for Pakistan's bad performances, but he should not take the blame. He was one of the greatest coaches in world cricket.

May he rest in peace.

This is so shocking.

I feel like crying. Such a horrible weekend. May his soul rest in peace.

Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer dies

Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer has died after being discovered in his Jamaica hotel room on Sunday morning.

The 58-year-old former South Africa coach, who played for England between 1975 and 1981, was found unconscious at the Pegasus Hotel at 1045 local time.

He was taken to the emergency ward of the nearby University hospital but did not regain consciousness.

"It is very shocking news to all of the team and the team management," said Pakistan team manager Pervez Mir.

Mir revealed that Woolmer suffered from a medical condition - but said it was too early to say whether it played a part in his death.

"We saw him last night but having not seen him early today two of our officers went to his room and with the help of hotel staff entered. He was found unconscious there.

"It is too early to say whether he has suffered a heart attack. We are awaiting medical reports."

Woolmer's South-Africa based wife has been notified. He also leaves two children.

Pakistan were eliminated from the World Cup on Saturday after losing by three wickets to minnows Ireland.

Their preparations for the tournament had been far from ideal.

Following the infamous forfeited Test against England at The Oval last summer, two of their leading fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif, were suspended after failing doping tests.

The pair later saw those bans rescinded but missed the World Cup because of injury, something Woolmer admitted had hindered the team.

"There are a number of extenuating circumstances in the last six months that have made coaching Pakistan slightly different to normal sides," he said after the defeat by Ireland.

The Pakistan team are scheduled to play their third match of the World Cup against Zimbabwe on Wednesday in Jamaica.

Woolmer took charge of Pakistan for 10 Test series, four of which were won, with three lost and three drawn.

His overall Test record in 28 matches as Pakistan coach was 10 wins, 11 defeats and seven draws.

In the one-day game, he took charge of 69 Pakistan internationals, winning 37, and losing 29, with three non-results.

Previously he coached South Africa between 1994 and 1999, guiding them to the World Cup semi-finals.

This is absolutely gut wrenching news. I am feeling awful, absolutley awful. I didnt cry yesterday. I tried to but I couldnt but as soon as I heard this news I couldnt help my tears. Absolutely shocking news!!

My heart goes out to his wife and family. I had the pleasure of talkign to him once from gs platform and he was a thourough gentleman.

I agree with you

very very sad

Re: Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer dies

I don't follow too much cricket but from what I understand Pakistan recently lost a game to Ireland which kicks them out of the Cricket World Cup right? And the shock was 2 much for the coach to take?
he died? thats incredibly sad !

Re: Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer dies

This is so sad! The entire team let their coach down and should be arrested!

True.
Instead of people blaming his death on shocking defeat or other stuff I think it’s better to realize that his time had come. Simple as that.

it is really sad...i have not heard hamid mir saying such stupid stuff on GEO but if hamid has said such stuff then it is really disappointing.......what a depressing weekend.....our team must be feeling really low too....

Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer dies

Pakistan coach BobWoolmer died in hospital on Sunday after being found unconsciousin his hotel room, the team's management told Geo News .

Earleir, the deceased was rushed to hospital in the emergency ward when he found unconscious in his hotel room.

"Bob Woolmer died in hospital," a team spokesman told reporters.

Bob's family and wife were informed by the team management about Bob's condition when he was brought to hospital, the spokesman said.

It was earlier reported that Woolmer was found at 1545 GMT on the floor of his hotel room unconscious and with signs of vomiting.

An ambulance took him to the Kingston University Hospital.

Woolmer, who took charge of the Pakistan team in 2004, was seen late on Saturday night, but officials raised the alarm after not seeing him early on Sunday.

When they went to his hotel room, they saw he was unconscious.

Pakistan team manager Talat Ali, their South African based trainer Murray Stevenson and assistant manager Asad Mustafa went with Woolmer to the hospital where he was given medical attention.

Woolmer was last seen in public when he addressed the post-match media conference after his team's defeat to Ireland at Sabina Park.

He talked of the stresses of the coaching job.

"Doing it internationally, it takes a toll on you - the endless travelling and the non-stop living out of hotels."

His contract with the Pakistan Cricket Board was due toexpire on June 30 but it was widely expected he would part company with them after the World Cup which is scheduled to finish on April 28.

"I would like to sleep on my future as a coach," Woolmer said in Saturday's post-match news conference.

In his playing career, Woolmer appeared for Kent in the English county championship and played 19 Tests for England.

He has also coached the South African national team.

It should be noted that Pakistan was knocked out of the World Cup on Sunday after a shock three-wicket defeat to Ireland.

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/images/bullet.jpg

Bob Woolmer’s factfile Updated at 2355 PST KINGSTON, Jamaica: Factfile on Bob Woolmer who died here on Sunday after being found unconscious on the floor of his hotel room at the World Cup:

Full Name: Robert Andrew Woolmer

Date of birth: 14 May 1948

Place of birth: Kanpur, India

Batting Style: Right-hand bat

Bowling Style: Right-arm medium

Teams: England, Kent, Natal, Western Province

Test Debut: Against Australia at Lord’s on 31-07-1975

ODI Debut: Against Australia at Old Trafford on 24-08-1972

International career details: Tests: 19 Runs: 1,059 Highest score: 149 Average: 33.09 100s: 3 Wickets: 4 ODIs: 6 Runs: 21 Highest score: 9Average: 5.25 100s: 0 Wickets: 9

Coaching career:

1991: Appointed Director of Coaching at Warwickshire CCC.
1993: Warwickshire wins the NatWest Trophy.
1994: Warwickshire win 3 out of 4 trophies and are runners up in the NatWest series. Appointed coach of South Africa.
1999: Leaves South Africa job after team fails to make World Cup final
2001: Joins ICC as High Performance Manager.
2004: Appointed coach of Pakistan.