Blood donation

I was discussing it with my elder brother who is a doctor. He was telling me that after 3 months our body produces new blood cells and the older ones are removed, so it is good for health if we donate blood after 3 months or so. Besides there are a number of other benefits of blood donation for the person who donates blood. (He didn’t explain it to me in detail as I might not understand the medicine related terms)

It would not only be good for us but also for those who are in severe need of blood in the hospitals.

Who knows, if today we donate blood to the needy people, tomarrow when we might need blood, Allah might send someone to give blood to us.

May Allah bless us all with the strength and wisdom to help the needy people in effective ways.

Re: Blood donation

hahahaha MashAllah, I really enjoy your posts :hehe:
Always looking at the bright side of life :smiley:
Anyhow, there is this organ and tissue donation initiave here in Holland. I think everybody should sign up but alot of people have religious or other reasons to refuse.
but I totally agree with you :biggthumb

JazakAllah khair brother for the kind words of encouragement. I am not sure of the organ and tissue donation, but I think it is only allowed if it doesnt have a bad impact on the one who is donating.

i know in canada, they have certain guidelines under which u can donate blood. like you can't be less than 100 pounds (something like that), you have to have breakfast in the morning, can't have low red blood cell count stuff like that.

but yeah, we should donate blood. you never know when you or someone you know might need it :)

I really want to donate blood but i am scared to death at the time when they put the needle inside :*( -

Thres no one more scared of needles than me...I went without pain-killers or epidural for all 3 births just to avoid the dam needles lol. But I DID get myself to donate blood a couple of times. It actually does have a beneficial effect on you, making your body produce new, clean blood but it also truly does save lives.

I'm SO freaked about needles that I started to faint when I was donating. It really didnt hurt but I looked at the long tube with my blood flowing into a bag and I went green and got tunnel vision. The kindly nurse just flipped a switch on the cot I was laying on, told me hang in there and turned me upside down lol! It was like "ok, grow up, dont be a baby it;ll be over in a minute so DONT PASS OUT you WUSS!!"

I got thru it without puking or fainting and was just so very proud of myself and hopeful that my blood could go to someone truly in need of it....

So go for it people!

It really does not hurt much because even i was scared of needles before but since then i think it has been 5 or 6 times now that i have donated ever since high school. It just gives you a good feeling inside knowing that you will be saving a life.

What to worry about ? I have never looked at the needle or the bag of blood while donating. Usually I just face on the other side and tell myself that an ant is biting on your arm. I think it is better psychologically to not look at the needle or the bag of blood.

Who ever looks at the needle when the nurse is about to stick it in you? I try my hardest to think about something else right when she/he gets to the poking.