Bleeding in early pregnancy

Ladies only please - I am about to discuss potentially gross-out stuff… :frowning:

It’s my first pregnancy and we’re really lucky we got pregnant in the first month of trying, alhamdolillah! I was reading the highs and lows of conceiving thread and thought it would take at least a year so I am a bit surprised it happened so quickly :slight_smile:

I’m only five weeks, but for the past WEEK I have had constant bleeding and having to change my pad every time I go to the toilet. I’m really worried. I’ve been to the GP once and seen a specialist midwife twice, and they’re saying it’s nothing too serious but I need to monitor it. This morning I had bright red blood AND a clot the size of 1cm (sorry - tmi but I am really concerned!!!)

Just wanted tassali for myself really - has anyone else had bleeding in early pregnancy? If so what kind of bleeding was it, and how long did it last for? Also what was the outcome? Does the type of bleeding you have matter? As the midwife was asking me did it look like fresh blood - and this morning it definitely did!

Re: Bleeding in early pregnancy

Not to worry you, but that kind of bleeding and clotting at 5 weeks…in my experience, it’s not a good sign…in my case, all of those symptoms you described led to miscarriage. I’m surprised your GP and/or midwife are not doing a transvaginal ultrasound.

Please contact your healthcare provider ASAP…lots of duas and hugs, inshallah it will be ok…

Your best option is go see a doctor or a midwife at this point and not rely on a forum or google.
Bleeding in early pregnancy can mean a number of things.And the color of the blood,the amount of it,the passage of any clots ,all are important factors taken into consideration as to why it is happening.
I had bleeding in the very initial weeks of my pregnancy.It was brownish (that is was not fresh blood) and lasted 2-3 days.Scans showed it to be coming from a small subchorionic hemorrhage.It resolved on its own in a few days/weeks.

Consult your health care provider ASAP and dont wait it out at home .They are the best option to tell you what is happening.
In sha Allah all the best..!

I had a scan yesterday Khatti - I had one last week and a second one yesterday, and they compared both scans and said there is good growth alhamdolillah. They could see the yolk sac and said there should be a heartbeat in two weeks’ time inshAllah.

The scan however, was internal. I didn’t think twice about it at the time, but now I’m thinking that they have already poked around inside me twice - maybe this is causing the bleeding? I mentioned to the midwife whether it’s anything to do with the scan, and she said the scan only goes as far as the cervix - it doesn’t disrupt the womb. So inshAllah the womb should be okay, but it may have dislodged some blood in the cervix, causing fresh blood to come out.

I’m just confused cus I’ve been bleeding continuously for one week now, and repeatedly phoning health professionals who keep telling me it’s okay and sometimes it happens. Today the midwife told me to just rest and take things easy, so I’ve been lying in bed all day. My mum and MIL and SIL have all told me to have complete bedrest with my legs high up (I am lying with two pillows under my legs) and my head should be lower than my legs. But yesterday the GP (who, btw, happens to be Pakistani) said that even agar woh mujhe ulta latkaa dengi if I am going to miscarry, it won’t make a difference.

So I’m just bed resting at the moment. But super worried… :frowning:

That’s good that your scans have come out positive…Don’t worry, keep resting and stay off your feet as your doctor recommends. An internal ultrasound won’t do anything to harm your baby, pareshan mat ho!

Inshallah all will be well…Allah Malik hai :hugz:

I don’t have anything to add to this, but you and the baby will be in my prayers!! Get lots of rest and good luck :slight_smile:

Thank you so much Royal Gala!

It’s day 12 and I am still bleeding :frowning: spoke to a Doctor today who said sometimes it happens and I just need to relax and destress myself. Not possible if I’m 5 weeks and bleeding… but I will try :frowning:

Maybe check with a different doctor. However, she is right about relaxing and resting.

if the ultrasounds show a normal fetus and you’re not in pain inshallah everything should be fine . I had massive bleeding in my tenth week and constant bleeding up until my 16th week? it was s subchroniac hematoma. it was scary but everything was fine in the end.
for your own tasali though perhaps you should see another doctor and have repeated scans?
resting is a good idea though. less movements usually means less bleeding.

hang in there! <3

How are you going with your pregnancy? . Has your bleeding stopped?. I was also bleeding during my 2nd pregnancy abd and I had to have anti d injections as bleeding was due to my blood group ans hubbys blood group.

My bleeding stopped alhamdolillahhhhhhhhhh after about hmmm… let me check my calendar… 13 days! It was 13 very stressful days I have to say. I was pretty much on the bed the entire time not doing anything because I was so worried… but every medical professional I spoke to said the same thing: if you’re going to bleed, you’re going to bleed; if you’re going to miscarry, you’re going to miscarry - there’s nothing you can do about either of these things. Still I chose to take it easy because I didn’t want any regrets.

MashAllah 10 weeks now alhamdolillah, bleeding’s stopped and I still have all the awful pregnancy symptoms (nausea, weakness, sudden hunger etc) I am grateful to Allah every time I feel like that cus I know it’s going the way it’s supposed to be :slight_smile:

^ wonderful news!!! Shukar Alhamdullilah! :hugz:

InshAllah everything will go fine. May Allah bless you. Ameen.

i know i am laattte but i had bleeding at exactly 5 weeks too with Zaki and almost a 3.4 cm clot came out.. I was told by both doctors I had seen that I may have miscarried but we carried out the tests.. and my HCG levels were still doubling.. going nuts actually.. so was all good.

I know how horrendous and stressful the feeling is.. I was crying and was all sorts.. but Alhamdulillah, my bubba is 16 months now Mashallah :smiley: