BlackBerry Services Might be Banned in UAE

This is the fourth country threatening RIM

Bad news for Blackberry fans living in the Emirates. According to a recent UAE (United Arab Emirates) government statement, Blackberry’s mobile email and messaging service is operating beyond the country’s law. While no direct actions have been taking to ban the Canadian company’s services in the Emirates yet, this is the fourth country that issues a negative statement regarding the use of Blackberry technology.

“BlackBerry operates beyond the jurisdiction of national legislation, since it is the only device operating in the UAE that immediately exports its data offshore and is managed by a foreign, commercial organization,” the Government said in a statement on the official news service, WAM.

RIM’s email and messaging service has more than 500,000 subscribers in the Emirates, who, according to a recent survey commissioned by WAM, expressed their concerns regarding the safety of their data. Precisely 58% of the respondents said they would be worried if their e-mails were being stored by an independent organization outside the UAE.

UAE’s government also said that “we have been working for a long time to resolve these critical issues, with the objective of finding a solution that safeguards our consumers and operates within the boundaries of UAE law”.

All four countries hostile to RIM, India, Kuwait, UAE and Saudi Arabia, have justified their requests for access to BBM network for national security reasons. It’s a fact that the Indian authorities complained that they are unable to decipher encrypted data sent on BlackBerry handsets, which were used during the 2008 terrorist attacks in Mumbai. Neither of the countries banned Blackberry’s services yet, but threats have been made, the Indian telecommunications ministry also giving RIM’s a deadline to provide access to its network.

For the moment RIM declined any comment, but an official statement might be issued soon, as more countries are requesting access to the company’s call, email and other data services.

Source:
http://news.softpedia.com/news/BlackBerry-Services-Might-be-Banned-in-UAE-149157.shtml

Re: BlackBerry Services Might be Banned in UAE

shuker I dont hv BB :@:

and you are not in UAE :snooty:

I hope they ban it in KSa too..students annoy me with it :bummer:

yeh uae wale aur kya kya ban karenge? jab cheez hi ban karni hoti hai they why these ppl let these things supply in their country?

^^ because they changed their data plan and their data services recently and after moving to OS 5.0 and up you have to get the data plans that they offer or the companies who have affiliated with them.

What about iKhoon and co?

complicated… ppl

Suchen Sie im Internet zu erleichtern Ihre Komplikationen:D

Search the web to ease your complications :smiley:

^^ no thnx my life is already comlicated i dont want 2 make more complicated with these lil things

^^ LOL I can see that from your “mood” :smiley:

^^ fine

afterall my father passed away! so..

Ina lilah wa ina eilhe rajioon.

Sorry I didnt know that.

Iphone’s security is blah compared to blackberry, i remember reading an article where a guy was easily able to hack into an iphone within 15 minutes so definitely nowhere near blackberry’s security

i never knew that blackberrys were used during the mumbai attacks :frowning:

^^ Blackberrys are also used to send instructions to Baluchistan from india. =] enough or need more to say?

:smack: ^^^^it says blackberry handsets were used during the mumbai attacks in the article that YOU posted sirji, it’s not something i’m saying or dreaming up, have no clue about india to balochistan since that’s not mentioned in the article :stuck_out_tongue:

^^ well if you need article regarding that I can cook it too :stuck_out_tongue: I posted it mainly regarding the technology factor and not the political factor and thats why I didnt posted it in All views or else but in Technology section.

^well i did talk about the technology side of it in terms of blackberry’s security being unbeatable even by iphone :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue: i think that’s why those psychos using the blackberrys couldn’t be tracked down by intelligence officials, that incredible security has it’s major negatives if they are used by the wrong people

^^ well I think you are not a layman that you can understand that the data is being stored by BB if it can be decrypted by others. So it means that BB can offer the data if asked. Do you think people on GS are fools? :b

:konfused: where did i say that people on GS are fools :bummer: man you should be a politician, i don’t know how you just twisted my words into all that… :frowning: officials aren’t able to decrypt the data that’s why i was saying that i understand why some countries are thinking of or are banning it’s services