where does it stem from, if people are bitter towards you how do you deal with it and if you feel bitterness towards someone else how should you try and control it and rid yourself of it?
Re: bitterness
*i didnt get your question.. hahahaha
Bitterness stems from jealousy, which is natural but some people take it too far.
okay here's a recent, very fresh incident. I double parked my car and my mom went in the shop to get some stuff. Yes double parking is wrong i know but hear the rest. There were many double parkings around me, their always are cz it's a crowded place. I was sitting in the car, the moment the owner of the next car came back, I started to move. Now the woman started shouting at me... 'yeh kya tareeka hay blah blah' and I thought (the time she had taken to sit in her car, I would've backed out). I stopped since i was really taken aback, and a little shocked. I actually really lost my nerves at that point since nothing like that had ever happened to me. She kept going on, then she said, 'jaahil! chalees lakh ke gari rakhi hay aur ye b nain pata.... mumble mumble' And yes I was listening to all this w/t saying a single word... my mom came out and gave her a nice scolding in that woman's own language and asked me not to move the car. Now the woman just went and sat in her car. I was too terrified to drive so I switched to the passenger's seat and until the people around didn't interfere my mom did not move the car. But I realized it wasn't even such a big deal and if I would've been alone I wouldn't hv been able to cope with these kind of people...
^ and what about the source and coping of bitterness??
okay here's a recent, very fresh incident. I double parked my car and my mom went in the shop to get some stuff. Yes double parking is wrong i know but hear the rest. There were many double parkings around me, their always are cz it's a crowded place. I was sitting in the car, the moment the owner of the next car came back, I started to move. Now the woman started shouting at me... 'yeh kya tareeka hay blah blah' and I thought (the time she had taken to sit in her car, I would've backed out). I stopped since i was really taken aback, and a little shocked. I actually really lost my nerves at that point since nothing like that had ever happened to me. She kept going on, then she said, 'jaahil! chalees lakh ke gari rakhi hay aur ye b nain pata.... mumble mumble' And yes I was listening to all this w/t saying a single word... my mom came out and gave her a nice scolding in that woman's own language and asked me not to move the car. Now the woman just went and sat in her car. I was too terrified to drive so I switched to the passenger's seat and until the people around didn't interfere my mom did not move the car. But I realized it wasn't even such a big deal and if I would've been alone I wouldn't hv been able to cope with these kind of people...
You should've just shown her the middle finger and driven off. Some people get pissed off too easily.
This has made me very very bitter… some people just don’t deserve niceness. Next time i’ll definitely be doing what rizla advised. Take it all out right there and then - rather than keeping it inside you and ending up losing your mind.
PS: sometimes you just have to be bitter
Bitterness can stem from jealousy/insecurity. You might be jealous of someone and vice versa. Feelings of bitterness can also result if someone has hurt you....their negative actions....can lead to a grudge/resentment....which I think is aggravated further if the offender doesn't apologize or acknowledge their mistakes....hence there is lack of closure from their end...meaning you have provide yourself with some closure by moving on with your life.
If people are bitter toward you because you did something to hurt them....then make amends. If they are bitter due to jealousy....you can't really control that...unless you're guilty of deliberately bragging around them (which needs to be checked).....either avoid the people completely (if you can).....and if you can't avoid them....then be polite and maintain a distance. Maybe encourage/compliment the person if they're feeling insecure about themselves. Sometimes positive behavior can calm people down.
If you feel bitterness toward someone.....that's a tough one. If it's due to jealousy....then reflect over the blessings that you have and see what you need to do to reach your goals. I've heard that making good dua for the person you're jealous of can help get rid of the negative feeling. If you're bitter because someone has hurt you.......the extent of that bitterness can depend upon the frequency and even gravity of the offense. You can try talking to the offender to get some closure....but that's not always possible. I think that time decreases the intensity of the bitterness. Take it as a learning experience....be more careful around the person.....and concentrate on living your life. Life is short to begin with and we make it shorter by dwelling on the actions of people that we can't change...and who may no even give a damn. You can choose to let them have that power over you.....or you can choose to keep let the negative events shape you for the better and move forward. You have more control over yourself, your frame of mind, and your actions....more than you do over someone else.