Biryani

so who makes their own masala for biryani??? and if so how???

i use the shaan biryani masalas :bummer: but they taste really good…

Re: Biryani

I do…
and my hubby says that he prefers mine over shaan masala :blush:

i make my own....most of the times...
and sometimes i use the shaan one too....

sameeee
and the shaan ones turns out good

sadaf & chips plz post your recipes..

yea…i’ve heard couple others who make their own, i want to give it a try also…just don’t know where to start :bummer:

so share ladies :hug:

I do.. but it is a khandaani secret recipe and Ammi made me take an oath not to tell anyone about it before she’d told me the recipe :barbie:

^ Bata de yar bhai nain hai plz?:)

i think using the Shaan masala is much easier :bummer: and guarantees a delicious outcome, even though it can be stereotype sometimes…but yes, i always add some GHARELOO masalas in the shaan masala so it comes out a tad bit different than others’ biryani :smiley: ..so it’s okay, i guess..but i would like to have some recipes if somebody wants to share :k:

We use our own masala, but sometimes add a little bit of the shaan biriyani masala to it.

What I do, I dunno exact measurements, just eyeball it according to howmuch chicken you are using:
1 medium chicken, cleaned/cut up
1 onion sliced
1 large tomato diced
2 teaspoons garlic crushed
1/2 onion sliced...place seperately for later.
1/4 cup yogurt
1/2 cup coconut milk
desi masalas (coriander powder, haldi, zeera, red mirchi powder, salt, pepper, ginger powder)
1/4th cup anardana seed or about 1/2 cup of dried plums (soak plums in warm water for like an hour to soften)
1/4 cup chopped fresh coriander, and a little bit chopped mint if you like
2 1/2 cups white rice

Basically take onion and fry in oil until medium brown. Add garlic and fry until slightly brown and quickly add the tomato. (typical desi masala really).
Cook until tender and add spices to taste...salt, pepper, zeera, coriander seed powder(1 large tablespoon ful), 1/2 spoon haldi, lal mirchi to taste. You can add like 1/2 teasppon garam masala if you like it. Also add whole black pepper and a few pieces of 'loang'...not sure what its called in english. Its like a black pepper seed with horns. Add the anardana seed/aloo bukhara with seeds. Anyways saute and then add chicken to the mixture. Cook chicken until tender and no longer smells...boonafy it. Towards the end as chicken is almost cooked add yogurt, and continue to cook/boon the chicken. Once done add about 1/4 cup chopped fresh greenleaf coriander and we also like to add chopped mint leaves.

Boil the white rice just so they are partially cooked. In a frying pan take the 1/2 cup onions and fry until dark brown and drain and set aside.
Now in the pan place a layer of white rice....chicken masala...fried onions...and drizzle with the coconut milk. Repeat the layers and top with white rice, drizzle with more coconut milk and end with a top layer of fried onions.

Bake in oven for about 45 minutes covered like you do for your biriyani. Sorry I just realized i gave too much information.

Oh one thing that i do, which comes out good is...on the top layer of white rice...i sprnkle tandoori masala in patches.....put pinches of it all over...once cooked, mix it up..it'll give some color but also flavoring as well :)

NaheeN hooN :snooty:

Hey Afro Sheen thnks for the recipe i thhink ill try this!!!!in ramdhan inshallah what would we do without u huh!

I have the masala recipe written somewhere i cant find it now. Everytime i try to eyeball it, i always end up putting too much of one thing or the other :bummer:

Sadaf and others, please share the measurements of the garam masala and all if you can.

I make very hi delicious Biriyani.:yummy:

afro-sheen thanks for sharing, will try it soon :smiley:

ira do try to find it and i agree i always have to ask ammi how much to put in :bummer:

omg share :hoonh:

AQ bhai kanjoos makhi choos mat bano :smilestar:

i am not sure about the masala measurements…
But if I am using 2 cups of chawal. I use half or more chicken small cut…
for masala, brown 2 onions, add chicken and bhoono

then add 2 tbsp garlic
2 tbsp ginger,
5 tomoatoes
salt
red chillie 1 tsp
corriender powder 1.5 tbsp
haldi 1/2 tsp
zeera powder 1/2 tsp
cover and let it cook when the gravy starts to thicken and the chicken is cooked take the lid off and bhoono till the oil seperates..

Boil the chawal in 5-6 cups of water with sabat garam masala like kaali mirch, cloves, moti ilaichi and cinnamon stick
drain and layer the chawal in degchi put the masala in second layer, then layer with chawal again… at the end top with a lot of green dhaniya and podina and hari mirch.. and sprinkle 1 tsp garam masala… cover and put on dum..

I know I am not making much sense :smiley:
but more or less this is the way I make it.

And AQ is not kanjoos, he doesnt know how to make biryani islieye recipe bata nahin raha :mocking:

I make it differently

After frying onions, I add sabut zeera and wait till it gives off aroma.

Then add khara masala, long, ilaichi, daarcheeni, kaali mirch

Stir for a bit, add lehsan and stir till you can smell that wonderful smell

To that add chicken and adrak and Green masala (which is a mixutre of dhania, hari mirch and podeena all grinded into a paste)

After stirring that for a bit, add ground zeera

Stir Stir

in the end add namak, mirch and haldi

Add tomato paste and let it all cook.

Boil rice

While its boiling dice some tomatoes and cut dhania and hari mirch

Layer it on top of the chicken masala then add chawal to it and put it on dam

:rolleyes: maiN phir bhee naheeN bataaouN gaa :snooty:

aik dafaa maiN naY chachi kaY saamnaY ghalati saY Haleem pakaanaY kee aik secret baat keh dee thee MoharramoN maiN (cuz I used to help ammi whole night to cook it, so I know:barbie: )… mujhaY jo bhugatnaa paRaa thaa naa, woh maiN hee jaantaa hooN :naraz:

MujhaY tau Yakhni pulaao kaY bhee important important secrets maaloom haiN, laikin bataaouN gaa naheeN :bb:

Khani hai tu bolo.:smooth: