Biharis(Stranded Pakistanis)Protest again on 23rd March

Re: Biharis(Stranded Pakistanis)Protest again on 23rd March

I'm sure most would stay there once Bangladesh accepts them as Bangladeshis.

They are clinging to the lost hope that Pakistan will someday accept them and I think that is wrong the way Pakistan government is keeping their hopes.

I could understand their situation when they don't get either a "yes" or a "no" from the Pakistan government for them to settle in pakistan.

I meant contributed to the growing Pakistani population.

Haris zuberi
Actually I watched a documentary made on these stranded pakistanis.The young generation those who are born in these camps think that their elders have not done the right thing by not becoming bengalis.The older generation is mainly with pakistan and want repatriation.I think their future is in bangaladesh and thats what the younger lot thinks

Soomro
Saeen sindhis have sacrificed alot i agree.Sindh is the most tolerant forces and karachi the most tolerant city.But the nationalist forces of sindh killed muhajirs.Sindhis blame MQM for terrorism in Sindh.so one accuses the other for disturbing law and order.But In interior sindh you will find muhajirs and sindhis living peacefully.Same goes for punjabis in sindh as well.The arian community is living in sindh for the past 150 years they did contribute alot for sindh.The muhajir sindhi clash was mainly in big cities like karachi and hyderabad.

Yes Sindhis sort of allowed muhaajirs into Sind since Karachi is port city and there was no land beyond karachi.
Muhajirs then gave much more to the country than any one would expect from these majority poor people with no big land or lots to own.

Besides I need to be educated how there was a big or direct clash with Sindhis and so called conspiracy against sindhis by alleged alliance with Punjaabis?

Have we forgotton PPI against APMSO/MQM tragedies where innocent people died for silly and immature emotion of hatered?

This great heavenly man was tired of picking up dead bodies in karachi in these riots.

Well.. the gr8 Altaf has a different opinion.. he calls partition a blunder:

http://www.pakp.com/2004/11/altaf-hussein-calls-partition-blunder.html

Aint that simple… what abt. ppl? what about new equations in Pakistani politics? I am sure with so many years of hardship and neglect in Bangladesh, they would certainly go for Pakistan but mohajirs’ situation means they just are opting for lesser evil- not a great choice.

Its not about what Mr. Altaf hussain thinks of partition… its about Biharis in this thread which unfirtunately has derailed a few times but got back on track.

there is nothing in earlier posts about hidustan division so stay within the topic or open another thread.

Just to clarify; I personally think nothing about Mr. Altaf hussain or his statement.

Its a disgrunted voice based on his personal judgement and logic or should we we call it thinking aloud…!

Good post. :k:

Have we forgotton PPI against APMSO/MQM tragedies where innocent people died for silly and immature emotion of hatered?

^ Now where is the "sindhi" in PPI? :-|

Read post #80. I hope you understand how important it is for mouhajirs to "grow a brain" and don't be part of anti-sindh agendas as they have been before due to their own selfish reasons.

I sincerely hope so for the future of sindh!

^ yeah but in order to do so, u gotta stop praying for pakistans destruction u anti-pakistani bigot!

This thread has turned into a comedy!

^ abey muft ki entertainment enjoy kar raha hai LI, zara pokat se das ka note laga aur soomro ko dey, he needs it!

[FONT=&quot]

Mohajirs unfortunately are lumped together in a stereotypical fashion in this thread.

I think it is totally unfair to do so. There is plenty of blame to go around for the sad ethnic divide in Sindh. Mohajirs tend to stereotype Sindhis being lazy, while Sindhis blame Mohajirs for all their ills.

Q.1 How come "Mohajirs" ended up in Karachi.
Well there were two big waves of "Mohajirs" or refugees in early part of Pakistani history. The first wave was mainly from East Punjab with a sprinkling of Dehliites. Even among those few "Urdu Speeking" Mohajirs, mostly belonged to upper class feudals (like Liaqat Ali Khan), and upper class industrials mainly from Calcutta and Bombay (mostly memons, parsis, and some Urdu Speaking).
The first wave of Mohajirs** settled mainly in Punjab. Even Urdu Speaking Mohajir got allotments in Khaniwal, Multan, and Lahore. These allotments were mainly "Ice-factories" (Burf-Khanas), Cinema halls, and sundry industrial properties. Some of the Mohajir landlords got farmland allotments mainly in Southern Punjab and Sindh (particularly Hyderabad).

How come these lands got alloted and why in Southern Punjab and Sindh? Well most of these lands were owned by Punjab and Sindh governments. So it was easy to allot parcels of such land areas.

The second wave of Mohajirs was entirely different phenomenon. While the first wave consisted of refugees, the second wave was mostly "economic migrants".

The first wave of Mohajirs was forced out of their homes, while the second wave opted to leave their homes for better opportunities in Pakistan.

It is funny that the second wave was triggered due to more of Pakistani plans of "importing" Mohajirs mainly from Urdu Speaking areas such as Bihar and UP.

Liaqat Ali Khan in his infinite wisdom, made some huge blunders that we all are paying the prices until this day.

LAK was hamstrung politically by the fact that his voter base was left back home in Karnal. He knew that the very first election in Pakistan will pound the final nail in his politicla coffin.

Political piranhas filled with Punjabi chauvinism were nibbling at his political body. So he started the process of cleansing Punjabis and Sindhis from the power structures of Karachi.

CID (like USA’ FBI) top brass was cleansed of Punjabis, police posts in Karachi were forcibly vacated and then the "importees" were brought via Khokhrapar. The famous Reza brothers (Hashim Reza and Kazim Reza) were some of those fresh Urdu Speaking importees that got the top jobs in Police and Federal ministries.

While Punjabis were being kicked out from police and other ministries, Sindhis stood no chance against the Urdu Speaking onslaught. They were denied housing in Karachi, and access to education in the colleges.

Karachi became the only "special area" where you had to have a "city domicile" in order to get into some of the top schools. This practice forced Sindhis out of every possible sphere of development.

Punjabis meanwhile ignored the plight of Sindhis and concentrated all their efforts to protect only their own interests. Nawa-e-Waqt newspaper is on record threatening Liaqat Ali Khan with "Army action" if he didn't quit his anti-Punjabi policies.

The tussle between chauvinists from Punjab and charlatans of Karachi took the worst turn when Liaqat Ali Khan was murdered in cold blood by military and Police alliance mainly of Punjab and Pushtoon origin.

Murder of Liaqat Ali Khan stopped further imports from Bharat, but the Federal ministries were now in the firm hands of pro-Urdu Speaking group.

Punjab and Pushtoon group struck yet again and moved the capital from "Bhayya city" towards more "pristine" border land nicely situated almost halfway between Lahore and Peshawar.

This move ended up depriving the Urdu Speaking group from direct access to Feds and few decades later reduced their strength to a much smaller number.

Bhutto being a Sindhi was the first Pakistani leader who carved out a support base in Punjab and Frontier. He used his newfound power to the worst possible way. He forced Urdu Speaking gentry back to Karachi, brought back 2% quota long championed by Liaqat Ali Khan. Then by using the weapon of nationalization, he destroyed the very economy of Pakistan.

That was the start of pro-Urdu Speaking movement in Urban Sindh and finally resulted in the formation and popularity of MQM.

Bottom line is that today's Mohajirs are the decedents of Urdu Speaking importees and their hands are no cleaner than those of Punjabi or Pushtoon chuvinists. The losers in this game have been the two smallest groups aka Sindhi and Balochis.

Today's landscape is dominated by the industrialists and businessmen from Punjab and Urdu Speaking communities. They are the ones who are keeping these communities pushing forward.

Unfortunately Sindhis and Balochi intellectuals (similar to their Punjabi and Urdu counterparts) are rabid lefties. While there is no large group of Sindhi or Balochi businessmen and industrialists who can counter the venom spread by the lefties.

All these kommie lefties have hurt Pakistan and kept it from progressing.

p.s. in the essence of time and for the sake of brevity, I have omitted a lot of detail and exact quotations. If anyone is interested please PM me.

mr. Soomro your posts have no consistency and they reflect no intelligence on your part my dear.

You are the one who said muhajirs conspires against Sindhis joining punjaabis and not when i asked you why you thought so giving the example of PPI versus MQM you are asking ME where is sindhis in PPI and muhajirs must think of Sindh future as if they never did including the future of all Pakistan!

All I said that you were dead wrong when you suggested above that muhaajirs conspired against Sindhis or Sindh.

Soomro miaN,

your ad hominem reference to mohajir patriotism are getting stale now and make you look like an idiot.

It's funny how you and mulz (under different circumstances would tear each other apart -- trust me I know :D ) keep returning the thread to mohajirs, their political interests etc. And, time and time again, the thread has been brought back to the essential matter of human dignity and respect. No matter how hard you and mulz try, and feel free to continue this farce if you like, nobody is buying. I suggest you two start looking beyond your navels and grow up a bit before returning to this thread.

Ok?

It is you who is having a comprehension problem here. Is it sindhis / balochis or any other's fault that mouhajir alliance of interest with punjabi chauvunists back before the eighties backfired on mouhajirs?
YOU PLAY, YOU PAY Seniora!

And obl has given you enough examples as to how mouhajirs conspired like israelis to keep karachi all for themselves right after partition.. You can't do reconciliation unless you admit to your mistakes...

LI, altaf bhai ne kitney paisey diye hain post marney key?

Thats the only sentence worth in this long post and rest is the figment of imagination by an apologist.

Hard work and intelligence when combined makes a Muhaajir.

While all other Pakistani may not agree for obvious reason, quota system was the one of the worst thing happened to Pakistan bringing non-skilled people into Govt. Machinery and sub-standard Govt. system based on 'brother-hood instead of** healthy competition**. This definitely could have led us to non-slavery status in the world much earlier.

Dividing Sind into Urban and rural areas was another mistake but political move by quota system to keep muhaajirs away from key posts.

City domicile idea is as silly as the rest of above post suggesting sindis were deliberately kept outside karachi. While everyone could get domicile of Karachi the real karachiites had to provide many papers just to show that they were in fact Pakistani.

Asking for the father or mother birth place from an 18 year old boy for NIC was in-appropriate gesture despite having the birth certificate from karachi itself.

Can anyone say why there was ONE UNIT when bengaalis were dominating by population and why now we have four provinces and one (Sind) is divided into two? I am sure the answer will bother many.

Moving capitol had the greatest of negative financial impact on Pakistan since we first time had to ask for a loan despite spending much of East Pakistani Put-Sun revenue on Islamabad which was obviously not liked by bengalis/East Pakistanis. Mujeeb was right when he said he smells put-Sun in the islamabd wind..or something like that. (Not that I care for Mujeeb)

No one stopped Sindhis from Karachi...the merit was too high for these schools for them to even consider that.
While in Karachi Urdu speaking students got less than 50% marks by urdu professors, Sindhis routinely got 80% marks in Urdu by Sindhi examiners so they could get admission into karachi Colleges.

Why blame muhaajirs if people were living under wadera shahi or choaudhry/sardar rules?
Muhaajirs had nothing of this non-sense feudal system etc. and focused on education and relied on their office skills.

In essence Pakistan could not be run without Muhaajirs and perhaps LAK knew that. he was a punjaabi muhaajir himself though.

this first or second wave of muhaajirs is another silly theory.

Funny that we have nawai Waqt quoted in this post which has credibility of being pro-punjaabi newspaper and nothing more or less about it.

Sometimes I think Muhaajirs are (and were) like the jews in US coming from germany and participated to overall US development despite not being accepted for decades.

It's true.

However, lets not divert the thread away from the issues of human dignity and respect for stranded Pakistanis and bring them back home.

Regardless, the infantile tantrums against mohjairs by the likes of mulz, soomro will never cease.