Biden for going in to secure Pakistan's nuclear weapons.................

…should anything happen to Musharraf and kambakht BB.

I don’t like the tone of some of these big-headed US senators and congressmen. They are messing too much in the affairs of our nation. they are almost dictating how and when the elections should be held and more irritatingly who they think should win it. It is none of their business. Personally I don’t want BB to win. Yes Mush is not perfect but she would undermine whatever economic stability we have achieved in the last 8 years or so. It’s nothing personal but I just don’t trust her or her party to do anything good for Pakistan. If anything I consider her a serious threat to our national security. It is almost like she is full of revenge and cannot quite forgive the army for their role in the overthrow and subsequent hanging of her father. Maybe I am exaggerating it a bit but that’s how I feel about her. ZAB was atleast talented, it’s another matter that he did crap for the country. BB is n’t quite as intelligent or capable as she would like us to believe.

Yes terrorism and extremism is an ever-present threat but it’s not like everyone in Pakistan is a fundamentalist and we don’t know how to look after our nuclear arsenal. I am more than 100% sure if there were ever a take over by religious parties (can’t see that happening at the moment though) that the COAS would not hesitate to step in.

This is what happens when you lick the soles of the feet of US leaders. You lose respect in their eyes!

I have been thinking about the sad events of 18 October and it makes me feel very angry. I can’t help blaming kambakht BB (and militants) equally for the unnecessary carnage and mayhem on that day. Since the govt. had already given her the permission to return, she could have chosen to reach Karachi during the quiet hours of the night but NO she HAD to do this show sha and dramabaazi and show everyone the strength (most of it exaggerated) of her public support and sadly it was the masses and the police who paid with their lives in the end.

Seeing the carnage she brought on her return to Pakistan, I feel safe knowing that Mush is the President. Because I know Mush (like Nawaz, I give credit where it’s due) would atleast not sell Pakistan unlike BB who seems to have no iota of sharam left in her.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/10/22/top6.htm](http://www.dawn.com/2007/10/22/top6.htm)

WASHINGTON, Oct 21: Senator Joe Biden, chairman of the US Senate Foreign Relations Committee, believes that if terrorists were to eliminate President Perez Musharraf, the United States should send troops to Pakistan to secure the country’s nuclear arsenal.

Mr Biden, who is also a Democratic presidential candidate for 2008, told ABC News on Sunday that if he were elected president he would ‘probably’ go in to secure Pakistan’s nuclear weapons.

Mr Biden, a six-time senator from Delaware, strongly backs the power-arrangement the United States brokered between President Musharraf and former prime minister Benazir Bhutto. The PPP chairperson met him during a recent trip to Washington, seeking his support for her bid to regain power.

“Here, you have a country that is on the edge, called Pakistan, with nuclear weapons and missiles to carry them that can strike the entire portion of that world, the subcontinent, all the way to the Mediterranean,” Mr Biden said.Interviewer George Stephanopoulos asked Senator Biden, “If President Musharraf or the elected leader of Pakistan were taken out, you would consider, as president, going in with the military?”

“What I would consider is uniting the world,” Mr Biden said. “It’s in everybody’s interest, not just the United States alone. The first thing I would do, I would call a meeting. I would ask for a meeting of the Security Council. I would be on the telephone with everyone from (Russian President Vladimir) Putin to the Chinese premier to our allies in Great Britain and Nato. This cannot be a US-alone operation.”

Senator Biden added that the United States was not doing enough to promote democratic institutions in Pakistan.

“There is a significant portion of the Pakistani population that is middle class and moderate,” Mr Biden said: “If you don’t have a fair electoral process allowing them to express their anger, their frustration, you force it all underground. You force it to the mosque, and the terrorists – the extreme elements of that country, which are a large percentage in relative terms – are going to take over.”

Mr Biden added, “We have a Musharraf policy. We do not have a Pakistan policy.”

The Senate Foreign Relations Committee chairman proposed a reconfiguration of US aid to Pakistan.

“We should be in there,” he said. “We should be supplying tens of millions of dollars to build new schools to compete with the madressahs. We should be in there building democratic institutions. We should be in there, and get the rest of the world in there, giving some structure to the emergence of, hopefully, the re-emergence of a democratic process. But what are we doing?”

Re: Biden for going in to secure Pakistan's nuclear weapons.................

If our so-called leaders have no self-respect and are happy about Pakistan being treated as doormat then you can't expect others to change their attitude towards Pakistan.

I still lament the fact that Benazir did not die during the assassination attempt. A sad sad situation.

[quote="GoldenAsif, post:16, topic:171688"]

..............should anything happen to Mush and kambakht BB.

I don't like the tone of some of these big-headed US senators and congressmen. They are messing too much in the affairs of our nation. they are almost dictating how and when the elections should happen and more irritatingly who should win. it is none of their business.

Asif this is becasue we have given them a reason to interfere in our affairs. BB has come back due to the aasheerbaad (blessings) of the US. Condi has been in touch with her all along and now both the characters Mush and BB who were considered arch rivals are hands in glove with each other.

BB talked about the AQ Khan issue and within a day seeing the outrage, one of her Senators sent a clarification note that her statement was misunderstood. Regardless of what's going on in the North, BB has given a nod that she will acquiesce if the US considers attacking our tribal areas.

Our policies are made in the State Dept and WB/IMF headquarters. All our ministers do is put a signature on those instruments and thats it.

Do not lament, for the scenario will not change visa vis the Pak nuclear programme. Its one of the focal points of future US politics and Pakis better get used to it.

As for the Pak nuclear programme its like the "Marasi's horse".

Once a marasi was coming from a far off pind and wished he had a horse like that of chaudhary. In the meanwhile chaudhary met the marasi on the way and chaudhary's mare had an offspring. Chaudhary ordered mirasi to carry the offspring to Pind. Mirasi thought, i wished horse to carry me but instead i got one to be carried.

Similar;y Pak built nuclear weapon to protect it but it has become a liability.

What's wrong with what he said?

If he wants the worlds help to secure Pakistan and make it more democratic then good. it will be good for economy and will get rid of terrorists, it will also bring some much needed law and order to the country.

If we put nationalism aside then in order to compete with the world we need major help, we have corrupt govt. and politicians and no such thing as rights or freedom, ones the basic structure is set then through democratic means we can Govern our own.

Yes we most certainly do not want these weapons falling into the hands of the wrong people but I would rather we did it ourselves. and I think we are quite capable of doing that. Our military is certainly more disciplined and better equipped to deal with such threats than Iraq and Afghanistan. Remember Pakistan is known for three things beginning with the letter 'c'.....Cricket, Military Coup and Corruption!

As for law and order, the situation is worse in Iraq since the Americans have gone in and we definitely don't want democratic leaders like Karzai and Maliki (Iraqi PM) who are just puppets of the US. mind you they are both 'elected'

*Its easier said than done. You make it sound so simplistic Danial. *

Yeah you're right and then we saw more drama and beghairati yesterday as BB visited Jinnah hospital with a police escort and **"jannisaran-i-benazir" *(excuse my language but WT is that?). I have to really admire the besharmi of this lady. This cult-like following is what is so annoying about her and her party.

BB should go and give that Rs 1 lac cheque to the poor mother (who lost her jawaan son) who appeared on TV the following day mourning the loss of her son. She would probably spit on BB's face. The pain in her voice as she said 'uss ko nahin aana chahiye tha, benazir ko abhi nahin aana chahiye tha' was just so heart-breaking. :(

you are missing the point here. they want mushy n BB to be in power. so with them in power how do u think the issues of corruption/freedom/rights etc will be taken care of? i don't see any solution to pakistan's problems with mushy in power and BB lurking in the background.

But we dont. So others must do it for us. We cant feed ourselves, we have to be spoon fed by foreign nations.

If we can't remove jihadi filth from our nation, that is what awaits us. Doens't matter to me if it's Mush, BB, even NS, as long as they do a good job. But we all know Mush is the only one who has some chance of success.

^ yaar the threat of extremism was always there and is still very much there but I feel that some of you just overplay the actual threat. There will always be people with extremist ideas not just among the masses but also within the establishment (govt./opposition/ISI/military etc.) and there is n't much you and I can do about it. But as long as the top brass of the military and people in positions of power within government are not corrupted by it, this dooms day scenario will never arise. It's not like the day Musharraf went, these extremists would somehow get their hands on our nuclear assets. There is a proper strong chain of command and Mush or no Mush our weapons would never fall into the wrong hands I can assure you that.

And it's not just the extremist threat, the day Benazir was seen to be getting too big for her boots and/or working against national interests I can assure you Gen. Kayani (assuming the CJ rules in favour of Mush's candidacy and Mush doffs the uniform) would have no qualms about overthrowing her and putting her in her rightful place....that's also assuming that she does go on to win the Jan. election. I hope not because that would be a complete disaster.

all the craps thats coming out of US Politician mouths these days have lot to do with 2008 presidential elections. If you notice most of them are Presidential Candidates and most of them were unable to make people take notice of them, so this is the easiest way. Its just like Jamat-e-Islami or JUI or beloved Immi bhai trashing UMREEKA before election to get popular and get votes ........ nothing serious ...really :)

expecting BB to do something good for our country is wishful I dare suggest. just knowing that Mush is at the helm of government makes me feel safe for sure. I would not have supported him otherwise (not that I hate Mush but I am against military rule in principle) but now with that corrupt and egotistical BB in the back ground, I realise that Mush is perhaps our best option presently (though I still want him to doff the uniform).

Joe Biden is a 2nd line senator fast fading toi irrelevance. Whatever he says has no impact.

Howver the points about how these guys refer to and treat pakistan like dishwipe is worth noting.

Imagine if some reporter asks mush about relations with us if bush is taken out! Mush will practically fall over himself in teaching civilized quiestioning.

"Taken out"? The flush down

Joe Biden has no support to become the President Of United States. He like Obama is playing politics. I would take it seriously if Romney, Clinton and Guiliani would say those words.

Re: Biden for going in to secure Pakistan’s nuclear weapons…

This is from Clinton;

Dawn

It is simple, since 2002 people in Pakistan and the US are trying to put together a solid plan, but US political scene is the main obstacle. the idea was also floated about letting religious groups win in a land slide and then have there every move captured and shown to the Pakistan people in a propaganda campaign, but the time line was around 10 years. That would've gotten rid of major jihadi sympathizers and would've made Pakistan a secular state like turkey. It can still be achieved and many believe it to the be the right way to go.

want to expalin the PPL IN PAK part? and whts the number of dead ppl they have put in their this so-called propaganda campaign? million? 2 million? 10 million? if its fair for them to use any means to achieve their goals then why is it wrong for others to play the same game?