Bhikari

You see them everyday everywhere. How to get rid of this social evil ? There are lots of NGO’s and charities in Pakistan. Is there any NGO or charity specialy for the purpose of enriching the lives of these people so that they become a productive member of the society. I am sure there is no dearth of work as masies , mali, chowkidar, etc in Pakistan for these people. These kind of works do not need any kind of special training or special skills ?

When someone approaches me and tells me he/she is hungry and wants money for food. I buy the food for them from the nearest restaurant instead of giving them money. If I do not have time or there is no restautant nearby I ignore their question and move on. How do you deal with bhikaries ?

Re: Bhikari

** moved from Pak affairs * *

Last time I went to Karachi, I barely saw any. Rumor was they had all hitched rides up north to take advantage of the "maal" coming in for the Earthquake victims.

Many of them are fake, actors, or part of a mafia. I don't condone any of that, so I don't give. If they were truly in that situation, I'd see them at an Edhi center or begging for work rather than petty change.

^ wow! which part of karachi was that?!?

I usually kept spare change in the car and gave it out to whoever asked... but I prefer buying random stuff off ppl rather then give 'em money in their hands... i like the thought of them earning a halal income.

But after a while u start to realise that the same beggers linger around the same areas (particularly at large intersections)... there was the same budda baaba at tariq road, the same ladies at 5 star, and the same old 50-50s (men dressed up as women) at nagun! to these i never gave coz u can see they make zilch effort to earn money otherwise

So there is no NGO or charity to take care of this issue. I am sure govt. has no time to deal with this. Government has its 'hands full' . Pun intended.

Pakistan choddo yaar, idar houston pe bhi har signal per hai