Bharati reaction to Kashmir Quake

While Bharat has tried to score brownie points talking about “helping” Pakistan, there has been poor response to help their side of Kashmir. Here is a news item from BBC.

Kashmir quake - do Indians care?

By Jill McGivering

BBC News, Delhi

Two major aid agencies in India have told the BBC they have seen a significantly smaller initial response so far from the Indian public to the recent devastating earthquake in Kashmir.

They say the public response to the quake has been much smaller than to other recent disasters such as the tsunami last year and the Gujarat earthquake in 2001.

In the aftermath of the Asian tsunami and the Gujarat earthquake, there were widespread reports in India of an outpouring of public support.

It ranged from personal donations to volunteers heading for affected areas to give practical support.

‘Indifference’

Since news broke of the Kashmir earthquake, the public response within India has been more subdued.

A spokesman for Oxfam in India, PJ Chacko, told the BBC that after the tsunami he received hundreds of phone calls offering help.

Since this earthquake, he’s only had about 10, he said. Unsolicited donations to Oxfam after the tsunami reached about a hundred thousand dollars in the first few weeks, he added.

“Assistance was pouring in like anything,” he said. “But this time, it’s not attracting that much.”

The head of the International Federation for Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies in India, Azmat Ulla, had a similar story.

“During the tsunami, I saw people coming into our headquarters handing over cheques,” he said. “But [this time] I haven’t really seen it.”

On Tuesday, a separatist leader in Srinagar, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, said he was upset by what he described as “indifference” in India to the earthquake.

Compassion fatigue

But if the public response has been muted, there may be less sinister explanations.

The scale of the disaster is clearly smaller. Fewer than two thousand have been killed in Indian-administered Kashmir. In the tsunami, many thousands from India died.

Also, much of the public’s attention has been focussed on Pakistani-administered Kashmir where casualties have been far greater.

“The level of sympathy may have suffered by comparison with the Pakistani side,” PJ Chacko says. The Pakistan embassy in Delhi has now opened a special bank account to process donations.

Some analysts also suggest there are fewer informal connections between Indian-controlled Kashmir and mainstream India.

Tourism has improved recently, since the launch of the peace process, but the region’s image has suffered because of on-going militant-related violence and security concerns.

India is one of the most disaster-prone nations in the world

Azmat Ulla, Red Cross and Red Crescent

The fact that Indian-administered Kashmir is heavy militarised - as well as the remote, inaccessible terrain - may deter people from travelling there independently, as they have to disaster-struck places in the past, such as the Gujarat earthquake in 2001.

“In Gujarat, you could take a car or jeep, load it up with relief goods and drive to it,” said Azmat Ulla. “This is a more militarised area, with more army personnel.”

There may also be an element of compassion fatigue, he added. The media has continued to focus attention on the plight of survivors of the tsunami.

‘Clear image’

India has also seen severe flooding in states like Bihar and Assam.

Not as many people were killed but an estimated 20 million affected, he said.

“India is one of the most disaster-prone nations in the world,” Azmat Ulla says.

Accurate information about affected areas has also been slower this time.

“In Kashmir, even today, it’s still not clear how many villages and people have been affected,” said Oxfam’s PJ Chacko.

“There still isn’t an overview of the destruction. So we’re not projecting a clear image to the public,” he said.

Others have suggested the fact the last two days have been public holidays in India, with many people away, may also have dampened down the public’s response.
Story from BBC NEWS:

Re: Bharati reaction to Kashmir Quake

And what are you doing antibol now !!!

In a strife torn area you will think twice about sending relief and rescue teams. Nobody wants to risk their own lives by helping people. It is a fact that the militants have no qualms about human lives and will use the situation to their advantage by kidnapping people. Just days after the attack these militants killed 2 families by slitting their throats.

And there is always the fear that the relief and the aid would fall into the wrong (separatist) hands !!!

Inspite of all this, the Indian Industry is begining to help in a big way..

Infosys one of the premier software companies in India has already shown the way by donating Rs 1 Crore.

Something idiotic thread including the news item! The disaster in Indian part of Kashmir is not so major that could attract the entire nation.

Several social organizations are already collecting funds for help relief...BBC knows a little about it.

Ps...the official relief agencies are always lazy and disturbed over such disastrous, it is Bihar, Orisa or kashmir....their response is never up to the mark.

Only in India

Man with Rash speaketh.

Thousands of people are homeless and injured, and here we have a Bharati telling us Uri has become “strife torn”. Oh Baboo, the area is simply “torn” due to quake. Kapeesh!!

Ask Bharati army to send those Kaghzi (paper made) helicopters to the “strife torn” areas instead of scoring points against Pakistan. Bunch of Bharati Punditoos running amok on the net!

Take it as a hand of friendship being extendd to Pakistan. - no hate mongering please, too many people have died on both sides.

O Baboo! Nobody is denying the hands of friendship. However I dislike Bharati efforts of scoring brownie points. The show-off and propaganda about crossing the LOC, and the sending a plane etc. is not right when thousands of Kashmiris on Bharati side are lacking food and help. Kapeesh!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RashGuy
Nobody wants to risk their own lives by helping people.

Only in India

Would you go and help people when you have the fear that mindless idiots will spray you with bullets. Just dont be blinded yourself with hate and talk.

O Baboo! Nobody is denying the hands of friendship. However I dislike Bharati efforts of scoring brownie points. The show-off and propaganda about crossing the LOC, and the sending a plane etc. is not right when thousands of Kashmiris on Bharati side are lacking food and help. Kapeesh!!

True initally there was some lethargy in providing relief efforts due to the fact that the magnitude of the disaster was not grossly underestimsated. Now the relief efforts are in full swing and the army is helping the civil administration in restoring order.

I feel sorry for Pakis' thirst.

It is actually a non-sense thread. I fully agree that Indian rescue releif work is not good. It has never been up to the mark in any accidental area.

And I can bat that Pak rescue work is equally poor.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/4341234.stm

** India unveils quake aid package.**

All families hit by last Saturday’s earthquake in Indian-administered Kashmir will be given 100,000 rupees ($2,200) to reconstruct damaged homes.

About $1,000 will be distributed immediately.

^^ Alsi, anjjan, and RG you guys may have more info than Mr. Biswas who happens to be on the scene on October 17 09:19:21 GMT.

Weep and mourn Bharatis for your poor response to the a relatively tiny impact of the earthquake. Sure Kashmir is atoot-ung (inseparable portion) of Bharat.

Just keep on scoring points against Pakistan and this will surely help the victims in Kashmir.

BBC NEWS
Villagers’ endless wait for relief

By Soutik Biswas

BBC News, Tangdar, Indian-administered Kashmir

Every morning, Abdul Gafoor buries his grief and treks three hours along a treacherous mountain path to a relief camp in Tangdar in Indian-administered Kashmir, in the hope of getting a roof for his home.

The 8 October earthquake destroyed his house and killed his three-year-old daughter, six-month-old son and 18-year-old sister.

read the rest

…Published: 2005/10/17 09:19:21 GMT

© BBC MMV

when catastrophes strike all govt and relief agencies usually get some bad press. if you interview 10 victims, 2 will blame God, 8 will blame the government. they talk out of their loss and frustration. Even US couldn't get adequate help into New Orleans ...

It is quite despicable that people start threads like this to show hatred...starting such nonsensical threads is no different from benefitting at the cost of victims in Kashmir...shame on you!

I read this article too... Indians are such a pathetic lot really

No hatred O Bharati Baboo (government minion of Bharat)!
Read Baboo! Read!

There is a BBC report as of Oct 13, used to start this thread. That report is now 4 days old. Go find a new report that counters the first one. No need to cry and moan.

OK, I agree that our rescue work is a total faliure.

Can you confirm if Pak rescue work is a total success?

Ps, I expect that he will ask me to open another thread.

Preparedness for any natural calamity is absent in India. There is only a reactive approach rather than a proactive approach.

When something goes wrong in India, these people shout from their loudspeakers. What is the govt doing in the worst affected areas. According to some of the posters here, it is only the militant organisations that is providing the relief and not the govt...

Refer AK's post !!!

pakistan ko madad ki nahi america ki beek chehiya hai na. Tum log madad ka kuch bhi nahi hajm kar saktey beek may dee hui kuch bhee dakar saktey ho.

I don’t know what your problem is but it sure looks like you have a anti-Bharat fetish. Whatever it is, it’s quite stale, boring and immature.

Put aside your hatred at least during these days of misery when people are trying to cope, even if you cannot help. It will only make a better human of you.