Bhai ki shaadi

What to wear for bhai’s shaadi? I am already married and mom wants me to wear my shaadi jora (it’s a lehnga), but it’s so friggin heavy i’m really not looking forward to that. besides, if i’m in red, i feel like i’m stealing bride’s thunder. unless she wears another color, but it’s too soon to determine all that.

any ideas? i can’t alter the outfit, but i’m up for wearing it in a different way..like maybe changing the top or dupatta…hmm..

Re: Bhai ki shaadi

You can wear it for their valima? or wear your valima jora to either the baraat or valima? I saw a pic of one girl wearing her wedding jora at her brother’s mehndi. You can wear ur mehndi jora to a mayyoun/dholki. but i’d rathe get new stuff made. :hula:

i'd buy something new, or maybe make another outfit with your shaadi/valima dupetta!

wear ur red lehnga to Mehndi, get a new one made for the Valima...cz thts ur main func,get sumthin new for it.even get a new one for the Barat bhai ki shaadi baar baar nahi aati , i mean even like Sara i'd go for new joda's ..... On Mehndi u may wear ur shaadi wala tho

Umeed toh yahi hai. :D

i guess its also depends on how old is ur wedding outfit...still in style and everything? but dont wear it at the barat, wear it at the valima. n since u said it really heavy i m guessing it would be a bit too much for he mehndi.

I think making a new top is a great idea. You can go a bit lighter on the kaam and still be able to reuse that very lovely (and I presume, very expensive) outfit.

I recently went to a wedding where the groom's two sisters and sister in law wore their wedding jora to the reception. Two of them got married 10+ years ago and just got new tops made. The other got married 3 years ago and didn't change the outfit much. They all looked great and didn't steal the spotlight from the bride one bit!

its very normal to wear a bridal jora at someone elses wedding… i dont see how anyone would have trouble differentiating between who the bride is and who u are… u wont have ure dupatta on ure head.. wear it in a diff way.. u will be up and bout meeting and greeting whilst the dulhan is sat on teh stage being all sharmeeli.. i dont see any wrong with it..

but if it is.. wear ure barat jora on the valima.. and valima jora on the barat?

i would SO try to get as much wear as possible outta my bridal outfits man.. a lot of money went into getting them made.. :snooty:

^ i like her idea. u dont have to wear ur jora to the wedding. wear i to another event. and its ur brothers wedding! dont worry about dressing to heavy, u have the right! think about it, when else are u going to be able to rock ur outfit again?

wow u all have great ideas!

my outfit is still in fashion, i just got married this past year and saw someone have something similar to it recently. it's a very classic style. i would like to get some use out of it again...so maybe changing the top would be good.

the kurti for the lehenga was fairly short, so i'd like to go with a longer one...more plain would be good, like a gold top. and the dupatta will be off my head, so that'd be a fun change too.

thanx all. know all i need is a darzeewala. how much do those folks run for in the states? bhai's shaadi will be in cali...if anyone knows anyone lemme know.

I'm glad you're warming up to the idea! Wearing it off your head will certainly make the outfit much more fun (and a lot less stuffy!)

I didn't realize you were in the states, that will be a bit more difficult. All the states-based boutiques that I know of send their orders to India/Pakistan. Perhaps you could tell us what area is local/accessible to you. Friends/family in Pakistan would be a great resource if you have the time. Another good idea would be to contact the original designer of your jora (or even the boutique you purchased it from) and have them commission a simpler version of your original top as they will be most familiar with it.

If the dupatta is heavy u can get a single colored kameez/capri/shalwar made and wear it to any event.. and u can even get kaam done on the gala, sleeves and daman!

U can also get a longer, more simpler kurta made.. and wear it with u're lehnga..

i think u should make the most out of ur wedding clothes...they must have been expensive and its not worth it if u just wear it once...id wear the barat lehnga on the mehndi and get new clothes for the wedding and walima...

but be careful..u want to look like the grooms sister but not like ur trying to compete with ur new sister in law..!!

I wore my barat lehnga on my brothers mehndi..and my walima stuff on his actual wedding..!

see i'm stuck with not having a second heavy outfit from my valima....my hubby is arab and my valima outfit was much plainer. i already wore that for eid later on this year.

i'm still not warming up to the idea of wearing my bridal jora for my bhai's mehndi. i think it's just too much. i might get something newer for that event.

making new tops are much easier in pakistan...but i'm sure i can come up with something here. i'm pretty creative. once i had an idea to make a lehenga outfit from a long prom skirt. khala took the skirt to pakistan and made a top for it :)

i'm close to chicago and have a gff there who can help me out. otherwise, i'm sure i can find something in sf area.

good luck with everything .

i would say, u wear the lehnga with a new saada dupatta... or perhaps just the dupatta with a saada suit...

you're newly married, your lengha's still in style and its your brother's wedding-- go for it!! you've got everything going for you here and you dont get very many chances to get use out of your wedding clothes
keep the duppatta off your head, and maybe tone down the makeup and accessories if you went all out on your wedding, (and change the top if you want), it should look great!