Between Adhan and Iqamah

*Between Adhan and Iqamah
*Anas (RA) narrated that Allah’s Messenger (SAW) said: ‘A supplication made between the Adhan and Iqama is not rejected.’
[Ahmad, abu Dawud #521, at-Tirmidhi #212, Sahih al-Jami #3408, an-Nasai and Ibn Hibban graded it sahih (sound)]

how do you interpret this, is dua certainly heard at this time? or certainly granted?

Re: Between Adhan and Iqamah

I would say 'heard' ..

rejection and selection is based on many factors, including the nature of dua. I cant pray for someone's death and expect the dua to be granted, can I?

But if we say heard then all duas are definitely heard. But if the dua is legit ie: for healing for jaw will it be granted . I guess my question is why is this time period specified as being of special value?

I'm just confused about this as it seems to me an opportunity but also may hold the same value as any other time of dua.

What does Iqmah mean? blush

jamaa'at jab shuru hoti hai to usko iqaamah kahte haiN.

Junaid Jamshed said that I always say "Labaik Allahuma Labaik...." during this time and every year Allah (swt) includes me in the list of Hajis approved by Allah (swt).

Maulana Tariq Jamil has been consistently performing hajj officially every year since 1988. I wonder if he also recites this dua during this time.

This is the time for Qabooliyat just like after every farz namaz, after ishraq, during tahajjud, the dua of a restless person, the dua of parents for their child, the dua accompanied by tears of sincerity, the dua at the time of Iftaar, the dua of a traveler, the dua during the pause in Jummah khutbah,...etc.

Allah (swt) knows best.

qabhooliyat meaning undoubtedly granted?? the loss we have in America is we don't have the privelege of listening to adhan!

Buy Azaan clock...

^ I don't know if that holds the same meaning as a live call for prayers. God forgive me if I am wrong but sometimes I think those clocks serve as a alarm clock reminder. and what would that mean for the iqamah we don't usually pray in jamaat unless we are in a gathering or at the musjid?

I’m not sure better to ask scholar. I think that supplication is:

'‘Allahumma Rabba hadhihi-d-da’ watit-tammati was-salatil qa’imati, ati Muhammadan al-wasilata wal-fadilata, wab’ athhu maqaman mahmudan-il-ladhi wa’ adtahu".
**(O Allah! Lord of this perfect call (of not ascribing partners to You) and of the regular prayer which is going to be established! Kindly give Muhammad the right of intercession and superiority and send him (on the Day of Judgment) to the best and the highest place in Paradise which You promised him)’, then intercession for me will be permitted for him on the Day of Resurrection"). **

The hadith No. 588 of Sahih Bukhari is narrated by Jabir bin Abdullah from Prophet Muhammad :saw2: where He :saw2: said whoever after listening to the adhan says the above.

So only this hadith pertains to what is accepted in between adhan and iqamah or any dua can be made like for example during a wedding this past weekend I made a dua after maghrib adhan whilst sitting at my table and after just reciting a very quick dua which did not have the same content as the Hadith referred above iqamah was heard on the speakers as prayer was being held outside . I guess what I am trying to say will this dua fall under not rejected provided that it was a good dua.

The above hadith doesn't say that will be accepted in between adhan and iqamah. The hadith indicate what we can read after adhan and before iqamat. I think there is no harm whether we read any dua or not. Acceptance of any dua depends on Allah.

belief is main thing while performing any good deed, so only one word of Quran is enough, just need to believe on it, and have strong with it,, MashAllah..

Peace whitelight,

Dua's supplication can be made at anytime and its acceptance is depend on Allah SWT whether HE accept it, or keep it in acceptance list or reject it. We can make supplications at different time on different occasion like Dua at the last third of the night, late at night, an hour on friday, while drinking zamzam water, while prostrating, when walking up at night, at the end of the obligator salah, the night of qadr (Decree)
during the rain, The one who is suffering injustice and opression, on the day of Arafat and Dua during the month of Ramadan. There are many many more hadiths about when we can make supplications and its acceptance is only on Allah SWT as above members also explained in theirs comments.

^ This is why all of this is confusing? I've been researching this topic quiet a lot everybody has different opinions. I wish Islam had a unity in terms choice of reliable scholars that didn't have different opinions.

This is not about different opinions. I think this is about 'given us choices to select time' when we can ask dua's otherwise I think it will become mandatory one specific time. I don't see any confusion in it.

sigh! All I know is that I am confused!! :( I hate being confused.