Best Photographs Competition

Wowwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeee… really stunning pics…

…

~* I am always in trouble, but it’s so much fun. *~

I bet u a 101 GT is the moooosssst honest girl on this board. Atleast she had the courage to post her pic.. and the rest of u silly

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/silly.gif

chickens… i dont wanna talk about u.

Go Girl

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/queen.gif

Go !

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

**~ Sufferin’ Succotash! **I’m a cat! …and i love birds and chicks! ~

Achaa? Saadu jannu, sweetie thats not my pic i did a favour of posting it for you, you e-mailed it to me saying "GT i know i’m really ugly so i am toooooo shamed to post my pic CAN YOU POST IT FOR ME???

)Remember now?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smash.gif

~Mera signature kyoon para ha ho??~

[This message has been edited by Girl Thing (edited February 04, 2001).]

but but but u said “quote” THIS PIC IT’S MY FAV!!! “end quote”…
kyooN ji? hai na ji? haaN ji !!! bilkul ji… yehi toh hai na ji!
Mei tumhari daad day raha tha, honest honay ki, aur tum ho kay ulta choorni kotwaal ko dantay!! BulaooN ^Derwaish^ ko?

Allah, itni khaufsoorat to hai your pic. Just check your inbox and I am sure it would be full of proposals from guys.

Another of my favourite taken recently.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/scotland2.jpg

Wow, It's amazing how some people have NO CLUE as to what this thread is about.

anyway.

Musaafir, great photos yaar, I like B+W photos, but don't have the guts to do it yet. Do provide more info about your photos, such as location, time, film used, any filters if any. Do you have more to share?

Khan Sahib, I like your "frost photo". I think you were succesful in delivering the mood. I am not too sure about the subject though, Is that a post or something? I liked the other photo as well, the Scotland sea shore one.

Confused and Sadu, great use of Photoshop. sadu, I liked your macro photo of the flower, plus the little figures on the road, looks like a lesson in "depth of field" section of photography. Good job.

Sadaf; I liked the Hotel photograph. great details.

You guys are very talented. Please share more photos.

Thank you

ur Welcome Khanshib, well jab koi bhi cheeez is achi then tareeef to karni chahiye na, btw nice scenic pic again, i guesss u reallly fond of it!!!

~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!

shukriya shurkiya.. pangay baaz

lagta hay nahin hay ke aap pangay baaz hain

Never frown, even when your are sad,because you never know who is falling in love with your smile.

shukriya Pangay baaz dost!
per your request…
Baarish aur jangle: afternoon, kodak b/w pro 400, no filter. California
Horizon: evening, kodak b/w pro 400 , no filter. Maryland

Khan_sahib: guid laad, nice scotish pics. Love to see some lake district if you got any. please!!

Hope you guys like these.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/going%20fishing.jpg

Going fishing:early morning, kodak b/w pro 400 , no filter , New York

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/stretching.jpg

Stretching: evening , kodak max 800 , no filter , New York

Regards

Excellent photos Musaafir; I like both of them. The unconventional posture of the bird makes it
an interesting photo to look at. I am surprised at the result of Kodak 800 in “Stretching” it turned
out very well. Not as grainy as faster films usually are.

The “gone fishing” is my favorite of the two. It is very dramatic. The dark back ground (whether it was achieved using a camera or an editing software) was a good choice. You certainly have an eye for it, and your techniques are not in doubt either.

If you don’t mind, I would like to suggest something. Read up on compositional techniques a little bit. These techniques have been applied by the artists for centuries, long before the first camera was invented. For example, the rule of 3rds. In my humble opinion, in the photo titled
“going fishing” you could consider these points;

1. Placement of the main subject (man in the canoe) off to a side rather than in “dead center” will yield to stronger impression.

2. Same thing with a horizon. It seems that it is tilting to the right, which is un-natural and doesn’t register in the viewer’s eye very well. And second, the placement of the horizon higher or lower, where it is NOT in the dead center will improve the composition.

I hope that you wouldn’t mind my liberty to critique your work, I only did it because I liked it.

Regards

Thank you so much dost! It was my pleasure that you liked my pictures. I find your suggestions very interesting. I will keep them in my mind. It was very helpful. I think I understand what do you mean?
Now , I think its time for you to post some pictures before I post more. Looking forward to hear from you and your ideas, Thanks again and take care dost.

Regards

P.S The dark background was done by the camera not with the software in "going fishing" and "stretching".

Pungay Baaz, Thanks for very useful tips. I hope people like me will get benefit from your tips. Keep them coming.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/pic7.jpg

I have learnt silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers.

Khalil Gibran

Speechless… :=X …

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/sleep.gif

~* I am always in trouble, but it’s so much fun. *~

Hi guys, Thank you for not getting upset at my suggestions. Remember that they are merely suggestions. I am out of town right now, and will not get a chance to post a photo until I get back to my office next week. I did post one photograph in the first page of this thread. Compositionally it is not a strong photo, plus the mid day sun casted very harsh shadows, making it even worse. But sometimes, we don’t have much choice.

Khan_Sahib; another good photo. I like the abstract tone in your photos, especially the last one. Here are my two cents worth;
Maybe it is this monitor, but the colors in your last photo seem to be a bit off. I see a greyish blue hue rather than pure white snow. If in fact the photo is like it is posted, you can try to fix it in Photoshop, and for next time, try one of the following;

1.Picture taken on a cloudy day or in a shadow during a sunny day, will cast a blueish hue in the photograph. To fix this, try using a 81a or 81b filter. It is a color correcting filter for such situations.

2.Second reason, which seems to be the case in this photo, has to do with the light meter in your camera. Remember that all cameras from the factory yield a medium tone picture, what that means is that when the view finder is filled with a lot of white (the snow in this case) camera doesn’t know that it is snow that you are trying to photograph, it just reads the amount of light that is reflecting off the snow and coming into the camera, with a lot of snow, it sees too much light coming in, as a result, it wants to underexpose your picture, to compensate for extra light.

I am not sure if I would be able to do a better job on this photo, but this is one of the ways how I would have approached it. First I would set the light meter of camera to “spot meter” then I would take the reading of a medium tone object (maybe the palm of my hand) in the same light as the subject. Lock my exposure at that reading, re-compose the photo and hit the shutter.

I think understanding the light meter and it’s functions would be the most vital part of learning about a camera.

Regards.

[This message has been edited by Pungay_Baaz (edited February 07, 2001).]

This baby was trapped in my room! but i released it soon… The sensation you get holding a small bird of that size in your hand is mmmm great!but its also sad to know how much the poor bird fears and trembles being held by a creature of my size!!
Sorry bout the pic quality, wasnt enough light around… and its a digital cam. so!

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/6F00-5-24(12-58).jpg

L@@king at your signature sadu bhai, what happend to this bird after??

Never frown, even when your are sad,because you never know who is falling in love with your smile.

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/pic444.jpg

I have learnt silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers.

Khalil Gibran

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/3/pic88.jpg

I hate to transfer these bmp into jpg as the photo doesn’t look same as to the original one at all.

Khalil Gibran

Saadu: Nice picture!

Khan_Sahib: Great pictures! I noticed that you like close ups. Almost creating an abstract form. What's is your most favorite object and subject if I may ask? Hope to see some more .

Regards