JG Wright & BA Edgar (NZ)                 43   43   1   1520   36.19   2   8
RJ Shastri & K Srikkanth (Ind)            32   32   0   1135   35.46   3   5
Mudassar Nazar & Mohsin Khan (Pak)        54   54   1   1783   33.64   2  10
Saeed Anwar & Shahid Afridi (Pak)         60   60   0   2016   33.60   2  11
Rameez Raja & Aamer Sohail (Pak)          37   37   0   1197   32.35   1  10
SM Gavaskar & K Srikkanth (Ind)           55   55   0   1680   30.54   2  11
ST Jayasuriya & RS Kaluwitharana (SL)     92   92   0   2800   30.43   6  16

Will love to hear from u guys ??
http://www.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/STATS/ODIS/PARTNERSHIPS/ODI_OPENING_PAIRS.html

Note: Minimum Qualification 1000 Runs

Contributed by StatsGuru ([email protected])

Unka Jo Kaam hai Ahl-e-Siyasat Jaane,
Apna paigam muhabbat hai ,jahan tak pahuche

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited May 24, 2002).]

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 25, 2002).]

No matter what the stats say, Gordon Greendage and Desmond Haynes remian the best openers in the history of one day cricket.

Im with u on that one Umair...

Yaar, AQ a word of sincere advice. don't take it the wrong way.

You can use statistics to practically prove anything in the world. So, try to make more qualitative arguments rather than quantitative if you want support on this board.

Don't take it the wrong way, please! I come in peace!

Originally posted by sambrialian:
**Yaar, AQ a word of sincere advice. don't take it the wrong way.

You can use statistics to practically prove anything in the world. So, try to make more qualitative arguments rather than quantitative if you want support on this board.

Don't take it the wrong way, please! I come in peace!**

Did I ask for anyones support on any Issue !!!
get over it man.

AQ, with all due respect, stop posting unneccesary facts, which proves Indian superiorty over Pakistan.

I can start numerous threads where Pakistani players have outclass Indian players.

We all know who are the best openers in one day cricket but if you think Jadeja and Tendulkur are the best than good for you.

[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited May 25, 2002).]

Very true Umair bhai

Did I say that !!! why U assume things.I wanted to start a discussion but It seems you guys are so blinded that you cant even have a decent discussion.
Anyway as far as my opinion goes I think pair of Sachin and Saurav will be very close to Greenidge and Haynes in terms of best Over ODI openers.

I am sure Sachin and Suarav are gonna open for many more matches to come with great succes.

I apologize AQ on behalf all my friends here who have dared to question you!

See our problem is that since you're so very important to us all, we feel honoured if we could be in agreement with you. So, therein lies the story behind our feeble and apparently failed attempts to get you to cross over to the God-forbid non-statistical world.

Please, bless us all by starting the discussion that you just mentioned and I will die a happy man.

if u want the best ODI openers in the current time, Adam Gilchrist is ur man....

It will even take a dumb Srinath to figure that the purpose of starting this thread was to prove your few greatness over Pakistani players.
As of Tendulkur and Ganguly vs Haynes and Greendige, no chance in world.
Thats like comparing DD Gupta to Tendlukur.
As Tendulkur and Ganguly have made 200 partnerships against minnow sides like Kenya, Zim, Windies, and SL of 99 WC but the Haynes and Greendige have knocked out every single quality bowling side of the world.

As far as the best opener individualy is concerned, I have to go with Mark Waugh.
If I would be given a choice of picking either Tendulkur, Anwar or Waugh, I would definatley pick Waugh.

This guy has it all, decent part time bowler, probably the best slip catcher in the history of cricket and overall a great batsman.

Umair, u packed up this thread real nice...

Just doing my job guys, I'm showing these poor lost souls to the right path.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
It will even take a dumb Srinath to figure that the purpose of starting this thread was to prove your few greatness over Pakistani players.

Once again you couldn't stop yourself and called names

As of Tendulkur and Ganguly vs Haynes and Greendige, no chance in world.Thats like comparing DD Gupta to Tendlukur.

Really ?? Do you even know their stats ??

Here it is -

Century partnerships For HAYNES/GREENIDGE (No 100+ partnership against Australia/Eng which had good bowling during their time, Their most has come against Weak Indian Bowling)

Ind - 7
Pak - 4
SL - 2
NZ - 2

Century Partnership for SACHIN/GANGULY (Their most has come against SA, which has very good bowling)

SA - 4
WI - 2
NZ - 2
PK - 1
Aus - 1
SL - 2
ZIM - 3
KEN - 1
ENG - 1

As Tendulkur and Ganguly have made 200 partnerships against minnow sides like Kenya, Zim, Windies, and SL of 99 WC but the Haynes and Greendige have knocked out every single quality bowling side of the world.

On the Contarary, Sachin/Saurav have only one century partnership against Kenya. SL were no minnowes in 1999, they were the defending Champions, And about Zimbabwe - If you dont remember Sachin didn't even open against them in the World Cup. On the other hand Greenidge and Haynes have not scored a single century partnership against Australian and English bowling. And the only quality bowling they have blasted all over would be Pakistan.

As far as the best opener individualy is concerned, I have to go with Mark Waugh. If I would be given a choice of picking either Tendulkur, Anwar or Waugh, I would definatley pick Waugh.

While Mark Waugh is one of the most elegant batsman ever and one of my fav. too. He will certainly give Sachin a run for his money but he is not better than Sachin as an opener but yes his catching is much better than Sachin but we are selecting an opener and not a fielder.

Mat  Runs  HS   BatAv 100  50   W    BB  BowlAv 5w  Ct St

Mark Waugh           244  8500 173   39.35  18  50  85  5/24   34.56  1 108  0
Sachin Tendulkar     286 11069 186*  43.92  31  55 105  5/32   47.14  1  92  0

AK

Please do provide links before giving the sats, otherwise it doesn't say much.

just go to www.cricinfo.com and do research. !!! padhe likhe aadmi ho yaar !!!

AQ, I'm just another Jaahil Pakistani, I would like to request my smart Indian friends on where did he find the number of 100+ partnerships against each country.

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
**AQ, I'm just another Jaahil Pakistani, I would like to request my smart Indian friends on where did he find the number of 100+ partnerships against each country.

Umair bhai - You are right, It is not there anywhere on Cricinfo (Atleast I couldn't find it) so I checked every Innings played by Ganguly(164) as an opener and Haynes (230+) and then listed the Century partnership between Saurav/Sachin and Haynes/Greenidge.

AK

SR Tendulkar & A Jadeja (Ind) # 1

Indian Cricket Board is full of kuddos, no offence. Why the hell they banned Jadeja from Cricket?

India should take off banned from Ajay. That would be good for them and exciting to see World Cup 2003

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

I wanna see Ajay facing Shoaib

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif

LONG LIVE PAKISTAN

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif