Obviously the one run by AOL seems the right choice because it works like just any other site. You can do automatic back ups and access your files from anywhere. Why would they be giving that much space for free and 50GB at a very discounted price? I don’t want to upload my pictures and then find out that they are available when you google search them.
Anyone out there who uses an online back up site? Any recommendations?
Yaar I do back ups on CDs, DVDs, Flash drives and what not, but all that stays in my apartment. I have another copy of each file stored at work servers. I keep adding pictures to the computer and I am just afraid that before I can run a back up of photos, the drive will crash and I'll lose everything. Besides, after hearing about apt. fires in the neighborhood everyday, I am just worried because when there's a fire, no matter how many back ups you have, it'll be useless.
So that's why I thought I would start storing files online on servers that are back up on mirror servers at different locations.
I know for a fact that gspace.com is not the correct address for "Gspace" because it opened up an inappropriate site. I know about g-mail and usually e-mail myself small files but what's Gspace? I basically need a place to back up my pictures, automatically on daily basis, if possible.
LOL…This is more like it. Doosra site khula tou mein mentally ready nahi tha. This looks like something cool, I’ll download it when I get back home tomorrow.
My question is that why do these companies give free space? For example Gmail has ads in the gmail window, what about these storage services? I hope they don’t make personal files available just because the service is free.
LOL............This is more like it. Doosra site khula tou mein mentally ready nahi tha. :D This looks like something cool, I'll download it when I get back home tomorrow.
dow numberiye kaam ke leye banda kabhi ready nahi hota, ready hona parta hai :D
The reason I like gmail space is that its as secure as your gmail emails... other companies... well i can setup storage hosting company tomorrow, what is the guarantee that I am not going in and looking at those files?
so Gmail IT guy cannot look into your GMAIL account
Not that I am against GMAIL. I would use it cause Google is a comapny that is not going anywhere soon. Other companies, what if they wind up there operation tomorrow
hahaha…i am sure CIA is not interested in you becoming millionaire (through receiving spam emails) or winning a “free” laptop
ps. i dont mind any one reading my emails or looking into my logz cuz i have nothing confidential there …pata nahi loug q itna suspense create kertay rehtay hain secretive honay ka drama ker k
All - be careful about where you store onine; without knowing the service providers ownership, ability to continue in business and how they control their employees, if you put your info there, you are running a lot of risks.
Google and AOL are big public companies and will have compliance functions to ensure against employee theft etc.
The Google extension - has Google expressed any policy against using their storage for purposes other than email, such as storage?
The whole Gmail data is accessbile to CIA, They have software that scan all of your emails, for spying
Well then you don't do illegal stuff using gmail. In fact, nothing free is secure from government agencies. Besides, those plotting something big will not be using free e-mail service by gmail. I am 100% sure that they will get their own secure severves, e-mail addresses, and own people to process everything.