Best Of The Best — Results

Friends :salam:

Competition is said to be the whetstone of talent. We had talent on this forum but there was no whetstone to hone it. Best Of The Best was first attempt to gauge the quality on GS. The competition started with a few goals in mind. It was intended to get the best out of our members which was possible only by challenging their passion, their knowledge, their taste and their limits. I did it and as today I announce the results, I can say it with satisfaction that the competition achieved its goals successfully.

There were 14 participants, 14 entries and lots of enthusiasm. All of them were not great, but all of them were good. “Trying to be number one and trying to do well are two different things.” I do not know how many of the competitors tried to be number one and how many just tried to do well. But I can say that the motivation was very much there and all of them fared well — fairly well.

I would like to thank each one of the participants for every bit of effort they put into it. aabla_pa, aanish, ajnabi_ladki, being lonely, Bholay Bisray, Dania_2000, deadsoul, deep_ocean, Prince Ali, redidentity, Shab-e-Hijar, seem, Sheal and tahreem saeed, your participation in this competition was a personal favour to me. You encouraged me to experiment and your contributions amount to a vote in favour of making this community such an enviable avenue of poetry which will stand out of the crowd by immeasurable margins. Please accept my heartfelt gratitude :flower1:

Lastly, I would also like to extend my earnest gratefulness to Anwaar Qureshi, **Innocent_Smile **and NikamiJi for their wonderful work as judges. I thank them for accepting my request to be on the Judges Panel. I also must admit that it was a close competition and it would have been intensely difficult to mark the entries so meticulously. So very kind of your lordships :slight_smile:

• Before you proceed to see results, I request all of you, especially the judges, to please give Reputation Marks to the winner and specifically mention about this competition as the reason behind the reputation marks. Currently, we have only this thing as a reward for the winner.

Please see Post#2 for results.

• Post#3 for Anwaar Qureshi’s Note & Markings

• Post#4 for Innocent_Smile’s Note & Markings

• Post#5 for NikamiJi’s Note & Markings

Re: Best Of The Best — Results

And the winner is…

**Shab-e-Hijar**

**by scoring 9.3 marks** :clap: ------------------------------------------------ **Runner-up: Prince Ali, 8.6 marks** :clap:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_321446a8de3c19dab.gif

**Anwaar Qureshi's Note & Markings**

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_321446a8de3c2ab26.gif

First of all I want to thank all the participant for their contributions. It is imperative to understand that all of the ghazals shared were qualitative and best works of their poets - These poets are very big names for us. We can not even come close to their feet let alone judging their words.

The competition was about who posts the most heart-attracting poem and present in a beautiful manner that will further beautify the words of the poet…

From a judge’s point of view, it felt impossible to select one on top but the point system did help… Most of the poem as per their selection did get same points from me but at the end it was the intelligently deviced point scale that made the difference.

Shab-e-Hijar’s presentation turned out to be the one that seemed like fulfilling all the avenues of how we were looking for a presentation (although she used images which I was not looking forward to and I did do negative marking for that )…

Introduction of the poet was right on the money. A poet’s intro is what his/her poetry is about than usual birthdate and educational background (although one should strive to know that too but that is secondary to the main purpose)… Shab encompasses poet’s thinking process based on his works - a very keen and fine analysis. If one reads Amajad’s poetry after reading this presentation, it will be more enjoyable and more thought provoking. Reason behind choosing this ghazal was again like hitting nail on the head. Straight Forward, Simple, and in the context. In my opinion, we can not just say that we like it because it is beautiful but the best representation of our feelings is when we say why it is beautiful?

Coming to the selection itself, the rythm and the diction of the ghazal says it all. How a word used in the second Misra has a direct relation to the thought working behind in the first line of that shair is something that only gifted people can utilize. The whole ghazal make you visualize the emotions and the metaphors used are strikingly simple yet effective.

At the end, I again want to give a big applause to all the other posters who made this contest a tough one to decide and in the process we were provided with an oppetunity to read such beautiful pieces of poetry, which is the essence of this very forum. Together, we can make it the most resourceful avenue for the urdu poetry lovers on the web. Each and everyone of you are special and each and everyone of you are respectable in my eyes. I admire the sense of friendship and the sense of togetherness you people provide me here though I never had a chance to really talk to some of you but rest assured, I have been a permanent silent reader of this forum from day one since my arrival back in 2000.

Please, take a moment and appreciate the following posters who made this competition worthy of judging.

deep_ocean,
ajnabi_ladki
being lonely
Sheal
Prince Ali
Dania_2000
Tahreem Saeed
aabla_pa
deadsoul
Bholay Bisray
aanish
seem
redidentity

**Innocent_Smile's Note & Markings**

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_321446a8df9dcf3b3.gif

I gave total 9 points 2 posts post number 12 and post number 22 both have selected wonderfull piece of poetry one important thing k dono members ki presentation was good as both of them added thier own views as well so they got bonus point for that they way they present thier ghazal was easy to read it and fully understand it others have also good piece of poetry but some missed presentation and and kuch logo nay presentation di to hay but wo poet ko describe karne k liay rather than k apne views daite about poet or atleast that ghazal they slected.

**NikamiJi's Note & Markings**

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/imagehosting/thumb_321446a8df2bbb4db.gif

The reason i like that post first of all the presentaton was really good and i gazal wise i love to read again and again AiA k lufzoon ne maaR dala and of course we want to know k which writer wrote this gazal and over all that was present too…and most important thing Aymal work very hard and all credit goes to our MOD Aymal who has courrge to do all this, honestly if am on his place am not that patience to do all this hard waork claping for Aymal.

Congratulation Shab ab wo $100.00 ka check mail kar dain jo ap ne promise kia tha :hehe:

Also Big Hand for PA who worked hard to win :slight_smile: :flowers: for you

:slight_smile: **WelDone Mods!

****Shab-e-Hijar, Mubarik ho aap ko :hoonh:

:stuck_out_tongue:

I would like to congratulate **Shab-e-Hijar **for winning this competition :clap:.:bb:

Congrats Shab.

Unfortunately, I had recently given you rep. points and it is not allowing me to give you any more at this time :naraz:

Kindly, give me reputation points to compensate the issue at hand :stuck_out_tongue:

PS: let me see Prince Ali, if I can give you any.. congratz..

and a very big hand for Judges who spare some time to read, evaluate and marking the entries. :bb:

Congrats Shab-e-Hijar

Thanks to all the judges for working hard.

haaN.. bay chaaraY judges ko bhool jaao

(notes down his name in the diary to give him 0 point in next competition) :naraz:

congrats SHAB E HIJAR AND PRINCE ALI u too nice decission Amal jee

aww A paji how are you … i wanted to ask u something
woh image mai kon hai … hamri bhabi :blush:

thanks tahreen :blush:

waisaY.. to be very frank, I like to give all the participants reputation points ... we can mention that w are giving reputation points because of their beautiful selection for the contest...

I am not sure if it is a good idea - any suggestions?

tahreen nahi:naraz: tahreem:D u welcome

Shabboooooooooooooo congrats sweettyy :kiss: I have no idea what just happened here but all I know u made it :k: :hugz:

Congrats to rest of the peeplaan as wellll :stuck_out_tongue:

Phir next competition meiN kya kareiN ge? :) Let there be something to fight for ;)