it’s only fair that we do two seperate polls for Senior and Junior artists. If there is an artist that hasn’t been mentioned on the other poll then please send me a Pm with their name and drama you’d like to nominate that person for. Deadline for sending in names is Oct 28, 08.
let’s see… if people want to further define, we can go for some kind of criteria and create multiple polls… like actors of 70’s, 80’s, 90’s etc. (those who started in that decade - they might be working till now)
then, have a poll between the winners of all … … find out youtube clips of each nominee from the drama and post them as well for people to actually see and vote… (I know a lot of work :p)
There are many creative things that can be done for this… but it will require time and a bit of effort… may be some of our fellow members want to help in this?
it's only fair that we do two seperate polls for Senior and Junior artists. If there is an artist that hasn't been mentioned on the other poll then please send me a Pm with their name and drama you'd like to nominate that person for. Deadline for sending in names is Oct 28, 08.
Any comments/suggestions are welcome. :)
good idea Sajal... and I also agree with AQ in that perhaps we can define better categories of actors.
One suggestion that I had was to do a separate poll for actors who've won the Pride of Performance. Here are a few names from the top of my head:
I am new to Paklinks. I have been browsing this forum for a while now and found it to be absolutely informative and interesting...
In particular Raju Uncle's presence has been much inspiring for me. Given that he is a full time banker, his devoting time to responding here and his interest in answering queries is exemplary.
I suggest that we put actors in three categories if possible...
The pioneers of acting in Pakistan (those who have been acting since inceptionat PTV... If I may suggest a few names:
Mahmood Ali (his recent passing away has been much under-reported given his high credntials.
Subhani Ba younus
Qazi Wajid (these three, I think should feature in any list)
Shakeel
Ibraheem Nafees (does anyone remember him?)
Hameed Wain
Imtiaz Ahmed (of Uncle Urfi fame)
Qavi Khan
Munawar Saeed
Talat Hussain
Rizwan Wasti (don't know where to put him really)
There are two more people I don't know the names of. Maybe Raju uncle can help. One is the actor who played Asif Raza Mir's father in Tanhaiyan and the other played the mustasched rich old man in long play 'Baarish' which was aired by PTV Karachi in the 70s.
Maybe we can compile another list of artists who started in late 70s or 80s like
Abid Ali
Saleem Nasir
Rahat kazmi
Moin Akhtar
Shafi Muhammad Shah
Behroz Sabzwari
Javed Sheikh
Asif Raza Mir
Akbr Subhani
Qurban Jilani
Noor Muhammad Lashari (of Dasht Fame)
Jamshed Ansari
Mahmood Aslam
Usman Pirzada
Sultan Khoosat
Ali Ijaz
Jameel Fakhri (Inspector in Andhera Ujala)
...and the list goes on
Obviously you can put some of the names above in the first list....
And then maybe the comparatively newbies like:
Sajid Hassan, Humayun Saeed, M Warsi, Shabbir Jaan, Sohail Asghar, Nauman Ijaz, Firdous Jamal, Waseen Abbas, etc.
I am new to Paklinks. I have been browsing this forum for a while now and found it to be absolutely informative and interesting...
In particular Raju Uncle's presence has been much inspiring for me. Given that he is a full time banker, his devoting time to responding here and his interest in answering queries is exemplary.
I suggest that we put actors in three categories if possible...
The pioneers of acting in Pakistan (those who have been acting since inceptionat PTV... If I may suggest a few names:
Mahmood Ali (his recent passing away has been much under-reported given his high credntials.
Subhani Ba younus
Qazi Wajid (these three, I think should feature in any list)
Shakeel
Ibraheem Nafees (does anyone remember him?)
Hameed Wain
Imtiaz Ahmed (of Uncle Urfi fame)
Qavi Khan
Munawar Saeed
Talat Hussain
There are two more people I don't know the names of. Maybe Raju uncle can help. One is the actor who played Asif Raza Mir's father in Tanhaiyan and the other played the mustasched rich old man in long play 'Baarish' which was aired by PTV Karachi in the 70s.
Maybe we can compile another list of artists who started in late 70s or 80s like
Abid Ali
Saleem Nasir
Rahat kazmi
Moin Akhtar
Shafi Muhammad Shah
Behroz Sabzwari
Javed Sheikh
Asif Raza Mir
Akbr Subhani
Qurban Jilani
Noor Muhammad Lashari (of Dasht Fame)
Jamshed Ansari
Mahmood Aslam
Usman Pirzada
Sultan Khoosat
Ali Ijaz
Jameel Fakhri (Inspector in Andhera Ujala)
...and the list goes on
Obviously you can put some of the names above in the first list....
And then maybe the comparatively newbies like:
Sajid Hassan, Humayun Saeed, M Warsi, Shabbir Jaan, Sohail Asghar, Nauman Ijaz, Firdous Jamal, Waseen Abbas, etc.
Probably...IMTIAZ (who played Tahira Wasti's dad in AFSHAN...) but needs to be confirmed...(will revert with actual name..soon)
Waseem Abbas s/o Inayat Hussain Bhatti...is not a newbie..he is as old as mas'ala'e'kashmir:)
I acknowledge my mistake given your superior knowledge. Yes, Wasim Abbas is not a newbie. I was just not sure when he started so put him in the last column. His earlier plays were much serious and perhaps 'better performances' than the new hate-to-call-them-comedy sitcoms that have become the norm nowadays. Perhaps the abundance of these sort of ludicrous comedy sitcoms demand a seperate thread so i will write one over the weekend if time permits.
I beg to disagree Raju uncle on Imtiaz. It was definitely not Imtiaz Ahmed as he played the man-servant (correct me if I am wrong) who lived with Shehnaz along with Durdana Butt... By the way I am assuming he passed away a long time ago given his lack of appearance for a long time... Is that so?
I acknowledge my mistake given your superior knowledge. Yes, Wasim Abbas is not a newbie. I was just not sure when he started so put him in the last column. His earlier plays were much serious and perhaps 'better performances' than the new hate-to-call-them-comedy sitcoms that have become the norm nowadays. Perhaps the abundance of these sort of ludicrous comedy sitcoms demand a seperate thread so i will write one over the weekend if time permits.
I beg to disagree Raju uncle on Imtiaz. It was definitely not Imtiaz Ahmed as he played the man-servant (correct me if I am wrong) who lived with Shehnaz along with Durdana Butt... By the way I am assuming he passed away a long time ago given his lack of appearance for a long time... Is that so?/quote]
You could be right..that's why i said I am not sure!
Yes--Imtiaz expired long time back. He was a remarkable artiste by many counts. His acting was close to reality and he was perfect on the roles given to him. His brother--IFTIKHAR who preferred to stay back in Mumbai...also did well in Indian film industry and was seen in almost every 2nd Indian movie during late 70's through late 80's as a Police inspector or a kind father or a businessmen or even as a DON (in "DEEWAR" as DAWAR SAHEB).......while his third brother lives and has been pilot for Airbus-300 at PIA past sometime now.
Will revert with the real....'dad' of AR in Tanhaieyaan....soon.
My friend you ask a very interesting question indeed-----:)
I started my banking career on 18 September-1971 from Habib Bank Limited as Trainee Officer.
At Agha Hasan Abedi's behest, I joined United Bank Limited in June-1974.
In June-1982 on account of some matter of principle...I opted to take a stand on a loan being disbursed against rules..and resigned from UBL and immediately got the offer from Bank of Oman Limited (Now MASHREQBank) at Doha-Qatar.
In 1984 UBL's management changed and the new President immediately called me back as Assistant vice President. (I had resigned as Officer Grade-I).
On 14th August-2008...my 59th birthday...on achieving the age of superannuation, I was to proceed on LPR (ONE YEAR Leave Preparetory to Retirement) during which full salary etc are paid....but the management decided to hold me back by giving me ONE year extension..whhich is rarely done in PRIVATE organizations!!!
So...I am still working...as Senior Vice President/Divisional Head Business Development, Priority Banking, Cross Sell and Network Planning PAN Pakistan at the Marketing & Sales-Retail Bank, H.O and as one of the most senior original UBL-ite amongst the entire new lot...since privatization in 2003.
Allah sehat de....aur deen ki taraf ragheb kare ke namaaz bhi parhein hum..
Allah aap ko sehat tandrusti de... Ameen!!! aur Namaz ki taufeeq bhi (as you say)
I really admire you for being able to take time to respond and be active in this community given that your are still working in a very senior capacity at one of our premier banks (this was indeed the reason I asking you about work in the first place!)
As for your reply.... Agha Hassan Abidi, kya yaad dila diya aap ne huzoor... Without divulging into the generic mud slinging on his uprighteousness, I would just say he was a Brilliant man by many counts. Perhaps one of the best bankers ever.
Not only that, his contribution to promoting Urdu (donated more than a billion) and GIK, establishing FAST and many other philanthropic entities is worth commending...
Allah aap ko sehat tandrusti de... Ameen!!! aur Namaz ki taufeeq bhi (as you say)
I really admire you for being able to take time to respond and be active in this community given that your are still working in a very senior capacity at one of our premier banks (this was indeed the reason I asking you about work in the first place!)
As for your reply.... Agha Hassan Abidi, kya yaad dila diya aap ne huzoor... Without divulging into the generic mud slinging on his uprighteousness, I would just say he was a Brilliant man by many counts. Perhaps one of the best bankers ever.
Not only that, his contribution to promoting Urdu (donated more than a billion) and GIK, establishing FAST and many other philanthropic entities is worth commending...
A man Pakistan and all of us should be proud of!
ISS THREAD PE YE DISCUSSION---OFF TOPIC HO RAHA HAI...:)
VISIT MY THREAD "INTERESTING PEOPLE--INTERESTING FACTS" AND YOU'LL GET TO SEE & READ SOMETHING ON AGHA SAHEB...