Best Indian movie for 2007?

Re: Best Indian movie for 2007?

Transformers.

^^ aunty transformer is a hollywood movie not indian.

^Uncle.....I don't watch bollyshollywood movies.

gud for you. This thread is not meant for you then.

May be mods can create another thread.....or just simply change the title of this thread from Indian Movies to International movies so everyone can participate in it.

2 Likes

jab we met:sadiyah:

definetely none of these above except Taare Zameen per

Life in a Metro was awesome. I've heard good things about Black Friday as well. That list is not as bad as you are making it out to be.

"Life in a Metro" was a rip-off of an old Hollywood movie - "The Apartment".
However, I can see why LIM would be appreciated by people who haven't seen the original Hollywood movie.
Nevertheless, it would be very unethical if the LIM folks did not buy the copyright of the "The Apartment" - because every single scene was lifted from it.

Thanks for that one bhai. I'll check the original out when I get a chance, definitely.

b4 yesterday there were quite a few movies which i thought cud be best of 2007.......
but now ...... BY FAR ........ its

TAAREY ZAMEEN PER

My top three for the year would be:

1. Taare Zameen Parr
  2. Eklavya
  3. Chakk De

Honorable Mentions:
Life in a Metro
Black Friday

but now I have to see No Smoking on the game's insistence... I trust his judgement - afterall, he recommended Moksha a few years back which I happened to like too.

Life in a Metro was good, even if the story was lifted, the acting and direction was simply awesome. Guru was an OK movie. OSO was a good time pass but nothing else.

But the winner is really Taare Zameen Per. IMO Amir can be called Mel Gibson of Bollywood for making bold and different movies.

My list:

TZP

Black Friday

Johny Gadar

CDI

Life in a Metro

Namesake( Not a bollywood movie, directed by Meera Nair)

To be clear, I am not putting down “Life in a Metro” just because it was lifted from a Hollywood movie (In fact, in my opinion, copied movies and songs do a service to the section of the audience who would not otherwise ever see and appreciate the originals).

My point is this - among the many Hindi movies that are copied from Hollywood - “Life in a Metro” is one of the most blatant… I mean every single scene is lifted from the original (barring the song and dance of course and some sprinkling of Desi mirch/masala). That is the reason I said that it would be very unethical of the producers of LIM to have not bought the copyrights of “The Apartment”. (though I would admit that I am no expert in how these copyrights thing works for movies - why some people buy it, why some people don’t and its legal ramifications)

The original movie - “The Apartment”- is an Academy Award winning 1960 movie in Black and White - it is a Hollywood Classic which many of us Desis apparently haven’t seen.

I don’t think they buy the rights, there were some issues with Partner(which was a frame by frame copy of Hitch)

Yes…“Partner” was another blatant copy…and thanks for the link..I wonder if the “Partner” folks paid anything at all.

About 2-3 months ago, I did read somewhere that a Bollywood producer had bought the copyright of some Hollywood movie. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the producer now, nor the movie.

Yes, but don't hit me with jootay if you don't like it :D! I have heard only extreme reactions towards the movie; people seem to either hate it with disgust or love it enough to call it a masterpiece. I really hope you enjoy it, because the more fans we will have for such movies (which actually force you to use your cerebral cortex), the more they will be made.