Best bowler at the death

**Wasim Akram was the best bowler in the end overs of ODI matches that I have ever seen. Who is now THE BEST after Akram’s retirement ?

I suppose one bowler that has had some success is Ian Harvey.**

Re: Best bowler at the death

waqar younis was the best in death overs…

^ You bet! Wasim / Waqar and Ian Botham were always on the dime. :D

Mcgrath and Vaas are the good one right now.

and from Pakistan Rana is the upcoming one who can bowl well.

i think zaheer khan is good as well, is good with yorkers .........

DaPakiGuy, Ian Harvey is the one of the most overrated cricketers I have seen. Don't let anyone fool you. Stick with your first choice. Wasim used his variety extremely well at the death overs.

I don’t see any bowler in the world who is half deadly as Wasim was in the death overs. From the over number 41 Wasim had plan for each and every delivery. Every ball that he would deliver had wicket written on it. He has said himself in an interview that only one thing is in his mind while bowling and that is wicket. That is why when we see footages now, we see how he used to surprise batsmen with his vast variety and would engage batsman in thinking what would be the next delivery.

We see glimps of Wasim’s intelligence in McGrath. I must admit that Rana has shown some traces of that kind of engagement with tailenders in the recent series.

In this great thread about Sultan of Swing, let me pollute it a bit.:wink: St. Akhtar also engage Justin Langer in the middle of a already lost test match with gestures only seen in Bollywood movies. :smiley:

BTW…that was one awesome over by St. Akhtar, IMO. :k:

It was, eh :smiley: ? On Shoaib’s note, he has improved a lot when it comes to bowling death overs. It’s all about yorkers yaar Smooth bhai, Rana bowls those reverse swinging yorkers which Sami and even Shoaib Akhtar seem to have lost from their arsenal.

saqlain mushtaq - he bowled a maiden 49th over....

He is the same guy who was hit 4 runs on the last ball in the fall of Bangladesh cup by Kanitkar of India. Point being that one over doesn’t suffice the quality of the best death bowler. :smiley:

Rana is an excellant buy to bowl at the death

but one ball definitely disqualifies one as a good bowler at the death…
good point… :k:

Now its Rana.

Well i thought he is one of the underrated allrounders :rolleyes:

Well when saqlian was at his best, he use to bowl the dead overs andI remember most of times he did it effeciently. Sometimes he use to be unplayable. I feel sorry for the man, damn australian started reading him well and then rest of the world.
There is no bolwer currently in cricket who can bowl deadly final overs on consistent basis like wasim n waqar use to do. There are few but we see them performing in patches. There are countless matches when together they saved the match for pakistan and then they both have done it singlehandedly as well. Can’t forget the sharjan matches against india when the 2 W’s were simply too good for them. Then what about their destruction in england with their toe breakers. I remember australasia cup 90, when waqar started showing that how deadly he can be. Akram was already a huge asset then for Pakistan. I think my best moment of akram bowlng was the successive dismissals in 92 WC final. I guess the 2 deliveries will remain in our memories for over.
Wasim Akram’s early retirement from pakistan cricket reflects the level of corruption in PCB. PCB in an unceremonious fashion forced him to retire with no one officially acknowledging acheivements of the man who was without any doubt the undisputed greatest left arm bowler in cricket.

DaPakiGuy, Ian Harvey was okay. He was over-rated by Steve Waugh and Ponting put him in his right place (out of the team).

Acrobi 123- I dont agree with you on Vaas issue. He has bowled well only in patches otherwise he has been spanked all over by even shughli hitters.

Right now Darren Gough is the boss of death overs with his accurate yorkers. Naveed has also shown that he can bowl consistent in swinging-yorkers at the end with variety too. Other names that come in mind :
Mcgrath (Just okay, its his new ball bowling that rocks most teams)
Brett Lee (uses yorkers as well as short pith bowling to good effect in death overs)
Flintoff
Zaheer Khan etc

Rana and Gough these days…Mashallah Rana is doing well…I have seen him bowling some great death overs against Australians…Mashallah…

In near, past, in my humble opinion, waqar younis was the best bowler in death overs duirng his peak time (1989-1995). Waqar used to take so many wickets in death overs…I remember that waqar always needed a wicket to start his magic in final overs…Surprisingly he used to bowl normal deliveries before getting his first wicket but once he had taken that first wicket in the death overs, somehow, he used to get into an unplayable mode………Ball after ball he used to deliver those toe-crushing Yorkers with a pin-point accuracy…..Most of the guppies at this website were young kids when waqar was at his peak and they don’t know what I am talking about….they only saw a fraction of waqar between 1998 to 2003…..Wasim was also second to none…..ahh those golden days

However, frankly speaking, I don’t want those days to come back ever……….I will not trade my current Pakistani team and Imran khan’s team for anything…..This team is playing with its full determination, passion and honesty and that is all we always demanded from our team…..Just play hard and honestly and leave the rest to God….I don’t want those manhoos and one of the most ugly days of Pakistani cricket (1995 to 2000) to comeback when this ugly wasim akram, salim malik and ijaz ahmd used to play satta and threw our cricket in the dustbin….now please don’t come back and tell me that there is no proof against wasim akram…..we all know it……

Well some of us do remember that golden era. Although waqar made his debut in 89 but we saw the real deadly waqar in 1990 in Australasia cup.

Shoaib Akhtar seems like someone who would be useful for the death overs. For that though he would have to first make it past the third over.