Best Batsman in Current generation?

Sachin is a brlliant talent, but he cant be compared to Lara as a match winner. He's a choker, not a big match player, Lara for all his fauls in angling the bat, loss of concentraion and arrogance can and does rip the best side in the world apart, he is in a league of his own.

If someone is batting for my life, I'd pick Lara, I think you all would, or perhaps SW.

The Game Responds:

*Saurav Ganguly; credit should be given where credit is due. I don't like Sachin Tendulkar at all, not because he is Indian; it's because his punkass is so overrated that I can't find words to describe it. Atleast Ganguly doesn't choke like Tendulkar in difficult situations. Ganguly is also one of the most elegant batsmen of the 90's and is a treat to watch. I also rate Steve Waugh as one of the best of the 90's, but Ganguly's elegance and consistency is hard to match. People, That Is All.*

NO ONE BEATS SACHIN, HE IS THE BEST BATSMAN CURRENTLY NO DISPUTE AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!

Saurav Ganguly? :rotfl"

He is a crap test player, brilliant ODI bat-yes, but his test rep is comical. he cant play afast bowling, the moving ball and is poor of the back foot. He is elegant, but what good is looks when theres little substance.

Flat track bully is the test description for him. Now Rahul Dravid is a class act.

One and only Shahid Afridi...the best batsman of all time...Reincarnation of Viv Richards/Bradman clone(created in the state of the art Bio-genetics laboratory of Bannu/Peshawer)...technically flawless...great temper...never slog the ball..yaar Afridi ke kya kehnay...bass Allah ke Shaan hai...

wessay Afidi is still uder 19??...abhee tu Jawan bhee nahee howay hain Khan sahib...i wonder what will happen when he will be above 30..i guess by that time mankind would have seattled at Mars..or moon!

*Originally posted by robby: *
NO ONE BEATS SACHIN, HE IS THE BEST BATSMAN CURRENTLY NO DISPUTE AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!

Kake.....y dont u just go pose in front of the camera. Cricket is not meant for ya...

So true. And next after him will be Imran nazir. :wink:

or maybe Agarkar who runs faster than the ball :hehe:

Correction Question, that is all the Indian bowlers who runs faster than the bowl.

Thanks Jeera, you took the words out of my mouth, Afridi is a class act.

saurav ganguly can score some runs in one day cricket as a opener.. but in test cricket... hez a looser! way back in 99 or 2000.... he was playin shoaib akhtar and was afraid like anything... he wuz so afraid tht one ball wuz smacked on his helmet! and he wuz injured! hahaha! such a looser

PLUS!

SUCH A BIG SHOWOFFER! hahaha any one remember that after winning the natwest series... his shirt wuz off and he wuz jumping like a clown! hahahaha!

Re: Best Batsman in Current generation?

*Originally posted by mo_best: *
Who is the leading test batsman of this generation, say from 1990-today, and why?

Personally, I find it hard to seperate between SW, Lara and Tendulkar, bt on account of the number of match winning knocks he's played and against the top opposition, I must go for Lara.

Yes SRT is more consistant, but he cant win games on his own, irrespective of his skill,he chokes. Any one who watched the 1999 Aus-WI series on Sky, b4 the WC, will acknowledge Lara's genius. He drew a series on his own!

He is simply magical, and when on song, the best since Bradman. :)

Yaar mo the besht, I don't watch cricker at all, par yeh SW kown hai ?? My vote goes for Hanif Mohammed's chhota chetan - Shoaib Mohammed and match winner dashing Muddassar Nazar !!