Working for a major airline I've seen lots of airports... I'd say some railway stations are better then airports....Depends what criteria you use...
:love: :love: :love:
btw i once stayed in the hotel in the Dubai airport coz of some flight delay problem
the room was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo nice :love: i felt like i was in a luxurious palace. it was jus SUPER AWESOME :rotato:
another of the Dubai Duty Free
[thumb=H]DDF15313_7900214.JPG[/thumb]
Aologies for the late response, I was on a hike
Apart from Cape Town’s tiny international airport, JNB is probably the best in Africa, Nairobi and Dar-es-Salaam don’t even compare. There were no-longer operational showers at the food court, at the arrivals level, but the muslim ablution chamber came in handy to freshen up.
The airport in Kingston Jamaica is the worst, I mean you gotta bribe a friggin pot dealer to get out of the friggin airplane. These guys are selling pot right on the tarmac.
^ lol
I have heard that at Islamabad airport all the sweepers (cleaning staff) are from Saudi Arabia. It makes sense as they can use the head Roomal to dust off the window. Let me know if it is true.
I personally don’t care about what an airport looks like. Until I have a personal strip to land in my house, I shouldn’t complain.
Best: Shipol, Amsterdam. (They have loads of shops)
true.. kyun apun bhi ek dutchi hai naa...:D
and also the new lahore airport..and karachi wala..new jersey wala and heathrow.. (i think it's rather funny.. carpet all over the place..:) )
the worst airport is lahore wala..(old one..) no seats to sit on.. if u wanted a glass of water.. u dont even get that..or u have to pay for 1 stupid glass..more tha 150 rupees.. yeah right..no way..and there are only jaahil people working over there.. they have no respect for women and children.. (my own experience..)
I have not been to very many International airports but Mumbai's Chatrapati Shivaji(formerly Sahar) International Airport has to be among the WORST International airport in the world.
First of all the inside of the airport feels more like a railway station. It is also right in the middle of the city which means it is always congested. You can infact see the surrounding slum dwellings(and also smell the stench) from inside the aircraft.
It is shameful that this airport serves India's commerical hub i.e. Mumbai.....wonder what impression foreigners get when they land here after all the hype about India's economic development.
The Delhi/Madras aiports are not that great either. Calcutta airport is the best India has....but even that is not good enough.
I've been to my fair share of airports and the best airport in the U.S. I've ever been to is easily Orlando International Airport (MCO). It's extremely clean and extremely efficient. You will not get stuck in security here or get lost. Just go to the ticket counter, if you need to, than go through security, take the tram, and a very short walk will get you to your gate. Upon entering the airport, you can usually get to your gate within 30 minutes, unlike other places where it might take a couple hours.
The service staff is very friendly. The scenary and decor is great. The international terminal is amazing. Orlando International was also voted the safest airport in the U.S. If you have a layover, you'll be happy to hear that Orlando was also voted best airport to have a layover at. There's a Hyatt right there in the airport and there are planty of great shops and restaurants to occupy yourself. You could check out the aviation museum. How about a dip in the pool. Like fish? Check out the aquarium. Feeling stressed? Take a trip to the spa. Have kids? Take them to the arcades. Like shopping? There's plenty of that for you. Are we still talking about an airport?
Miami sucks. And so does Newark.
Changi airport (Singapore) is one of the best in the world, as are their airlines. Frankfurt International is my least favorite.
*Originally posted by Some1: *
The Delhi/Madras aiports are not that great either. Calcutta airport is the best India has....but even that is not good enough.
I guess you only saw the dometic terminal of Calcutta airport. International one is ****ty like Delhi & Bombay.
I liked Frankfurt,Singapore & Hong Kong.They are good.
But whst surprised me was Kulalampur Airport.I never expected it to be so good considering it is a 3rd world country. It is as good as any western airport.Pretty decent.
Singapore and HK the best.
Athens the worst.
the newly built Allama Iqbal Airport in Lahore fell short of my expectations.. I had thought that knowing the plethora of problems faced by travellers in the earlier airport this one would fix the problems.. but they just repeated it and piled up some red brick outside to make us think it's a new airport..
It's not..
Outside there is plenty of more parking space but in the same old 'parking lot' fashion.. no consideration whatsoever for travellers who'd like to leave cars overnight.. no separate short/long term parkings and the same single lane drop offs and pick ups without meeting points etc.
Inside i was amazed to see the same size of arrival hall.. with the same no. of luggage belts and immigration desks!! seriously .. dont' they know the airport is already congested and didn't they account for any future growth??
The airports i have been to
London - Heathrow, too crowded but near my house.
London Gatwick,
London Luton,
London Stanstead, best holiday airport I like it airy feeling.
London City , no train or tube links
Glasgow,
Glasgow Prestwick,
Dundee
Manchester
Dubai
Lahore - is good but not made keeping eye on future. will be small after 5-10 years
Islamabad - deserve a better airport than a copy of old lahore one
Karachi - is the best pakistan can offer,
Dublin
Schiphol (amsterdam) - Many people like this but I didnt like it at all.
Paris CDG
Biaritz
The best one - Dubai, and Paris
good - Karachi, London Gatwick
Worst ones - London Luton
Worst airport would be Istanbul (Turkey), no one can speak English, must be the only airport where no desi person works so he or she could help you out, as dirty as it could be, no help from anywhere.
Karachi’s Jinnah Terminal must be one of the best terminals in the world
The ones I have been to are
Guarulhos - Sao Paulo ( 5 on a scale of 10 ) They dont speak angraizi
Frankfurt - ( 6/10 ) OKAYish
Dubai - ( 7/10 ) Nice duty free shop
Schiphol - ( 7/10 ) Nice - vibrant - :k:
Pearson Toronto ( 5/10 ) I wanna spank the nerd who designed it ![]()
Dammam ( 4/10 ) isolated - and you just wanna get out / leave
Riyadh ( 5/10 ) Walk and Walk and Walk for domestic transfers
Jeddah ( 5/10 ) Waaaaaaaay too crowded
Bahrain ( 7.5/10 )
cause its a CHANGE comming from Saudi Arabia
Stuttgart ( 7/10 ) - Found nice cheerful and helping staff here
Islamabad / Lahore are OK . Cant remember anything that I liked or disliked … The attitude of the customs officials was a bit rough though
best one : Denver International Airport
Worst: istanbul, turkey
For those who said Bahrain Airport is boring, when was the last time you were there? It has come a long way now. As for the size well what do you expect when the whole of Bahrain is roughly 660sq km...
Best Airport :
Changi International Airport, Singapore
Worst Airport:
Kathmandu Airport, Nepal
*Originally posted by irem: *
sanfrancisco - this is the airport i used to land in when i used to go to amreeka for college. my first time in amreeka i landed in SFO airport. a lot of personal memories attached to sfo airport.
Like you being detained/held up for atleast 5-6 hours by FBI for doing nothing :)