Benefits of NICOP (Merged)

Re: Benefits of NICOP

No no, my first language is screaming ... thats what I spoke as a kid before I learnt any of the worldly languages.

You are one helluva a joker... you do know that ..right?

kaleem, I think you're lying about the poc card. You should be banned on the charges of misinformation.

^ oh Bite me...

rabies shot lagwa lena

I just applied for NICOP last month. To me, it appears to offer similar benefits as the POC without the $100 damage (NICOP is $15). Its my understanding from our paDosee that you can travel on faraan passport with NICOP.

p.s. hi everyone..

ghalib yaaaaaaaar kahan mara hua hai., pm me your new number. missed seeing you around.

Yo ghalib, how’s everything man?

But according to embassy site:

:confused:

I think originally POC was intended for ex-Pakistani nationals (or kids of Pak nationals) to allow them visa free entry to Pakistan. And NICOP was only for Pakistani passport holders (to replace the peela ID card).

I have heard that these days they are just issuing NICOP for both. Thats why it says on NICOP that "you are allowed visa-free entry to Pakistan" which makes no sense if NICOP is issued only to Pakistani passport holders.

ps. POC used to be much more expensive than NICOP (on the assumption, I suppose, that with a foreign passport you also get a pot load of extra dough to give to Government of Pakistan)

ps2. You can vote for Musharraf only if you are a Pakistani citizen (or dual citizen). Though, who will vote for Musharraf in the current situation is beyond me, but thats a separate discussion.

who will? maybe someone who will look at the other candidates and decide against brining change for the sake of change :) change is not always good..I mean if you touched a flame two times and each time u got burnt, what makes u think that the third time it will not burn, unless teh burns have killed the nerves ..

Yeah, well... that was just a flamer. I am too tired of seeing the carnage for the last few days on GEO; and to be honest am not feeling too charitable towards either Mushy or the CJ now. Alternatives be damned! All of them can go to hell, for all I care.

^ do what I do. No TV, no news for two weeks. otherwise I’ll doing altaf bhai aur mushraf kee maaN ** **** every two hours. :halo:

I don't watch Pak TV channels, but these days my parents are here, and for whatever reason they have this insatiable desire to keep updated on whats going on in "hamara watan". So every day when I get back home its Geo and the carnage in Karachi. Oh well, I should stop...

I cancellled ary and geo, so no such tension.
these topi dramas have happened before and will continue to happen, na yeh qaum sudhray gi, na fauj, na siyasatdaan, na bori-o-crates...
I have stopped taking this stuff seriously and am just horsing around now. no reason for me to give a damn and get worked up.

The other day they were covering the "khudkush" bomb blast in Peshawar (I think it was Peshawar). Its so heart-wrenching, seeing so many people dead and injured. I'd take the lame US car-chases and celebrity court cases any day over the depression dished out by our Pak channels on a daily basis.

This is so true. I find myself going into small bouts of depression watching pakistani news. It gets worse when I watch dramas, so I really stay from them and focus on news instead.

Back to the topic at hand, embassy has done a piss poor job of explaining whats best for whom. That fact that we're on second page without having a clear answer is another indication of that.

It used to be simple:

POC: For those who do not have Pak passport, but have some connection with Pakistan (parents are Pak nationals or the person has given up Pak citizenship). Allowed visa free entry, right to own property etc. Cost was high, but since you save future visa fees, so kinda worked out nicely.

CNIC: Computerized National ID Card. Replaced the peela card. For people in Pakistan. Picture is usually taken at the government office where the card is made. Minimal cost.

NICOP: Replaced the peela card for overseas Pakistanis. This is for Pak passport-holders. Card is made in Pakistan, so forms and pictures submitted to Pak embassy and then once the card is ready, is mailed to the person. used to take about 4-6 months. Cost is way less than POC. If you don't have it, they will only renew your Pak passport for one year at a time. Big hassle.

I think the source of confusion in this thread are two culprits: ahmedjee bhaijaan and ghalib. They are both inquiring about NICOP while popular belief among ‘khaand’ (or ‘veteran’ for those challenged ones) guppies is that they are both US citizens. So if they are US citizens then why are they inquiring about NICOP :confused: … unless they have dual nationality (Pak and US).. but I thought US doesn’t allow dual nationality??? :confused:

“As per this ordinance, NADRA has been entrusted with the task of registering the overseas Pakistanis. NICOP, in addition to providing the authenticity of the individual, has additional features at the same time, as the person possessing the NICOP is entitled visa-free entry in Pakistan.”

If NICOP is issued to Pakistani nationals then why mention “visa-free entry” to begin with unless they mean dual nationality holders..but a dual national WILL still hold a Pakistani passport so won’t require any visa to begin with. It doesn’t make any sense why they are have this “visa-free entry” wording here.