Re: Being thin vs being fat
Proud to be skinny…No matter what others say to me ![]()
what is a normal BMI??
At least 18.5 ....
Wow yeah those are some rude comments.
and if u complain to your parents do they tell you to “gain weight”? as if rude comments are your fault?:hinna:
Ok the comments do sound rude and I can imagine it would be hurtful regardless of wether you are under or over wt.
BUT 93 lbs and 5’3"
Hun that is just as dangerous as being overwt. Healthy BMI is 18.5-24.9. You really should try to gain some wt for your own health. To reach the lowest end of the healthy BMI of 18.5 you should be 104lbs.
I know what you mean…when I go back home..I always get comments like that from my aunties or uncles…and then they will comment on the clothes I wear tooo..saying it doesn’t look nice coz am too skinny…once I got so annoyed with one of my uncles, that I just said "Yea..coz you know so much about fashion that you are telling me what I should wear?!
" that shut him up and his sister up for good!
But over here..I always get “You are so TINY”…actually all the comments don’t annoy me as long as they don’t start talking fashion with me. The only thing that annoys me is when people think I am sick..like bulimic!!! Then I get annoyed..coz I eat sooooooo much that when ppl see it for real they are shocked!
But she might be eating properly..but is just unable to gain it. Like me..I am 5’2" and just 83 lbs…and believe me I eat A LOT!!! and I eat everything except fast food, i.e. burgers.
I was long time back the perfect weight for my height…but then I lost it due to stress at one point and since then have been trying to gain it back..and its been more than 6yrs..and still can’t..and it is frustrating sometimes!!!
But she might be eating properly..but is just unable to gain it. Like me..I am 5'2" and just 83 lbs...and believe me I eat A LOT!!!!! and I eat everything except fast food, i.e. burgers.
I was long time back the perfect weight for my height...but then I lost it due to stress at one point and since then have been trying to gain it back..and its been more than 6yrs..and still can't..and it is frustrating sometimes!!!
Oh I never assumed she is starving herself or on a diet. I know very well that some people have a tough time gaining wt just like some have a hard time losing wt. I think if someone is underwt and are unable to gain wt by eating healthy they should seek professional help from a doctor or dietitian.
PS. your wt is even more alarming..its puts your BMI at 15.2. Your wt is 82% of your minimum normal wt and if its below 85% its very concerning.
^I know...my parents have already taken me to docs when I was younger..coz I have always been tiny...but they said that everything is normal with me...but I am planning to get a full check up soon...
Ok that's good. Also, talk to the doctor of how you might be able to increase your wt. It may very well be that for you your wt is safe and doesn't put you at any health risks but speaking to a doctor or dietitian will help you either way. Don't get frustrated though because I have heard of many people who have trouble with gaining wt.
they don’t see the rudeness in it ![]()
well the deal is that i am not anoroxic or ALLAH na karay bulimic. i am just not that in to food. i eat healthy, and enought to full my self when i am hungry. but when i am not hungry i don’t eat, not even junk food.
i tried taking protien sort of powder things that you add in milk, like carnation instant breakfast and tried eating bananans, but i didn’t end up with much luck.
i am not weak by any means, when i used to have a job, i had worked for straight 18 hours without fainting or anything.
MASHALLAH i fast throughout the ramzan, and so far had no issues with unusual weakness even when i have gone to college, worked, and cooked during the fast or anything so i guess i am healthy. but i just don’t have much appitite for food unless i am hungry, and even when i am hungry 1 or 2 rooti is all i can take (sometimes once a day only). i have gone to doctore they tried giving me medicine to bring out my apptitie but it made me so sick that i felt i was better without them. so i quit taking them.
i look fine i guess, i don’t look anoroxic with bones poking out or anything, but i guess other don’t see it that way, and they always make a point to ruin my day with their brainless comments.
no kidding man, i have always been told that a certain dress dosn’t look good on me because it is making me look too think. but what can i do, loose cloths will make me look like i borrowed a dress from someone, if i am buying a dress so expensive i would atleast like to look like it belongs to me with proper fitting.
Okay some people are just built thin - which is fine. Zaroori nahin hai ke sab ek jaise lagein, right?
Do not worry about the comments at all yanzala...focus on being healthy. Sometimes people will force you to change your eating habits and as a result you just end up gaining unnecessary weight.
Watch your diet and make sure you're eating the right things, thats all you need to think about. Your body will adjust to its normal and healthy weight when it gets the nutrients it needs. If you're fat, you will lose weight by following a healthy diet. If you're too thin, you might end up gaining some by doing the same.
As long as you're healthy, feel good about yourself and are doing the right things...who cares what an auntie has to say?
[quote="Reha, post:468, topic:239287"]
Okay some people are just built thin - which is fine. Zaroori nahin hai ke sab ek jaise lagein, right?
Do not worry about the comments at all yanzala...focus on being healthy. Sometimes people will force you to change your eating habits and as a result you just end up gaining unnecessary weight.
Watch your diet and make sure you're eating the right things, thats all you need to think about. Your body will adjust to its normal and healthy weight when it gets the nutrients it needs. If you're fat, you will lose weight by following a healthy diet. If you're too thin, you might end up gaining some by doing the same.
As long as you're healthy, feel good about yourself and are doing the right things*...who cares what an auntie has to say?/*QUOTE]
it shouldn't bother me but it does....well see it goes a lot further than this, i am the darkest skin person out of my entier family. my mom, my sister, my aunts everyone is really gooray, i mean serious white sorta people, and i am very dark. personaly i don't care. but when u hear so many people (including ur own mother) always bringing up the skin color it become very very annoying. so when i was younger it started from, khati peeti nahi hai isi liyeh rang jall gaya. (yeh genetics really have no roles over anything) then it was "beemar lagti hai" (to my mom, random aunties) "aap ki bayti hai?? aap jaisi nahi lagti, aap or chooti wali tu bohat piyaray hain, yeh father pay chali gai ho gi" :/ and now it has all improved to the entire me, my thiness and my complexion all tied in. and after ignoring so many things, there is a point where things really do get to annoy you.
few months ago at my friends wedding (whose complexion is same as mine because we use same foundation shade) my mom was talking to my friends' mom and said, daikhain, ab *insert friends' name here" ka rang bhi yanzala jaisa hai, magar oss ka khilta howa hia, or yanzala ka murjhaya howa, because she is so thin and does eat much :/ now would that bother you or not, and how can u stop your own mother?? i know she doesn't mean bad but at times it bothers me. and physically i just can't bing on eating. i tried being healthy, i don't eat out a lot. i hardly eat junk food. i usually only eat ghar ka pakka howa, i eat ton of salad (because i love salad, NOT because diet issues) and other raw vegies with dressing.
lol, this threat turn out of be more of my venting place than the actual problem i was discussing here. but oh well, u guys are nice, and NOT judging me by my kala rang or thinness so it's all good :D
yanzala .. ig ot an even worse comment n that too form an uncle .. he was like ur gona end up in the hosptal cause of liver damage if u dont start eating .. iv seen anorexic girls like u when i was in the hospital .. n i was like wtf ?! .. n i wasnt that bad i was like 18.6 bmi then
well the deal is that i am not anoroxic or ALLAH na karay bulimic. i am just not that in to food. i eat healthy, and enought to full my self when i am hungry. but when i am not hungry i don't eat, not even junk food. i tried taking protien sort of powder things that you add in milk, like carnation instant breakfast and tried eating bananans, but i didn't end up with much luck. i am not weak by any means, when i used to have a job, i had worked for straight 18 hours without fainting or anything. MASHALLAH i fast throughout the ramzan, and so far had no issues with unusual weakness even when i have gone to college, worked, and cooked during the fast or anything so i guess i am healthy. but i just don't have much appitite for food unless i am hungry, and even when i am hungry 1 or 2 rooti is all i can take (sometimes once a day only). i have gone to doctore they tried giving me medicine to bring out my apptitie but it made me so sick that i felt i was better without them. so i quit taking them. i look fine i guess, i don't look anoroxic with bones poking out or anything, but i guess other don't see it that way, and they always make a point to ruin my day with their brainless comments.
Of course, I am not saying you are anorexic or bulimic because that is a serious psychological disorder. Just stick to eating a well balanced healthy diet. Also, the only thing that I would suggest is try to eat more meals even if they are smaller...instead of just once a day. If you are interested in increasing your appetite you will have to do it slowly and systematically by slowing increasing your food intake. I guess at the end of the day if you feel well that's what matters. Every body is different with different needs. Oh and these type of aunties will always have something to say about everyone don't let them get to you.
it shouldn't bother me but it does....well see it goes a lot further than this, i am the darkest skin person out of my entier family. my mom, my sister, my aunts everyone is really gooray, i mean serious white sorta people, and i am very dark. personaly i don't care. but when u hear so many people (including ur own mother) always bringing up the skin color it become very very annoying. so when i was younger it started from, khati peeti nahi hai isi liyeh rang jall gaya. (yeh genetics really have no roles over anything) then it was "beemar lagti hai" (to my mom, random aunties) "aap ki bayti hai?? aap jaisi nahi lagti, aap or chooti wali tu bohat piyaray hain, yeh father pay chali gai ho gi" :/ and now it has all improved to the entire me, my thiness and my complexion all tied in. and after ignoring so many things, there is a point where things really do get to annoy you. few months ago at my friends wedding (whose complexion is same as mine because we use same foundation shade) my mom was talking to my friends' mom and said, daikhain, ab *insert friends' name here" ka rang bhi yanzala jaisa hai, magar oss ka khilta howa hia, or yanzala ka murjhaya howa, because she is so thin and does eat much :/ now would that bother you or not, and how can u stop your own mother?? i know she doesn't mean bad but at times it bothers me. and physically i just can't bing on eating. i tried being healthy, i don't eat out a lot. i hardly eat junk food. i usually only eat ghar ka pakka howa, i eat ton of salad (because i love salad, NOT because diet issues) and other raw vegies with dressing.
lol, this threat turn out of be more of my venting place than the actual problem i was discussing here. but oh well, u guys are nice, and NOT judging me by my kala rang or thinness so it's all good :D
I know someone who kind of went through the same thing with reference to her skin tone. And by the way, I am also the darkest in my family. I am not kaali but not gori either. I am what people call sanwali and I love it.
Listen, people need a reason to say things and give fuzool ki advice. In one ear and out the other. Every time someone gives me an unnecessary mashwaray...I think about all the good things I have going for me. Once I start counting them...I stop caring about what others say to me.
Also, if I know its something I should be focusing on, I listen but dont let myself dwell on the negative aspects of it.
Itsa none of people's business whether you are fat or thin. I agree with you 100%. When people comment about my weight,I tell them off.