Being selfish?

I have a friend who’s the same age as myself. I’ve known her since I was 8 years old. About a year ago we talking on the phone and she startin gtelling me about a male friend who is having problems with his marriage. She’s known him for about 5 years. They were in school together. Apparently he used to like her at time same time he had 4 girlfriends. They were only 18. Somehting happened and all of a sudden she had to go to America. She had no idea whether she would come back. She told me that one of her friends really liked him ( he must’ve liked the other girl too). My friend returned from America to find out that the guy was married to her friend.

I know this sounds filmi but it’s real. The girl’s parents were not happy with the marriage as the couple were too young. They got married when they were 19 years old. The wife moved to England to study law as per her parents wish. Larkay ki to Eid hogayi. He went around doing whatever he wanted to do. My friend used to talk to him all the time. When I found out I wasn’t very happy because any wife would never want her husband to be flirting or talking to other girls. I told my friend that wasn’t fair on his wife and whether she knows? She was like " yeh ofcourse she knows. I have her permission". Maybe the wife was too sweet to say no?or maybe she trusted my friend since they were good friends?

Around JUne 2008 I got a phone call and the guy was on the line too. I was really mad at my friend but didn’t say anything to her infront of him. She was like “MKD, Asad ( made up name) wants to divorve his wife. Isko samjhao”.

me: Listen he is old enough to know what he is doing. I think he needs to communicate with her. How would she know what’s going on?"

The guy was so stupid he was like woh wahan ja kar beth gayi hai. Main yahan hon. Ham har waqt lartay rehte hain. Dude why were u dying to get married at the age of 19? Couldn’t you have waited? Agar usay divorce denahai to mehrbani ker ke ainda kabhi shadi na karna aur agar ki then wait till you’re in your 30s. It’s going to take you alot of time to grow up ( mentally).

I bet he thought I was crazy. Part of me felt maybe my friend is leading him on and the reason why he wants to divorce her is because he thinks. She would marry him.

I visited her in the Summers and I found out a lot of things that made me loose all the respect I had for her. Her older sister told me that larkay larki ne bhag ker shadi ki thi this is why his wife’s parents weren’t happy. Secondly, my friend had met up with him twice while he was married. Thirdly, his wife came over to my friend’s house in tears. This is what happened:

Wife: Tina ( my friend, not her actual name) he’s divorcing me * bursts out crying* I really don’t want a divorce tumhain pata hai humne bhag ker shdi ki thi. Main sari zindagi kisi ke tanay nahin suna chahti. Tina mujhe ek chise batao main uski biwi hon uske inbox main mera ek bhi message saved nahin hota. Tumhare kyun hotay hain wahan?

Tina acted as if she had no idea he was intending on divorcing her.

She knew all the way that he was going to divorce her. Infact he came to see Tina at her workplace with a bunch of flowers. Which she accepted ofcourse. The surprising thing was Tina is a hijabi, offers all her prayers and is always talking about Islam and Allah swt naraz ho jatay hainh yeh nahin kerna chahyea woh nahi. Khud kia kerdeya?

He divorced his wife. I was really mad at my friend so I confronted her about this. I told her how it was all her fault. She is no one to be interfering in someone else’s marraied life. If tehy have probs, they should’ve sorted them out amongst themselves. " Are you going to marry him now since tumhari wajah se divorce howa?"

Response: MKD aise larkon e insan shdi nahin kerta. Kal wo kisi aur keh peche bhagay ga.

How can you be so religious and do this at the same time? Kal ko isay bhi us larki ki bad dua lagay gi ( I told her that too). Tab samajh ayai gi keh khud kahan ghaltian kein thein.

You liked someone at one stage of your life. They liked you too. Once they’re married move on. Since then we haven’t really spoken to eachother. She lies to me. She made the girl seem to be the person in the wrong. As when I asked her itni jaldi kyun inhon ne sh\adi ki she told me " larki ke parents ko jaldi hogi shayad". It was always the larki’s fault. Why? Oh and she wanted me to go long to meet Asad. Ofcourse being the bad friend I am. I refused to go and be part of anyone’s bad duas. Tab Allah swt naraz nahin howay jab ek shadi shuda larkay ko milnay ja rahi thi? :hmmm:

Another thing I forgot to mention. Apparently he told her agar kabhi tumhara husband bura nikla ( when she gets married) i’ll be there for you. Tum beshak usay divorce ker ke mujh se shadi ker lena. WTH man! Marry him now.

Re: Being selfish?

Tina is ure friend?
wears hijab and talks religion all the time
met up wtih her married friend
saw her married frend's friend in tears

and now she says she wont marry him cz he can go after any other girl?

ill let someone else make hte conclusions

but who are u asking is selfish? u? or tina?

Wow. Honestly, nothing surprises me anymore. The guy was a jerk/player from the get go ... but your friend Tina ... wow. We can only pray that Allah is watching and she's going to have to answer for what she did.

In your friend's case, she wasn't religious. She had no true imaan in her heart, cause if she did, she would have some fear of Allah mian and stayed away from a married man ... Yes, she's extremely selfish. Not just selfish, but irresponsible and reckless as well. She lacks compassion. I hope you flush her down the toilet and never speak to her again.

i have seen gurls doing the stupiest of the stupidest things wen they start talking to guys over the fone for long hours.

Moral: Dont talk to any guy over the fone for more than 10mins!

Sara:
Bles sara you're so naive lol
yes she's my friend.

Mehnaz: Flushing her down the toilet isn't very sensible :( I just hope she doesn't do anyting stupid again.

Part of me still thinks she may be 21 but has the mind of a 16 year old

I didn’t mean it literally. :no:

tum larkian soochti bohat ziada ho

awwww I know :slight_smile:

True :hmmm:

wow! she's a home wrecker and can sleep soundly at night!those type of people u can only leave in allah's hands, we cant do nothing. I think she probably enjoyed the attention she was getting from him whilst her not having to commit. Especially since she was a hijabi, she probably felt like she cud have him on the side without engaging in anything haram, i knew a girl like that once and thts what i concluded from her behaviour!

WOW titli! Messed up.

I hate girls like this...this is why I make sure I dont minge closely with too many people.

You should have a small group of friends that you can trust with your life, anyone aside from them is just an acquaintance...to you AND your HUSBAND.

Why was he still in touch with all these females after marriage? I dont understand how she was able to cope with that? That is where it started.

Wow!! This reminds me of a female friend my husband had before he got married to me. She was also like that.... hijabi, namazi, etc. or at least she used to portray herself like that, and she continued talking to him over the phone after we got married. Allah ka shukar hai mein nay bol bol kar baat khatam karaa dee, I told him clearly that I will not tolerate these kind of "phone friendhsips" with a female, since I was not a naive 19 yrs old.

Aisi larkiyon sai Allah hee bachaayay.

And I agree with lady_lama here .... she's hit the nail right on the head, your friend was probably getting enough emotional drama/attention/gupshup to be happy, without engaging in something physical (Haram).

I would recommed staying away from her...... apni dosti par fateha parh lo.

agreeeeeeeed!!!

hmmm my fiance says the EXACT same thing lol.

Your so called friend disgusts me!!

She was a lot more than just selfish, she was insecure, jealous, wicked, devilish & yes... she was definitely not religious!!

Some women just can't be happy in others' happiness!!!

She will be answerable to the poor divorced girl & the guy too... She will pay for this sinful act....!!

What a disturbing story. If Bollywood every runs out of angles for movies on infidelity.....your friend's story might come in handy.

MKD, they're BOTH **twisted...Tina AND the guy. Sometimes women put ALL the blame on the woman. But they forget that the "other woman" is NOT the one who is in a committed relationship. The "other woman" is NOT the one who took marriage vows or signed the nikkah contract. Sure, men will face temptations all the time. There are attractive women in the family, on the streets, in the workplace, in magazines, on the television. But a married man who values his committment **WILL NEVER give into temptation........no matter how much a BAYSHARAM woman tempts him/flirts with him. That's the difference here. You can tempt someone by placing a bottle of alcohol in front of them....or by taking them to a risky environment such a club.....but in the end, it's the individual's decision to control him/herself.

Is Tina guilty? Sure she is. But in my opinion, the greater amount of guilt lies with the husband. WHY? Because since he is married....therefore he has the GREATER RESPONSIBILITY in honoring that committment and controlling his desires...................compared to Tina who is not bound to anyone and has a bit more freedom.

In Islam, it's not recommended for couples to be apart from each other for long periods of time becuase it increases the chance of straying. The wife went abroad to seek an education............which is very commendable of her, but it leaves the husband free to do whatever he wants. And it seems like the LOSER didn't have strength of character to begin with.

Shame on Tina for even wanting to befriend such a guy. IF she was awar of his reputation from the very beginning.........IF she knew that he had ALWAYS been a player with four girlfriends at a time.......why not use your head and be on your guard about such a guy? Why did he get married at 19? Let me guess. A guy who has four girlfriends at a time.......prorbably couldn't control his sexual urges........and decided to get married at 19 so he can fulfill that physical need of his........although he lacked the maturity to handle a marriage. I wouldn't be surprised if that's what happened.

IF Tina can so nonchalantly say, "Aisay larkay se kaun shadi karay ga".........phir aisay larkay se dosti bhi nahin karni chahiye. Maybe Tina feels guilty or ashamed of continuing a friendship with him..........so now she's trying to justifiy her actions by blaming the guy and ending the friendship with him. And while she was talking to the guy........she tried to justify her actions by putting all the blame on the wife. **OR IT'S ALSO POSSIBLE **that the GUY told Tina bad things about his wife to justify his straying and Tina believed him that it was all the wife's fault.

MKD, you mentioned that the guy used to like Tina and she used to like him. Do you think it's possible that Tina felt jealous that the guy picked another woman over HER. And then out of jealousy and some twisted grudge at the fact that she was not selected............Tina tried to separate her former crush from his wife out of a secret or subconscious spite. What do you think? Do you think she played this game to pay him back for not being sincere to her in the past. After all......he did have four girlfriends at a time and had committment issues from the beginning. Maybe this hurt Tina.....and she wanted to hurt him back? Or perhaps none of this was premeditated and Tina just stupidly got involved in something that went out of control.

IN THE END..........what goes around always comes around. Maybe Tina will get married to a guy who will also cheat on her. You never know.

One thing I'm learning, **MKD, **is that wearing hijab and praying 5 times a day are not the sole indicators of good character. There are all kinds of people out there.

:p:

i agree with redvelvet (as always)

skanks

the world wouldn't be worth gossip-ing about without them.

first of all mkd i dont disagree with the POV, but specifically highlighting her hijab part, is quite icky. because you can never tell that whether her parents made her wear it or is she wearing it cuz she really enthusiastic about it. same goes for the namaz. some people just have the habit of praying.

whereas hijab is somethign to present modesty, and namaz is a way of connecting one selves with ALLAH SWT. so are you complaining that you are not modest, or you have no connection whatsoever with ALLAH SWT?

there is no argument that tina's role in this entire saga is vital. if she wanted she could have had made asad to change his decision.

but then we also cant neglect the aspect that may be she liked asad, and when asad married this girl she planned all this thing out.