Being Neglected............

Ok here goes, am i being childish, stupid or khud garz.

What happens when you have lived in an abusive household for the past 20 years your parents fighting it out day and night. Your father although mainly verbally abusive has been known to raise his hand in the past and after certain incidents over years, you have enough and you grab your mom and move out. Your mom has never had the courage to move out because she had no where to go and living in a foreign land she was never allowed or motivated to learn the language or learn how to drive or how to be self sufficient. Your mother has been sufferring from severe depression all her life and when you move out you just want things to be different. You cut ties with you dad as you have seen what he is capable of and he has remarried.
Since you are an only child it is up to you to be the breadwinner, that is fine but your mother has always had the wish for you to finish your education so you do that alongside failing a subject each semmester as work also plays a big part of your life. All this time mom is at home and you think things are looking up. You receive almost no support financially let alone emotionally from your moms relos. But they think they are above you. To make your mom happy you make good amends with them and try to get along with them and all is good. During this time you get good proposals but your mom turns them down as they are not good looking enough or not of a suitable standard you are happy with that as you have delegated that type of authority to your mom. You are inseparable and you devote your time and life to your mom. Then when it comes time to get married your mom settles for the first guy she meets although you know that he is not your type and the only reason your mom is saying yes is so she can please her family. You like to see your mom happy and her relos make her happy so you are content with that. its a stressful time for your mom as she is the on making the decision for you but after your nikah she advises you she never liked your husband and she just didn’t have the guts to stand up to her family as she was living in there house for 2 months and she had asked them to organise everything. You feeling numb come back abroad and confused. You have the option to get a divorce as you find that your husband and you don’t have compatibility and the only reason your inlaws wanted you was because they thought that their son could go overseas. Your husband although is not even close to what you imagined is a nice dude. Now all your mom says is that ‘ankho pai pati pur ghi thi’. You are in a position where you cannot side with your mom or your husband. If you side with your mom you are being a bad wife and if you side with your husband and he leaves you once he gets his visa you go back to your mom. So after all this you think thats fine i mean mom stuffed up but so do other peoples parents and it up to me to make this work. So your mom knows that you are not happy and tells you that its ok if you don’t want to go ahead with this but to maintain her and her families honour you say its ok. You feel hurt that your mom put her family above you but you say no probs. Now that your wedding is approaching your mom doesn’t like your in laws or your hubby and is even more depressed. You think cause mom has done you wrong she will make up for it by throwing you a massive wedding but …no she is to depressed…all she does is cry about missing her dead parents. All these years you have seen your cousins getting married and thought that when your time will come your mom will do the same for you. Now that my time has come mom is depressed and all she says is that she made a mistake about choosing my hubby. I have accepted my hubby as i know there is nothing that can be done but what can i do about my mum espacially when she is going to be living with me when we are married and i know that she does not like my hubby ans she was pushed into this by tring to make her family happy and i said yes trying to make her happy.
I thought my wedding would be time where we could forget our past and celebrate happiness and since beinga only child its the only time that my mom can be the mother of the bride/groom. I wanna start doing dholki etc and my mom wants to cry. You try and talk to her but it make her more upset, so do you just get married quietly or do you make noise.

Is this asking for too much.
Am i just a spoilt cow

Re: Being Neglected............

WHy dont u dump the husband!!
Believe me its easier now to dump him, before hte wedding, than to live a miserable life!
If your mom is saying something, then listen to her, dont let idiot relatives ruin your life...

hmm its not relos fault they asked mom they said yes in order to make them happy, they asked me i said yes to make mom happy now the issue is not whether i want marry hubby its more should i get married quietly or do i deserve more than that even though my mom is too depressed to join in or give her opinion.

Your mom is the spoiled cow here... point.

Re: Being Neglected…

AoA Zash,

really sad story, but Alhumdulillah it is so nice to see how you have managed to be there 4 ur Mum is every sense and word. Inshallah Allah SWT will reward you greatly for that… your jannat is under your Mum’s feet!

And no; u r not being selfish… jis ne apni maa ke liye itna kiya ho woh kabhi selfish nahi kehla’e ga!

I am not going to say what you shud do with regards to staying with your hubby or Mum. Aam tour pai, divorce is not an option, and youv’e already decided on that.

The only thing I could say is this (and i may be wrong); sit with your Mum when you see she is in a relatively ok mood, tell her your desires of having a happy wedding, and that there cant be any joy in your life as long as there are tears in your mothers eyes… tell her that inshallah this will be a new beginning for all of u, and that we should start it on a happy note. I’m not asking u to carry out some sort of emotional blackmail, just tell her whats in ur heart so that she sees how much this means to u. I know depression is sometimes uncontrollable, especially if a person has been suffering from it 4 a really long time, but perhaps u could give her some of these duas to read;

http://alhudapk.com/reading-material/

(plz note, the dua u need is in the “dua” section in the website above)

Also, you shud do make a lot of dua to Allah SWT… pray namaz-e-haajat (prayer in times of stress), pray tahajjut, but just do tonnes and tonnes of dua (especially when u r in a state of sajda)… ask Allah SWT to relieve your pains and to cure your mother and to make your husband a source of delight to you both in this world and the next, inshallah.

But if your Mum doesn’t change… i am not going to tell u what to/ to not do. All I’ll say is that I would personallu do whatever i had to do to please my mother.

I pray to Allah SWT to ease your worries, to fill your mothers & your life with happiness, sakoon, and to guide your father to the right path, Amin.

Once again, u r not being childish/ selfsih at all… ur’e just being human (actually above most i know who r too worried about pleasing themselves instead of pleasing their parents)… i look up to u a lot!

^ i agree with pinks , i mean if u like ur husband there shud be no problem as you are the one that will spend the rest of your life with him. not your mum not your relatives . i think you have every right to a big wedding . talk to ur mum im sure she will understand.

You admit it yourself that your mom is depressed, meaning she is in no condition to take this kind of decisions. You have acted very bravely so far. Do what your own instincts and reasoning tells you to do. As Sarah pointed out its far easy to get out of this now than later. Looking for your hapiness is not selfish.

Half way through your story, it sounded as if you were already married and your husband is not half the nice guy you thought he was. But then all of a sudden, you are still awaiting your wedding with your depressed mom.

Anyway, I will be very succinct with my advice.

Its time to have a few words with your mom before its too late. Get your life back together. You have made some good decisions for your mom in the past and I am sure you can do it again. This time around, it will be more for yourself and indirectly for your mom since she is not happy anyway. She was unable to make the decision in the past living with your abusive dad. She will be unable to make a decision now, not the right one anyway. The burden, I am afraid, is on your shoulder. Pleasing her family comes next after your own self happiness.

hey zash! brave 2 u girl for standing by yr mom and at times sacrificing yr wishes for her...u r a strong girl but there r times when u have 2 stand up for yrself...in yr case if u dun stand up for yrself u wont be doing that only forself but yr mom 2 cuz she is gonna be indirectly involved 2...i dun know wat happens 2 our parents when it comes 2 rishta...they get blindfolded...or go for something they know is nt gonna be rite for their family...it irritates me when they have been thru all know it all still go 4 somethin like that....newayz i guess u r nt questioning whether u shud go ahead with this marriage or not so i wont talk abt that...but i hope u made that decision not only 4 the sake of yr mom's happiness cuz u shud know at the end of the day if god forbid u r nt happy she aint gonna be happy either...newayz ......ofcourse i can understand as a normal human being u wud likd yr wedding 2 be memorable n all so u shud make it fun....do all dat yr heart desires...yr mom shud understand if not than make her...lol no seriously if u can do all dat for her (which i m nt sayin kay is yr ehsaan but yr faraz but still...) she can be there 2 share yr happiness 2...i hope u so much of good times...n dont keep in yr mind that oh my mom doesnt like teh guy so they r neva gonna be fine with each other....give it a good start...n who knows they mite actually like each other...keep faith....n alll the best wishes 2 u for now n alwayz!!!!!

It sucks that you always end up being the victim. Somehow it always comes down on you, and that’s not fair. I don’t know sab parh ker bohat bura lagraha hai. Depression kills your ability to make rational decisions about anything. At thist point, only you can help yourself. I have repeatedly been reminded that only I KNOW BEST for myself. You should follow your heart and no one else should decide your life ahead. :slight_smile:

GOOD LUCK :sheen:

your mom expects too much from you . and you can never fulfill everyone's expectations always. secondly relatives only add fuel to the fire . they can criticize , make a fuss of even the good and make your life more than miserable .
your dad does not care much as you have , somehow , disrespected(argued with) him.
now , it all upto you . if you are not interested in that guy , and feel that he is not a good option , move on , find another , but without your relatives help. one thing more help your mom to stay away from such relatives

GOOD LUCK

say no now ..before a yes later on ruins everything for you!!!

The only thing you should be concerned about is wheather you WANT to marry this person. Everything else including the wedding ceremony, your mother and your relos should be a secondary thought. The wedding will only last a day, but marriage is a lifetime committment which is a far more important thing to consider at this point.

its hard to fulfill everyones expectations…and thn get nothing..or not hv ur expectations b fulfilled

err:confused:

:frowning:

I am a little confused by your post. Do you like this guy, or is he taking advantage of you to get a greencard/passport, etc? If he is, then now is the ideal time to get out of this engagement, especially since your mom is no longer pressuring you into it.

Your mom was in an abusive situation, and needs counseling to help her work through the sense of victimization and inadequacy she has from her marriage to your father. If you live in the west then I strongy urge you to make sure that she receives help. There are many muslim counselors available if she does not feel comfortable going to a non-muslim.

Your mom is clinging to you because she feels that she doesn't have anyone else, and regardless of whether the guy is good or a creep, she is probably afraid that she will lose you when you marry.

There is a difference between respecting your mom, and giving her the obedience required by Islam, and the blind devotion that you are showing her now. She desperately needs help, but she also needs to learn that she has value as a person separately from you.

[quote="amana, post:39, topic:171012"]

I am a little confused by your post. Do you like this guy, or is he taking advantage of you to get a greencard/passport, etc? If he is, then now is the ideal time to get out of this engagement, especially since your mom is no longer pressuring you into it.

At first i hated this guy just to the fact that i was promised all these things and he wasn't anything like what iwas told he was .Then he seemed weird but i guess if two people who have grown up not just in different countries but different families differences are bound to happen. Lol gosh i wish i knew that if he was doing it for the greencard/passport it would make my decision easier. But i know in my heart that he is a good person and that i am just trying to make excuses to get out of it as I had expected him to be of a totally different character.

Your mom was in an abusive situation, and needs counseling to help her work through the sense of victimization and inadequacy she has from her marriage to your father. If you live in the west then I strongy urge you to make sure that she receives help. There are many muslim counselors available if she does not feel comfortable going to a non-muslim.

I guess i did not want to send my mom into the workforce cause i know how hard it is and i have seen her struggling throughout her life and i did not want her to struggle in a environment that she was totally not comfortable with. And her coming from a background where you keep your dirty laundry to yourself it would be totally difficult for her to open up. If i did get her to go there would be that language barrier.

I guess the best thing i can do is to pray for her myself and our future.

aww I think it's quite sad that you seem to be doing so much for ur mum yet she still seems to ost in her own world, maybe u need to sit down with her and tell her what her behaviuor is doing to u