what is it all about? in the US, american brides have their wedding and then they are old news… how is it different for Paki brides?
is there a certain way a new dulhan acts? how long is she “new”? how should she present herself? should she be more made up/dressed up at functions than other girls that weren’t recently married? anything else you want to tell about it will be nice too!
also, my husband’s brother is getting married in 3.5 weeks iA- it’ll be the first time i’m seeing my distant in-laws since my wedding this past summer- am i still expected to look “bride-like” for that? i’ve heard of some desi brides wear their shadi jora for the next family wedding- what’s the story with that? i won’t be doing that, but just wondered if it has something to do with how a new bride should look
I don't think there are any hard set rules for this type of thing, take your cues from whatever is done in your husband's family. I wore my shaadi ka jora to a wedding of a close family friend who got married 4 months after I did, because the women in my family said to.... (I live in the US)
Typically, a "new" bride will be dressed up a little more...but again, just ask your MIL what's expected/appreciated...can't go wrong with that!
Good luck, I'm sure you'll look beautiful no matter what!
Yeah the best thing would be to consult with your husband/his mum maybe a sister in law if you have one? Usually a new bride is expected to dress up more/wear more make up but it all depends on own preferences
I have been married 10 months today (YEAH! MashAllah) and I still consider myself a "new dulhan" LOL...even though my husband likes to tell me that I am old news now. But since my husband and I live in a different city from our parents, and only see them once a month, I still dress up like a new bride when there are parties, cause people hardly get to see me.
I dont act any different, I just dress up a little more (wear my gold - not all of it, but medium sets and kharay and choorian) and wear fancy clothes - less than formal, more than party-wear. I also wear a little more makeup - like usually I dont wear eyeshadow and lipstick, but at parties I do.
Once someone told me that you are considered a "new bride" until you have kids! So live it up!
As for the wedding, I might wear my wedding outfits to a family wedding, but probably at the mehndi, not at the wedding/valima. Otherwise when are you going to get to wear your wedding outfits again?
Nice thread i also wanna knw. how to keep myself maintain? wt do u do on daily basis? mean yah u hv made some semi formal. u changes it daily or 1 dress for 2 days......
light make up, gold jewlery but light , funky shoes, must be for at least 2 months. but thinkng abut changing te dress. may be sound odd. but wanna knw. any help?