beer == sharaab ???

I have a serious question. Many Pakistani (muslim) brothers that i drink with only drink beer, claiming “beer to sharaab nahiñ hoti”

Now I know for a fact that beer == sharaab by the intensity of the hangovers I get.

My question is, what does this mmisconception arise from? Is it just a way for these people to assuage their conscience?

The latter…justification for comitting “haraam”.

That’s why I drink only light beer

Agar beer sharaab nahi hoti, tou phir kiya hoti hai

aur sharaab ko phir kiya kehtay hain.
Liqors with different concentration of alcohol have different names.
12 ounces of beer = 5 ounces of wine = 1.5 ounces of whiskey. (all are 86 proof liqor)
All have equal amount of alcohol.
Alcohol is completely forbidden in Islam, as everyone knows, even in minute quantity.

[This message has been edited by K-2 (edited March 30, 2001).]

Please, I know that... I'll repeat myself:

My question is, what does this
misconception arise from?

It's not a misconception, it's just an excuse!

I've also heard the excuse on quite a few occassions and one of the reasons given is that it's just fermented barley water, which supposedly doesn't make it alcoholic. But, in a way I can understand that justification because you also get 0% alcohol beer, which is obviously perfectly halaal if it has absolutely no alcohol content.

Root beer has no alcohol. Tell me why it is haraam?

root beer is an inspired bit of haraam categorisation. It tastes so foul!

My question is, what does this
misconception arise from? **

stupidity?

It seems some muslim are no longer intrested in wheather something is haram or not, but more with looking for justification i.e excuses. maybe these muslims should look at them and around them, and see if they believe in the islamic aqeeddah (from which an system emante to solve all of life affairs) RATIONALLY AND COMPREHENSIVELY or through some other way i.e blind belief,because may parents say so,because my freinds are muslim,because it is the relgion of my country etc???????????????????