BedSharing

We’re currently stressing about madam’s sleep style, and would love to hear more about how you and your child sleep, and have slept in the past. Here’s “Blossom’s” approach. What are your thoughts?

Mayim Bialik: Why we let our children sleep in our bed
*Two kids, no cribs… no problem? Sharing a bed with your kids isn’t the norm in the U.S., but former “Blossom” actress Mayim Bialik explains how it works for her family – and why she doesn’t think it’s so weird.
By Mayim Bialik, Ph.D., TODAY Moms contributor

We sleep with our two kids. They are 5 and 2, and I have never owned a crib or a bassinet. Our family bed consists of two futons on the floor side by side: one with black sheets, the other adorned with knights, castles and dragons. We don’t co-sleep, which means sleeping in the same room; we sleep in the same bed. That’s called bed-sharing.

I know some of you think it’s unsafe. I know some of you think it’s unhealthy. I know some of you think my spoiled, coddled kids will never outgrow it. And let’s just be brutally honest: I know you think it’s weird.

Unsafe. Sleeping with your children is not unsafe. It’s actually really safe and really smart: you know the condition of your child at any time at an arm’s length. There are well-established guidelines for how to sleep safely with your baby. When you sleep with your baby, you know if they are coughing, congested, starting to fuss, or if they’re too cold or too hot. A mother’s body is designed to adjust to help her newborn achieve optimal body temperature; talk about smart! Rolling onto a baby is an exaggerated fear that is not based on any research. It is not hard to make a bed safe for a baby. Either put it on the floor or get a bed rail to keep your little one from rolling out. So it looks ugly? Sorry. So does my tummy after two kids.

Unhealthy. Sleeping with your baby facilitates easier and less stressful breast-feeding, which is the healthiest thing you can do for your child in the first year of life. Sleeping with your baby stimulates hormones that encourage bonding, reduce anxiety and depression, and increase the chances that you will establish a strong supply of breast milk. The vigilance a new mother has for her baby is programmed into our DNA. Mammals sleep with other mammals; we are supposed to do it. You don’t sleep alone, why should babies and children?

Outgrowing it. Do you know any 18-year-olds sleeping with their parents? Nursing? Using a pacifier? Wearing a diaper? I didn’t think so. Early dependence on our parents for comfort, warmth, safety, and love at night, as well as in the day, is natural and normal. Children outgrow the “need” when they are developmentally ready to do so. There is no evidence that children who sleep with their parents are whiny, clingy, spoiled, or less able to become productive, sensitive and caring adults. On the contrary, families who sleep together report feelings of security, closeness and trust that I think our society could use more of.

Weird. There is nothing inherently weird or wrong about sleeping with your children. It feels good to cuddle, doesn’t it? Babies and kids think so, too. It’s NORMAL. Worried about your fantastic sex life taking a hit? Find other places to have sex besides your bed. End of story. If your kid kicks, get a bed attachment like the Arm’s Reach co-sleeper. If you are such a light sleeper that you feel homicidal every morning, I am not going to tell you that you have to sleep with your kid. Do I sleep as well with my kids in our bed as I would without? No. But it will be over soon, and it’s not weird to want to be close to your children when their physiological and psychological development dictates that they need to be held close.

The Lowdown. We used to have one futon for me, my husband and baby No. 1. Then I got pregnant and we added the “big brother” futon where my husband and the soon-to-be “big brother” started sleeping. Invariably, when baby No. 2 arrived, I slept with both boys. The family bed is the great unifier: It’s the place we are all equal. Even when our first son’s role in the family shifted because of the newborn, when the sun went down, we were all equal in our one big bed. These days (and nights), my husband sleeps in the knights and castles bed with our older son, and I sleep with our younger son. A few nights a week, our older son bounces over to “my bed” and returns to my husband for morning cuddles as I nurse our younger son into the new day.

The moments we share in the dawn I would not give up for anything: the whispers, the giggles, the just-awakening dreams and musings of a very small person who is happy and safe in my arms. “Mama, I’m going to sleep with you even when I’m a teenager” was whispered to me before my eyes even popped open last week. I simply laughed; little does he know how undesirable that would be for all involved!

The moments we share after we recite the Jewish blessings of nighttime are also precious to us – watching our boys go from awake and fiery to restful and angelic: asleep at last. I find myself gazing at those faces many times a night; a reminder that although my husband and I may not be perfect, the boys who carry our names might just be. And that’s a reminder that gives us comfort – all night long.

Mayim Bialik starred in the early-1990s television show “Blossom” and currently appears on the CBS sitcom “The Big Bang Theory.” She earned a Ph.D. in neuroscience from UCLA in 2007, and wrote her thesis on Prader-Willi syndrome. The spokesperson for the Holistic Moms Network and a certified lactation educator, Bialik is writing a book about attachment parenting, and she has two sons, Miles, 5, and Frederick, 2. She blogs regularly at TODAYMoms.com.

Re: BedSharing

isn't it what nadz was trying to say afterall.

I like her arguments for this arrangment .. but I do know that many many do not believe in bed sharing, so each to their own.

This lady sounds nuts!

Everyone has their own logic and preference and whats works for them... but yes I do have to agree with Saadia, nadz opened a similar thread months ago and I think we discussed this topic so much that there isn't any issue left unaddressed now!

I guess the difference is between what you did/do and what you think is "right." I'm more interested in people sharing what they do.

Also, I think nadz explicitly stated she was talking about keeping baby in the same room -- not in the same bed.

Our now 11 month old sleeps in her crib and has slept there since day 1.Her crib is still in our room and the plan was to move her to her room around her 1st birthday.
I am not sure how she will sleep in the future but I want to encourage her to sleep in her own room and in her bed.That does not mean that she wont be ever allowed in our room or our bed.
My parents raised us 3 sisters in the same way.We were in our parents' room for 1-2 years (but never in the same bed) and then moved to our rooms and we all coped well with it,except for my youngest sister who being the 'baby' sometimes wanted to sleep with ammi abu.They let her.She outgrew of it when she was about 4-5 years old.

I am not sure if there is a right or wrong way to do certain things when it comes to parenting.Like co-sleeping or bed sharing.some might think it is perfectly ok (like the author here) and some might think that the child will be scarred for life.
Some do it just to enjoy and bond with the child while others might have space limitations to put them in a crib or their own room.
So when it comes to this particular issue IMO there is no 'right' or 'wrong'...to each their own..!

Son slept in the bed with me until he was about 6 months. At that point he went into a crib, also in the same room. Now he sleeps in his own bed.

Everybody has their own style of what works and doesn't work for their specific child. There is no right or wrong answer.

i always wanted my son to sleep with us.. something bout making them feel safe subconsciously.

well after the first night i was forced to put him in a basinnet by my bed cuz in the middle of the night i woke up to feed him.. heard muffled cries but couldnt find the lil guy.. turns out i was on top of him! never again. and we have a king size bed.. even then!

he stayed in the basinnet for 6 months and then it was off to his own room cuz daddy would interupt his sleep when he would get up to go to work.... and he has slept alone in his own room since then... both him and us are HAPPY.

My son slept in our bed with us only the 1st night and he kept waking up every 2 hours so we decided to put him in his crib since then. We did sleep in the same room for first 4 months and then moved to our own room but it didn't really affect him. It was important for us that he slept in his crib in his own room and went to bed at an earlier time than we go to bed because we like some time alone either to watch what we want or spend some time as a couple. It's working out great! If he was sleeping in our bed then I think I would have to lie down with him and make him go to sleep before I could do anything else.

my daughter was sleeping in her crib since her birth but she remaineddistrub n cried after every hour my mum asked me 2 shift her in my bed n i did n since then allhumdullah she is sleeping whole night i have 2 make her up 4 her bottle..... i think it depends on kids as well some feel comfortable in the same bed n some not

last week i was talking 2 some aunty n i was just saying that meri beti ko goud ki adat par gai hai woh sotti bhi meray sath he bed mei n she said so what ..... just wait bachay 1 year asay krtay han jab chalna start ho gay tu tum khud tarso gi k woh tumhari goud mei ai

So here's what we're dealing with:

Due to the fact that Bunny is a first baby, first grandchild, had reflux, and was born in winter, she was held often and rocked and cuddled to sleep. She loves to cuddle and be held. When she sleeps, she wants to be pressed up against you. She is now about 14.5 months.

Bunny slept in the bassinet in our room for almost 6 months, until she got WAY too big for it. We had intended to move the crib into our room when she was ready, but it didn't fit through the doorways, so we figured we'd try her in the separate room. We even got a video monitor for our own peace of mind. She slept fine, and would sleep through the night as she had been since she was 3 months (at that point 5-6am wakings were normal and blessings!). She would normally wake up and play a bit before crying out for a feeding.

When she started teething around 7 months and experiencing separation anxiety around 8 months, we had some trouble. She would wake frequently, and we'd coax her back to sleep and put her back down. Sometimes we were successful, sometimes not. Sometimes we'd fall asleep in the chair in her room, while still cradling her in our arms. We'd wake hours later. We had some rough nights where we really didn't get continuous sleep because the minute we tried to put her down she'd cry. So we would just hold her. We even occasionally thought of giving in and putting her in the bed between us, but she wouldn't even settle for that. She wanted to be held. Anyway, she settled back down and started sleeping in her crib again.

Around a year when she caught something and was running fevers we kept her with us until she recovered. And she didn't have too much trouble settling back into the crib. Then she got sick again, we let her sleep with us, and we just haven't been able to get her back into the crib at all. At first she would wake in the middle of the night and after some trying we'd give in and bring her into our room. Now she won't even start out in the crib. The minute we lean down to put her in she wakes up and cries and screams. I have listened to her scream for over an hour without stopping, and I just don't think I can do that regularly. It's either spend the whole night trying to get her to sleep in the crib or bring her into our bed where she falls asleep almost immediately and without any effort on our part.

The way I see it, we've got a few options:
1. Keep trying to get her used to the crib, but don't struggle too much if she insists on sleeping with us. Let her be for now.
2. Give up the crib completely.
3. Let her cry it out and sleep in the crib. Try our best to get her used to it as much as possible.
4. Get her back in the crib, but move the crib into our room so at least she can see she is with us.
5. Make a separate bed on the floor in our room for her. Just pat her back to sleep there if she wakes up and demands to be moved. She'll gradually get used to her own space/bed.
6. Turn her crib into a toddler bed (it's convertible), and join it with our bed, so she feels she is with us, but gradually gets used to her own space. We can then move the toddler away as we like, when we feel she is ready.

I know we created this problem, but I guess it seemed like the right thing to do. And it was either struggle and fight with her then, now, or when she's a little older. BTW her molars seem to be coming in these days, making her more sensitive and clingy, and probably exacerbating the problem.

yay! I had 4 kids alhumdolilah and we bed shared with each one for the 1st year or so In the day time baby slept in a crib so i knew baby was safe as i did my daily chores..
My children are older now and we still cuddle they give me hugs :wub: and I feel we have a stronger bond for it,to date they know if they are afraid or have a nightmare they can jump into our bed…
after a certain age kids want their privacy so they outgrow everything so dont worry and bed share for a good nights sleep

You knowi was one of those people who wanted their baby sleeping in her crib in her nursery. But babies are all wired differently. She would wake up every 2 to 3 hr to nurse. Till I weaned her off at 18 months I barely got any sleep at all. Whenshe turned 1 hubs begged me to live and let live. Instead of forcing her to be in her room we brought her I our bed. Now we are in the transition of our bed to crib in our room next to me so I can hold hher hand while she sleeps. Like the author of the above article we love cuddling with her. Its also inconvenient but this is what works for us. Forget the norms they are not important. What's important is you get decent sleep so you can function the next day.

U have to do what works for u. Its ideal with kids sleeping in their own beds and rooms whilst ma and pa get their own sleep sorted..... But thats now how it goes for everyone. If ure kid is getting her sleep and u ures with bedsharing, leave it be. Atleast for etime dbeing. Or move hercrib next to ure bed and take off the railing so there is nothing between u and her. Go from there.

Its really difficult but like the woman says, how many 18 yr ols are still sleeping with their folks. Hehe

The same happened to us .. my babies HATE HATE their cribs.

As soon as the they were born the midwife would put them on my chest and the first one decided thats the postion she wants to sleep from now on .. maybe (as my MIL tells me .. I have soft skin/body) they must love it.
the early days in the hospital most babies were sleeping in their cribs, mines would be like crying the moment I put her in it, even if she was sleep she would wake up.

so at home I gave up and let my babies sleep in one side of the bed, securing the other side.

I too didnt sleep till I stop nursing u… and to sleep I would have done anything lol..

so do what works for u all ..

now my elder sleeps in her room, when my husband is on business trips, she comes to our bed and me and my two kiddos sleep there .. but yesterday she was snoring so loud .. touba touba .. and as I am preggo I could not pick her up and take her to her room so had a rather disturbed sleep :bummer:

My little one is 15 months and sleeps in my bed, in the middle between hubby and myself. It's sweet and we know she is okay during the night. Sometimes i think it's good because she won't be little forever so we might as we enjoy it...after all isn't that why we had babies in the first place? Sometimes i think what we are doing is wrong as we are encouraging her to form bad habits and she will never be able to sleep alone and i wonder if it's getting in the way of intimacy between hubby and i......then again maybe not as i'm expecting baby number 2!

LOL :D

How cute, I know the feeling .. now my # 2 sleeps in the middle, sometimes she is cuddling with me and sometimes with the hubby .. she decides where. the problem with her sleeping alone is that she takes off the blanket from her and we have to put it on her everytime we notice that she is without it .. but if she is alone in her room, we dont know how this will work. Soon she will have to move as as baby # 3 will be here soon iA .. I am hoping the baby # 3 will be a crib sleeper !

Thank you for the input, everyone.

I guess I'm not willing to accept the bedsharing as our primary system. But we will work more gradually, rather than insist she sleep one way.

We'll try the toddler bed against our bed, and see if we can keep her comfy in that. Then we'll work from there.