Hello All,
Can someone please help me how to get rid of bed-bugs. Its almost 2 years i am facing problem in my rooms specially in bedrooms, fumigated several times, but no heal, please help me if you anyone have “DESI TOTKA” for this.
Thanks
Ladak
Hello All,
Can someone please help me how to get rid of bed-bugs. Its almost 2 years i am facing problem in my rooms specially in bedrooms, fumigated several times, but no heal, please help me if you anyone have “DESI TOTKA” for this.
Thanks
Ladak
Re: BED-BUGS
Ladak, there is no desi totka, first of all let your all luggage out of your room and let them be under the sun directly, open the windows, and windows enter the sunlight directy, thinner ya patrol le ker use aik kapre se pure kamre ke kone main lagaye aur kamre ko vaccum ker de achi tarah se, aur bahir hi rahe, raat ko aye aur aa ker achi tarah se safai kere with dettol dipped mopping and all, achi tarah khushk ker ke apna saman wapis laye jo purana saman hai use bahir hi rakhe coz us mani lazim honge aur wohi phir se raat ko nikal ate hain...
We once got rid of them by washing all the bedsheets in hot water and vacuuming the carpets.
Ladak, i'm moving this thread to Household Affairs, as you may get some good advice over there. :)
Ladak, firstly spread white bedsheets all over your furniture , sofa's and beds ... coz that will lead you to their hiding place ... keep checking the corners of the white sheets , you will notice that they usually hide in certain places , then just fumigate that bit and kill them ... The khatmat leaves behind a red spot ...
Once you get to their nest , controlling others running around becomes easy .. they normally hide in the pillow corners , mattresses , not very deep surfaces ....
Fumigation doesn’t help, nothing kills them… they are a nightmare ![]()
I’ve been through the experience when we were living in an apartment… OMG! It was horrible.
Since DDT is banned here in USA and the houses here are highly flammable, I didn’t dare use Kerosene ![]()
Fortunately they were only in our bedroom so I was able to get rid of them… first of all, I duct taped all power outlets in my bedroom (thats where they usually hide), then I started my cleaning rituals… first bagged everything (linens, clothes, daughter’s stuffed animals, etc.) washed everything in hot water then put in dryer, vaccuumed every day (yes, every freaking day) … checked my mattress, found a nest there, killed them there, then bought a mattress cover that they couldn’t get out of and put that over the mattress to contain any that were left alive. I vacuumed and did laundry every day for 2 weeks… then we had to go to Pakistan and it was December so I left the bedroom windows open for them to freeze to death. When I returned, they were not there anymore ![]()
P.S. They hide in furniture corners, mattresses, in electric outlets and under baseboards, you ahve to hunt and kill them directly and then wait for the eggs to hatch and kill the baby ones before they produce eggs, so you have to be on your toes.
Extreme temperatures and sunlight also kill them.
wowwww wot persistence yar.. m impressed!!
hi ,i know ur pain ... :)
i had them in my apt , and could,nt get rid of em .i moved to another and had em again .
fortunately enough this time v had a an exterminator , he told told me a tip , that if u mop all surfaces with CLOROX , and then cover them in a thick covering , they get suffocated and die . another tip is hair dryer , while keeping ur dryer at highest speed , move it along mattresses and carpets etc . be persistent with these two tips , they go 4 sure .good luck
Ohmigosh, they are a nightmare! We got them in our old house...they BIT me too! I still remember huge welts all over my arms and back...horrible.
We exterminated, sanitized, fumigated, cleaned, cleaned, cleaned, cleaned like mad. We were desperate to get rid of them.
Those are great tips… why didn’t I think of a hair dryer ![]()
But yeah, you HAVE to be persistent… they used to bite me and my then 2 year old daughter and I thought I was going crazy… we explored allergies, changed detergents, went to the doctor… I actually saw one crawling on my daughter’s bed once and that made me realize we had them. It was horrible, I saw welts on my baby’s face… after that I had to hunt them down and kill them all ![]()
**3. You only get bed bugs if you are dirty
This is the greatest of all inaccuracies! You get bed bugs by exposure and coming into contact with a source of them. We treat more properties that are immaculately clean and of the highest standards than we do houses and flats that would benefit from a good deep clean. Increasingly people who extensively travel internationally are becoming more exposed to bed bugs as the global epidemic intensifies. In an ideal world people would understand that there is no more social stigma associated with bedbugs than head lice. They are an exposure pest and not associated with living conditions.
**14. Bed bugs don’t like metal beds - **
Although it is true that metal beds are less hospitable to bed bugs simply replacing all beds with metal ones will not cure a bed bug problem. In some cases because there are not as many obvious hiding places for bed bugs in metal beds they can make the matter worse.
9. Bed bugs can be killed by the cold
Yes they can be killed by extremes of cold and hot but it is unlikely in the UK that outside temperatures will rise or fall enough to effectively kill them. In the USA where heating houses has been attempted, 3 hours at 70°C will only kill about 78% of bed bugs and needs to be an incredibly rapid otherwise they simply adapt. The same goes for extremes of cold - unless you ship your whole house to the Arctic or Siberia it will not get cold enough to kill bed bugs.
6. My neighbour has bedbugs will I get them as well
Transmission from a neighbour is a lot more common than people would believe and the likelihood of you getting infested depends on how they handle the problem. In flats and apartments the risk is greater if the building does not have a sturdy party wall. A few years ago this method of transmission was widely discounted by pest professionals but is now recognised by most people who have experience of dealing with infestations. In worst case scenarios we have seen 10-20 adjoined properties infested by this method in the same street and several floors in apartment buildings and blocks of flats. If you think your neighbour has an issue with bed bugs you should check your bed and living area on a weekly basis to make sure that you detect any bed bug signs at the earliest possible stages.
**1. You can’t see bed bugs **
This is clearly not true, adult bed bugs are easily spotted as they are 3mm - 5mm in size and a reddish brown colour. The recently hatched babies are much harder to see as they are 1mm - 2mm in size but someone who knows what they are looking for will often detect them. This myth started when people got confused between bed bugs and dust mites. They are different species and are handled in completely different ways, what works for dust mites will not necessarily remove bed bugs.