[thumb=H]maldivesflg17338_7701568.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]maldivesmk17338_8652845.JPG[/thumb]
Eid Festival
[thumb=H]women17338_5013353.JPG[/thumb]
[thumb=H]paradise-island-maldives17338_2262534.JPG[/thumb]
Air Maldives
[thumb=H]air17338_6075524.JPG[/thumb]
Beautiful country :k:
Maldives is a small country in southeast asia with 100% muslim population and 100% literacy rate.
Male is the capital and biggest island with area about 3,4 sq km.
Indeed heaven for tourist, and cheap too. I plan to go there. inshallah
Thanks for sharing
Thanks
Maldives: Paradise soon to be lost
By Nick Bryant
BBC correspondent in Maldives
To visit the Maldives is to witness the slow death of a nation.
For as well as being blessed with sun-kissed paradise islands and pale, white sands, this tourist haven is cursed with mounting evidence of an environmental catastrophe.
The country is portrayed by travel companies as a tropical paradise
To the naked eye, the signs of climate change are almost imperceptible, but government scientists fear the sea level is rising up to 0.9cm a year.
Since 80% of its 1,200 islands are no more than 1m above sea level, within 100 years the Maldives could become uninhabitable.
The country’s 360,000 citizens would be forced to evacuate. The Maldives’ survival as a sovereign nation is truly at stake. This minnow of a nation faces a mammoth task.
Country profile
No wonder it was the first country to sign up to the Kyoto Protocol, which sets targets for cuts in industrialised countries’ greenhouse gas emissions.
No wonder that Male, the capital, is surrounded by a 3m-high (9.8ft) wall, which took 14 years to construct at a cost of $63m. Unable to foot the bill themselves, the government happily accepted aid from Japan, which paid for 99% of the cost.
But the wall offers protection for just one of the Maldives’ 200 inhabited islands - and then only against tidal surges rather than the rising sea level, the longer-term threat.
Guide to climate change
In Kandholhudhoo, a densely-populated island in the north of the Maldives, 60% of residents have volunteered to evacuate over the next 15 years - those remaining behind will eventually be compelled to do the same.
Tidal surges flood their homes every fortnight, and recently hammered a 3m (9.8ft) hole in their concrete flood defences.
The country’s fishermen no longer use the “Nakiy”, a centuries-old weather guide based on stellar constellations which climate change has made all but irrelevant.
The weather here is becoming more volatile and less predictable. The alignment of the stars no longer offers much guidance.
Mitigation
The Maldives government is trying to alleviate the worst effects of climate change.
It is encouraging forestation to prevent beach erosion and is backing a plan to clean litter and debris from the country’s coral reefs - a natural barrier against tidal surges which changes to the fragile eco-system have placed in peril.
Environmental science is taught in every school, and given the same importance as writing and arithmetic. All new resorts are subject to a rigorous environmental impact study and developers are allowed to build on only 20% of the islands.
But the efforts are aimed at mitigation rather than prevention.
Moral pressure
As policy-makers in Male are depressingly aware, their ultimate fate lies in the hands of politicians in Delhi, Beijing, Moscow and Washington.
President Gayoom has written to President Bush
In June, the President of the Maldives, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, wrote to the US President George W Bush, in a rather optimistic attempt to persuade him to ratify the Kyoto Protocol. So far he is yet to receive a response.
This minnow of a nation faces a mammoth task - to persuade members of the US government, whether officials in the Bush administration or lawmakers on Capitol Hill, to make long-term decisions from a global perspective, rather than short-term choices based on national self-interest.
The Maldives can exert moral pressure and press its strong scientific case. But not much more.
So come here fast, before it disappears. This is a paradise faced with extinction.
Source BBC
:love:
Its going to be under water....Where will the people go?
^^
Pakistan me le lon unhe. Sirf 3.6 lakhs, bana do ek shehar Maldivabad.
*Originally posted by Arvind: *
^^
Pakistan me le lon unhe. Sirf 3.6 lakhs, bana do ek shehar Maldivabad.
Not a bad idea... Maybe they can teach us how to promote tourism....
^^
Now that you bring it up, tumhara humsaya mulk will be the biggest tourist customer of Pakistan if you manage to to douse your hatred of India and welcome them as tourists. There is crores of rupees not coming to you saalaana due to your enmity with India. Do the math. Who is the loser?
^^
Now that you bring it up, tumhara humsaya mulk will be the biggest tourist customer of Pakistan if you manage to to douse your hatred of India and welcome them as tourists. There is crores of rupees not coming to you saalaana due to your enmity with India. Do the math. Who is the loser?
Ofcourse we must not have enemity with India. We must live as good neighbors.. From India its not about tourists. Neighbors have more rights and in my opinion, Indians have all the more right to come to visit Pakistan.
But be practical,, peace only comes when there are no core issues (Kashmir)between countries. We have different perceptions about it which creates friction. If I discuss this issue, we start to fight even on a discussion board. I can only pray we get over our differences and start a new era of friendship.
^^
So Pakistan is willing to lose crores of rupees of tourist business every year for Kashmir? I think ordinary Pakistani should be allowed to make that decision and not the Pakistani army. But that would happen only when you have democracy in your country.
^^
So Pakistan is willing to lose crores of rupees of tourist business every year for Kashmir? I think ordinary Pakistani should be allowed to make that decision and not the Pakistani army. But that would happen only when you have democracy in your country.
Life is not all about tourism..my dear.....Its about principles and justice.
I am not sure if I understand this correctly. So if US ratifies Kyoto Protocol, what is the assurity that it will stop the rising sea level in Maldives?
In my view, you can delay it but you can't turn back the inevitable. I am sure throughout the history of Earth, many islands have gone under. The world's land mass probably looked very different a thousand years ago. This is part of evolution.
Maldivians should start making plans to relocate to places of their choice. Its tragic, but thats the way it is.
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Life is not all about tourism..my dear.....Its about principles and justice.
Let the ordinary Salim/Jabbar/Omer make that decision. You are assuming that the average Pakistani would be willing to lose thousands of decent-paying non-hi-tech jobs that tourist industry generates. You have a master's degree and good prospects of landing a high paying job in Pakistan. Your stance is probably not shared by your compatriots who do not share your job prospects. It is easy to jump on the high horse of principles at the expense of someone else. You actually do'n need a job right now as your parents are probably supporting you. Let's see you get a job, get married, have a few kids and then lose your job. Let's see how many minutes your idealism lasts then.
Life is all about survival which in your case someone else is guranteeing at the moment so that you can go on posting this nonsense.