The money thirsty BCCI is gettin comical now and these cartoons are saying they will be the producers of all matches played in india and will hand pick the commentators!
Significantly, Modi also said that the BCCI would produce its own telecasts, which includes choosing commentators. Invites would be sent to major production houses shortly. Channels carrying the feed would merely be carriers, and would have to carry the BCCI logo.
“The way we are planning to do this is, in regards to production, we will be going forward and putting out a tender for the BCCI to appoint its own production company to do all production on the behalf of the BCCI going forward,” said Modi. "In other words, BCCI will be the producer of all series played in India on a regular basis. We will make sure we provide a world class feed. We have also decided that, for the first time in global history, we will produce a high-definition feed. It’ll be the best quality feed that has ever been produced by any cricket board anywhere, and for that we will invite the world’s best production companies.
“We will have all the latest gimmicks that Australia or England provide. We will not, in any which way, cut corners in our production. Usually what used to happen is because of a shortage of money or other issues, people used to cut back on value additions in terms of production. All the anchors will be BCCI anchors. They will be hired by the BCCI. We will also produce programs prior and post matches which will be bundled in with our production feed. The BCCI network logo will also be put on the feed. It will be produced in multiple languages. You will have Hindi, English, Tamil, Telegu, Bengali, and as the market demands, we will have more.”
i woild hate to watch when pakistan tours india, incase of n e close decison, there will be no numerous replays, indian praising commentators, n e decision that goes for india will be hailed, extremely boring it will be!
It's actually one of the smartest things done by the BCCI, ever. They are slowly taking away the grip of the game from the Anglos to its natural base of power, which is India. Everybody wants to play India because that's where the money is. What's wrong with them flexing their muscles?
i ve said this on another thread that there is nothing wrong trying to be the ultimate superpower and thats good for them but own production is rediculious!
Some1's point kinda got lost in the melee, that BCCI is technically inept, so to expect them to suddenly come up with world class production is a stretch (HD not withstanding). Having said that, there is nothing wrong with a local cricket board taking ownership of the production feed. However, if local board is appointing commentating teams, then common courtesy requires that both teams should have their separate commentary panels and separate editing facilities.
So assuming India is playing England, the Indian viewers can enjoy Arun Lal, Sanjay Manjrekar and Ravi Shastri, while the feed transmitted to England will have Nasser Hussain, Ian Botham and whichever gora they want. Basic editing is also separate to support the commentating team, so if Botham is talking about the run-up of Harminson, than the UK editor will slo-mo that run-up, while Shastri is heaping praise on Tendulkar's latest chawka with Indian editor showing the boundary. This also allows both sets of commentators to use the screen to point different things (field placing, gaps in the field, marks on the pitch etc). Having two separate teams of commentators makes the game interesting for both sets of supporters who are watching it on the television.
BCCI is acting like a child. When we used to play, CHOTA BHAI of someone used to OWN the cricket bat and used to blackmail us that "mjhey opener bhaijoo warna main ja raha hoon APNA BAT lai ker". That CHOTA BHAI never used to listen to anyone. Sarey players eik taraf hotey theey aur wo CHOTA bhai eik taraf. CHOTA BHAI even used to ask for right things in wrong way (by black mailing). He used to think that there will be no game ager wo BAT lai ker chala gaya tu and rightly so, we did not play cricket for 2 days once he WALKED OUT WITH HIS BAT but after 2 days we purchased 2 new BATS and that CHOTA BHAI was never included in any form of cricket again !
Moral Of the Story: whatever you think....but this really happened!
Its fools like you that piss me off and try to disrupt relations and friendships, Nahi yaar whats the idea of posting an incomplete article and that to with out a link, (Where did the Mods go) after reading your uncalled statement, I did some research, and guess what I found.
I Quote your statement here “The money thirsty BCCI is gettin comical now and these cartoons are saying they will be the producers of all matches played in india and will hand pick the commentators!”
Now I am Pasting the Paragraph which you ironically failed to copy and paste, and will also provide the link for the whole article.
On this day of announcements with far-reaching consequences, Modi revealed that India and Pakistan would play two one-dayers at Abu Dhabi in April for earthquake relief. When the calender is released shortly it is likely to be unlike what the ICC envisaged.
Also I was just listening to the news on Zee and also on Headlines Today, (and I am sure I am not alone few other people must have heard the news too, so you can certainly verify my claim) where it said that 75% of the proceeds of the above mentioned 2 matches will go to the Pakistani Earthquake Victims and 25% will go to the Indian Earthquake Victims.
Now inspite of this gesture you think BCCI is Money Thirsty, Comical and Cartoons, than I am sorry I even picked this conversation with you, and hence forward you Sir are added to my Ignore list, Its a Pity when you cant do any thing for yourself except talk, and when someone makes a generous offer, you call them Money Thirsty.
Oh yes I completely agree with you, they are the worst people on the face of this planet. That too because they are milking their resources for Capital, WHICH IS SUCH A MAJOR CRIME.
Aejaz bhai, now you are beginning to sound like true American …
These are two different issues I believe. The one Jazba is pointing out is how BCCI wants to take complete charge, though he is wrong in name-calling, but he disagrees with the steps BCCI is taking/vows to take. By donating money generated by playing a charity match doesn’t really cover “all” parts of money making/controlling. For some reason I see your blood pressure goes high when some is name-calling and you fail to see the other aspects of an issue… this is my current observation
Jazba_pk Bhai ne from the middle of the article cut and paste keri, and link bhi nahi diya, and then started the name calling, like money thirsty, now you tell me how where why is looking for ones own intrest being comical or being a cartoon.
Specially now when I found that BCCI has Commited 75% proceeds to the Pakistani Earthquake victims, dont you think it was definitely related and even more insulting.
why is it ridiculous? What if they are geting bid from all the international producers and then going to give different feed based on language,interest of viewers etc. This is what exactly lalit modi said. I think this could be a great thing if managed professionally. Now that is where I have concernd. Idea in itself is not bad. Execution can be.
Is Bcci located in gujrat?
cause these money thirsty khatris dont care bout any body.
lakhmi there god is money to!!!!!!!
if Bcci does this then 4 sure there gonna have a big moorti of tendulkar in all the stadiums, n he is going to b there next and the newest bhagwan.
I m sorry. oh he already is!!!!!!!!!!