BBQ ideas....

i end up doing tikkas or reshmi kaba all the time and now its getting boring and i need new ideas…

what do u guys do???

Re: BBQ ideas....

do you like non-spicy

you try herbs plus lemon, thyme lemon juice, oregano, salt pepper, some worcestershire sauce/vinegar and some chilli flakes

or try Jerk (carribean)

or thai/malaysian type ...mixes

ahem ahem.....ok what do u have in spicy category :)

Yaar try those Halal bbq burgers by Al-Safa.. you can get them at any desi store. Theyre niceeee and juicy. I dont understand why desi people bother to go through the whole marinate this marinate that for 7 days chicken and then bbq it. Bbqs should be simple and hassle free. Flip a few burgers, grill some onions and shimla mirch (and tomatoes if you like) melt some cheese pop a 7up and lifes gooooood.

And then follow it up with some chai on the koyla. Mmmmmm mmmm

[thumb=H]bbq0410329_3147276.JPG[/thumb]

^ looks good.

Try bbq-ing whole fish, prawns, chicken sausages, lamb chops - oh so tasty.

Cheegum: yaar yeh to gooran ka BBQ ho gaya aur waise bhi I love BBQing thats why i go through all the hassle after coming from work on fridays or spend saturday doing it where as family gets a nice meal at the end of it.......it all started with the idea that my mom should get a day off from cooking and i cook whatever i like...so i do this.

wasie tea zabardast lag rahe hai yaar. :)

besides tikkay i do steak, fish and corn.....but need more ideas for sure.....

potatoes?

fruit

slice pineapple, oranges and apple, pear plum sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon and grill

you can put whole bananas...(not peeled) on the bbq and wait till they go black turn over and do the other side

have with a toffee sauce and cream...its VERY hot and can burn your mouth so be careful.

Re: BBQ ideas…

:bummer:

^^^What the matter matey?

i was looking for meaty ideas with different spices naa....

okay

lamb chops
take

a couple of handfuls of mint leaves
same of coriander(green)
some green chillies

salt pepper and lemon juice and half an onion

all wizzed up in a blender
marinate the lamb and then bbq.

do you use ready made pastes?

^^thats what i am talking about...thanks LD :)

well yeah most of the time when mommy takes off completely otherwise she makes the paste for me.

i am just giving you some ideas here..how about boti kabab or bihari kabab..you can use a packet spice or get the recipe off net..

how about you bbq some boneless chicken with the same masala you use and add capsicum and onions to the marinade as well..and then put them all together on the same seekh.

what i did last week..i added some paneer capsicum and onion to bihari kabab masala and added some lemon juice and yogurt to it..and bbqed them.. its good for a change.. but if you want to make it a meat combo..then you can add those things with beef boti..or fish ..or boneless chicken..

another thing we did last week...boiled 2 pounds potatoes...added 2 pounds keema.. 1 egg and 1 packet chicken broast masala and made burgers...they tasted like the burgers you can get from market.

here are some recipes i found in a newspaper

they sound nice....

As for many people, my love of food is intertwined with memories. Childhood summers were peppered with trips to amusement parks, after which the trusty tartan blanket would be put down and laden with Tupperware and steel boxes filled with homemade dishes, pickles, breads and dips. I'd spy staring non-Asians from the corner of my eye, but I didn't care: I was more than happy not to be eating soggy cheese sandwiches.
Green masala roast chicken

Instead of hotdogs and hamburgers, try these chicken breasts marinated in a mixture of yogurt with fresh coriander, green chillies, cracked coriander seeds, garlic and ginger to give a zesty flavour. Serve with salad, new potatoes pan-fried with cumin and mint, or in crisp pitta pockets with a cucumber yogurt dip, or with a slice of cheese. Serves four.

4 green chillies
1 tsp ground turmeric
2 tbsp whole coriander seeds
1 handful fresh coriander, chopped
2 tsp garam masala
6 cloves garlic
1 small onion, roughly chopped
1 tbsp grated ginger
1 tbsp natural yogurt
2 tbsp lemon juice
4 tbsp mild and light olive oil
1 tsp salt
4 chicken breasts, skinned and scored with a knife

Place all the ingredients, except the chicken, in a blender and whizz to a thick paste. Massage the chicken with the paste, cover and marinate in the fridge for at least four hours, preferably overnight. Shake off any excess marinade and barbecue the chicken (or put on a baking sheet and roast at 200C/400F/ gas mark 6 for 30 minutes). Turn halfway through the cooking.

Paneer skewers

Considering how little time they take to prepare and cook, these look and taste mighty impressive. Paneer is a mild Indian cream cheese that you can buy in many supermarkets. It's very similar in texture to halloumi but is not salty (use halloumi, if you wish, in which case do not add salt to the marinade). Alternatively, use lamb or chicken cubes, or just stick to vegetables. These quantities make eight skewers.

8 wooden skewers, soaked in cold water for 30 minutes
600g paneer, cut into chunks
1 red onion, cut into large chunks
2 peppers (use different coloured ones), cut into chunks
75ml mild olive oil
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp dried red chilli flakes
2 tsp coriander powder
1 tbsp lemon juice

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl, cover and refrigerate for half an hour. Tightly thread on to the skewers, then barbecue or grill on a high heat for eight to 10 minutes, turning every few minutes, until the paneer is golden.

Stuffed peppers

One of the most delicious vegetarian dishes I've ever eaten: gem-like peppers in assorted colours, blistered black on the outside, are filled with a silky, piquant mash of potato, onion, chilli, pomegranate seed powder and ginger. The tartness of the filling contrasts perfectly with the sweet peppers. Serves six.

6 large peppers of different colours
Oil, for drizzling

For the filling

4 potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
110ml oil
1 tsp cumin seeds
2 onions, chopped very finely
1½ tsp dried red chilli flakes
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
2 tsp salt
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp pomegranate seed powder (or lemon juice)
1 big handful fresh coriander, chopped

Preheat the oven to 200C/400F/gas mark 6. Boil the potatoes until soft, then drain.

Heat the oil in a large frying pan, add the cumin seeds and, when sizzling, throw in the onions and cook until soft but not golden. Add the chilli, ginger, salt, garam masala, pomegranate seed powder (or lemon juice) and potatoes. Turn off the heat and mash the mixture in the pan. Add the fresh coriander and mash a little more. Set aside.

Cut out the stalks of the peppers by gently using a knife to cut around them, then pull them out - they should look like plugs or stoppers, and you should be left with the whole pepper with a hole at the top. Do not discard the stalks. Stuff the peppers with the potato mixture, using your fingers to press in as much as you can. When the peppers are full, push the stalks back in. Push them quite far into the pepper because, during cooking, they will be pushed back out slightly; they should look like whole peppers again.

Place on a baking tray and drizzle with oil. Bake for 45 minutes, turning over halfway. Serve with salad.

Masala burgers

Ideal for burger-lovers in search of something different. I've served these at dinner parties without the bread, as kebabs with chutneys alongside. They couldn't be farther from the image of the 'curry', a colonial term that evolved from the Tamil word 'kari', meaning black pepper. That was an entirely appropriate term for dishes made before the chilli was introduced to India from the New World; the anglicised 'curry' was later used to denote any Indian dish from any region. These quantities make eight burgers.

450g lamb or beef mince
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 small onion, grated and squeezed of excess liquid
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
3 green chillies, finely chopped
½ tsp coriander seeds, crushed
1 tsp garam masala

Using a fork, mix all the ingredients in a large bowl. Divide into eight, shape into balls and flatten into patties. Barbecue or grill until cooked to your liking