Baton-wielding lawyers attack district revenue officer

Re: Baton-wielding lawyers attack district revenue officer

True, but comparing what happened in Karachi vs what happened to Bokhari is like comparing apples to oranges. There is no comparison.

I was just commenting on your statement where you said ‘‘Naeem Bokhari got what he deserves. I, for one, don't feel sorry for that crook’ . isn’t it same level of thinking as MQM goons and Lal masjid crowd . What ever they did they think they have a right to do it and other party deserves to get that treatment .

I , for one , see no difference in mentality here !

hey man, why does this “taking the law into their own hands” only apply to the lawyers? why come the army is exonerated from it?

But no worry. time will come, soon, when this very CJ will put the fear of god in the general’s head.

• aap aaj ki news toh parhain*. Nothing is sacred anymore. The institutions that blackmailed the judiciary into submission previously r now on the pointed end of the pole.

SC peeps into ISI farm](http://www.dawn.com/2007/08/10/nat2.htm)

• By Nasir Iqbal*
    ISLAMABAD, Aug 9: A not-so-secret secret of ISI spilled out in the Supreme Court on Thursday when the apex court took up public interest cases suo motu. A bench comprising Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and Justice M. Javed Butter was probing why farmlands, leased out by the Capital Development Authority (CDA) for growing agri-products for Islamabad citizens, were allowed to be converted into palatial farmhouses when it found Directorate-General Inter Service Intelligence listed among the recipients of the largess.

“Is it a safe house?” asked PPP Senator Enver Baig about the farm plot listed in the name of ISI in a CDA report to the court.

Senator Baig, who was present at the hearing, alleged that many farms in Chak Shahzad were places of “all kinds of sins” in the midst of rural poverty.

At the last hearing, the Supreme Court had ordered the CDA to name the persons given agriculture farms in Chak Shahzad and for what purpose.

CDA’s Deputy Director-General Law Shahid Murtaza submitted a report stating 426 plots, in eight different suburbs, including Chak Shahzad, Murree Road, Kahuta Road, Tarlai Kalan, were given to different people. He said CDA had formed a committee to check whether the farms, average size two acres, were being used for the purpose they were allotted.

However the court expressed displeasure at CDA’s failure to indicate whether the purpose was being served or not.

“Do not make mockery of Supreme Court orders and furnish complete details of each plot,” the CJ observed adding the CDA had to cancel the lands because these were concessions on part of the government.

** “Please understand the spirit,” Justice Buttar explained adding this court could give some relief if the CDA found it difficult to deal with organizations like the ISI.**

UTILITY STORES: The apex court also directed secretary, Industries, to submit a comprehensive report on its policy of opening new utility stores and the mechanism being adopted for providing edible articles in these stores at subsidised rates.

The order followed when Senator Baig deplored that despite the announcements made about opening new utility stores in the last two budgets, no initiative had so far been taken. When the senator lamented the reported hoarding of two million tons of wheat flour, the court ordered the Punjab Chief Secretary to take steps to discourage the alleged hoarding and submit a report in this regard.

Reportedly the private sector is hoarding wheat despite highest ever production to inflate prices in the country.

PRICE-HIKE: Dr Ashfaq Hassan Khan, Special Secretary Finance, appeared along with secretaries agriculture, industries, commerce and finance. They were told to take some practical and time-tested steps instead of forming committees to check price hike.

Dr Khan said the government was involved in an exercise to check price-hike but sought time to submit the policy in this regard to the court.

The court rejected the reports on price situation submitted by Islamabad Chief Commissioner Khalid Pervez and the Rawalpindi District Coordination Officer (DCO) Irfan Elahi, observing that these reports contained fictitious prices of vegetables and fruits. Traders have been given freedom to fix prices at will.

PPP Senator Babar Awan compared the prices from the reports in Jhelum and Rawalpindi to show that prices of vegetable producing in Jhelum were higher than in Islamabad. Same was true for atta price.

All the chief secretaries of the provinces and the Islamabad administration were directed by the court to adhere to the Price Control and Profiteering Act 1977 in letter and spirit.

If I were Mush, I’d be making deals too :chai:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\08\10\story_10-8-2007_pg7_25

Contempt plea against Elahi and Rashid rejected by CJ

Chief Justice of Pakistan Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry on Thursday dismissed a contempt of court petition against Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi and Railways Minister Shaikh Rashid Ahmad. The petition, filed by lawyer Imtiaz Kaifi, had contended that Elahi and Rashid delivered contemptuous speeches against the CJP at the May 12 Rawalpindi public meeting which was addressed by President General Pervez Musharraf. The two had tried to scandalise the CJP’s suspension issue and therefore, should be punished for contempt, the petition maintained. Earlier, the SC Registrar Office had raised objections on the petition. Kaifi filed an appeal against the objections but the CJP rejected them during a hearing in his chamber.

Oh oh. Looks like the CJ is making deals with the govt. now :)

u are just shying away from condemiong their actions :slight_smile: thats okay..I understand, i did read that one post in that secret place before you deleted it, but that explained a lot :slight_smile:

and who will put the fear of god in CJs head. oh wait, he is above the law, U dont want a military dictator u want a judiciaray dictator, some want a clergy dioctator…but looks like all want dictators running the show one way or the other.

the fun bit is, that the trigger happy pakistani public will have to live with it.

to borrow the prince song..tonight i’m gonna party like its 1989 :smiley:

PS: so when would CJ take sou motu action against the judiciary that approved military rule..including himself :confused:

Ive been a quite busy recently, but I thought all day about discussing this here on the forum. I'm also reviving a thread I had posted with concerns for pro-govt lawyers...is this rabid behavior also a sign of a new beginning...!?

I am not shying away. I’ll say Naeem got what he deserved and look, I am beating my chest while I am at it. :slight_smile:

:confused:

1. How is he above the law?
  2. What is a judiciary dictator?
  3. What makes him a judiciary dictator?
  4. How is one dictator worse/better/equal than the other dictator?
    C.J.P. is termed “judiciary dictator” and gets criticized for taking suo moto’s (which he is legally allowed to do so) yet when it comes to Mush, the best argument i hear is..as long as he is performing better than the rest. How come we can’t appreciate a CJP who is among the best performing judges in recent times and appreciate junta only because they perform better. Where r the double standards?

The trigger happy Pakistani public is also living with the fact that it celebrated the coup of Oct. 99 only to realize later its mistake.

Wait for announcment of Presidential elections. :chai:

PS: all those people dreaming of a CJP-Mush secret deals r the same na-laqis (to borrow Mushahid’s term) who supported Mush against the judiciary in the first place. Its not happening.

You never know what the PC0 LFO CJ will do? He will raise the hopes of some of the jahil awam, but he will stay close to the man in uniform who put him in Chief kursi in the first place. After all if the constitution is reverted back to before PCO and LFO then CJ will be kicked back to the High Court in Quetta from whence he came from. :)

Justice Chaudhary took oath on constitution when he became CJP. U’ll have to come up with a better plan :no:

and you are wrong, u are advocating a mob beating a man who did nothign more than write his views. On one hand you jump up and down about media freedom, but this guy has no right to freedom of speech?

no dictators are needed, whether those in garb of elected civilian PMs behaving in a dictatorial manner, or clergy or military or judiciary. he needs to be held accountable for his hanky panky.

hmm very similar to shedding tears for freedom of speech for media, but when naeem bokharis exercises his rights to free speech, u are a supporter of a mob beating him.

atleast, I have teh argument of teh guy showing concrete results. find me an alternative today please..go ahead. but we will trade military dictatorship for civilian dictatorship...surely u cant say that BB or NS . so yes if I have to pick between dictators I will pick a dictator who is providing results. given a viable alternative I dont want any in power.

how can we call all supporters of musharaf lotas, and not the judges who approved his coup and actually progressed in their careers. Why the double standards?

if CJP is among teh best performing judges and for that reason we have to ignore the fact that he supported a dictator and that is how he became a SCJ then there should be no issue in saying that musharraf who is aming the best performing leaders of this country should be given the same caret blanche.

and they will keep making mistakes, like an abused low self esteem chica going from one abusive relationship to another.

stand up those people who said the govt. only wanted to provide security to CJP when he wanted to go to his own court on foot.

and I am wrong. Fine. U forget. I am in Pakistan and I am on the winning side. And for once in our lifetime, it is not the military. I wouldn;t move a muscle if they threw him in the arabian sea.

As for freedom of speech, I didn't see many tears when generalismo promulgated the PEMRA ord. Where r the double standards?

Sir, the general tried and lost the case. If the reference had any value, the judiciary would've taken notice. Now if u think the CJP was let off unfairly, then your problem is with the whole SC and not CJP.

Inverse of the argument I already made. If naeem's freedom of speech is so valuable, then how come one did not see the same energy in condemning the Pemra ord. or the emergency proposals that would've taken away the freedom of speech of not one individual but the whole nation. How come one does not see the same energy in condemning people like Ch. Shujaat who still is itching for emergency? oh the irony.

and I am infinitely indebted to you for using that argument because it helps ME more than it helps YOU.

When has military ever presented any alternatives? They r only going to come through fair elections. Time for civilian dictatorship is gone. U r still judging the political landscape of pakistan wearing glasses that expired on 9th March.

Where did I ever call any Mush supporter a lota? In fact, I dont remember using that term against ANYONE.

But fine. What the judges did was wrong. And they should not have taken oaths on PCO's. However, it takes two to tango my dear friend. Why did the general raid the SC in the first place? Forget all this crap..he himself says in his book he supported NS in attacking the SC in 97. Lets hear a condemnation of that.

U cannot equate the two. Mush's is a public office, answerable to the public. No such thing for CJP. And if Mush is such a great performer, how come his ratings r so low? Why such a lack of confidence in his own abilities that he won't take retirement? Why must he bend the constitution to stay in power? After all, if he is such a star performer, the people should love him. Why do they not?
Answer is simple. He is not the performer Meryll Lynch have u believe.

we will make mistakes. I have no shame in admitting that we have. But I also see the current crises as the birth pangs of a new Pakistan. Let's see. U may equate my country with a lady low on self esteem but on the 6oth birthday, I have hope.

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/aug-2007/12/editorials3.php

Uncivil lawyers

THE lawyers’ four-month long movement to uphold the independence of the judiciary remained peaceful, except for the manhandling of journalist Khalil Malik who had given a disparaging account of it, casting a shadow over the otherwise admirably handled mass struggle. Yet again, another unsavoury incident occurred the other day: Advocate Naeem Bukhari, who had written the letter against the CJ that formed the basis of the reference, was given a sound beating by lawyers on a Rawalpindi court premises. He had been banned from entering the bar association but on his appearance in the court was ‘punished’. It is unfortunate that those who are there to plead for the rule of law should be taking the law into their own hands. If in their view the squashing of the reference had not been punishment enough for Mr Bukhari, they should have taken recourse to some other legal means: taking him to a court of law for levelling flimsy allegations, for instance. Similarly, they should have known that without freedom of the press it is impossible to sustain democracy that they were fighting for. No doubt, these acts must have been committed by some ill advised, junior lawyers but they have brought a bad name to the entire community. **It is the seniors’ obligation in such a situation to counsel the young among them to keep their rash sentiments under check. Otherwise, they risk losing the moral high ground that they are currently sitting in, in the eyes of the Pakistani people. **

I really hope the Supreme Court initiates some action against these lawyers, as they cannot continue to get away with such thuggery.

His choice. I dont see who or which law he was offending when he set out on foot. Really, beats me. :confused:

If anything, those who tried to stop him should be behind bars.

No. The SC standing up to a person standing behind a gun is winning for me.

I am not justifying anything. Should he have been beaten up? No. Does it bother me that he got beaten up. No again.

The fact that the SC threw out the reference means that it carried no weight. The CJ counsel never said they did not want CJ’s accountability. They wanted him to make his case in front of the full bench. That the SC threw out the reference only means that the allegations contained in it were weak.

I said condemn **someone **like Ch. Shujat proposing emergencies, not **something **that has not happened.

And why stretch the argument anyway? Common knowledge that emergency was discussed. Should the awaam not react to such news? Should we wait until they actually impose it? That’s like saying that the police should only investigate crimes that have happened and not try to prevent them.

My consistent view has been that Mush regime has done better than his predecessors on the economic front. Living in Pakistan, at least in the urban areas, one feels a general improvement in the standard of life for the middle and upper middle class.

Executive’s unchecked hold on Judiciary.

Sure. He would not be facing so many problems if he had not taken on the judiciary on 9th March. His ratings have fallen since then and he himself admits to the fact. So what use defending it? Past year’s popularity will not help him win elections. Then again…he doesn’t need to be popular to be elected. Herein lies the irony.

and I have already posted stats from ADB showing worst performance in social indicators.

That’s the whole point. U r still in the politics of 90’s. Consider the three+ one pillars of state of the previous decade:

1. Legislature: Sharply polarized between Pro PPP and Pro PML. Executive over lorded it and will continue to do so.

2. Executive: Handicapped by military and Presidency

3. Judiciary: Blackmailed by Executive.

4. Media: Electronic media did not exist.

Now we have a situation where no single party is likely going to make a govt. at the center. So the days of 2/3 majorities r over.

The judiciary is expected to hold an independent or even anti executive view.

Most importantly, we have a free electronic media that feeds info. to the common man as it happens. Talk shows about politics r the most viewed programs on TV today. What does that tell u?

All these factors combined, to me,will keep the executive honest to a large extent. I don’t say it’ll eliminate corruption or that we will vote in a George Washington anytime soon but that is the right track and where I would like to see the country go.

see, no justifications :)

aray bhai, what goes around comes around. when people can be happy over a “lowly” *kaka shipahi *grabbing the hair of an allegedly corrupt CJP, what should stop others from celebrating the uprooting of a few hair from the *“fitna” *himself. after all, the boundaries of civil behavior were bulldozed just as much then, and much applauded by the Presidential gang. Why protest now?

Waesay I dont see what the fuss is. The Royal camp should be cursing Naeem just as much as the CJ’s camp, if not more. After all, had he not written that stupid letter things could have been much easier for the Emperor. No? :faizy:

• Magr chalain..baray shehron kee choti choti baatain.*

If lawyers can't follow the rule of law, and the judges they supported don't do anything then there whole struggle for an independent judiciary is a big joke.

Pro-CJ lawyers thrash their opponents not a peep out of the Supreme Court.

A federal minister verbally castigates the judges, and the Supreme Court takes action against him in less than 24 hours.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\08\25\story_25-8-2007_pg1_2

What absolute superior hypocrsiy by our not so honoruable judges. They are a joke!

May be we should have some brigadier/col/general as CJ, that would make you happy and ignore the hypocricy.