Bastakiya Dubai

Re: Bastakiya Dubai

Whether u believe or not, we have same house in Bahrain too :k:

Actually that is a wind tower. Good to know.

Its kinda bigger in the image. We have small wind tower top on many forts.

That's awesome. We have big ones.

In which city is it?

nice shoots aisha

wow

pics look 3d-ish

What does Bastakiya means? Is it a name of the place?

It is indeed a name of a place/area. It is right next to the Dubai Creek, near Meena Bazaar.

Got it , never been to Dubai yet.

Lippy if u never been in Dubai than how u got it :konfused:

Kya yeh old houses hain?

In correct wording. Its an old wind tower :)

At least , understood it’s a name of some place lol.

Acha ji :)

To maintain temperature in household right?

wtz name for such wind towers?

They work like air conditioners right?

Have you experienced their effect in summer?

After LKK told me that these are wind towers..it reminded me that i read such wind towers were used by iranians for maintaining temperature of residents...

when i googled for al bastakiya....i came to know that bastakiya is named after bastak region of iran..as most of origial resident of al bastakiya were immigrant from iran...thats why use of these wind towers i think....

these wind towers are called barjeels....

I didn’t know that :konfused: