Basmati Rice

Most desis, like any other group I suppose, try to save money as much as possible. Usually they do grocery as well as other shopping at the most cheapest place they can find. They will only use rebate cards or those that give good flight miles etc. But, when it comes to rice I haven’t seen anyone compromise on Basmati. Even the penny saver international students can’t help but pick the Basmati rice that is at least 2-3 times more expensive than the rice being imported from China or some other East Asian place.

My family is no exception, they might drive a few miles to get a cheaper gas, or go to the back of any store to find clearance items but when it comes to rice it’s Basmati!!!

What is so great about them? Ok, maybe it the shorter grains that don’t swell too much .. but I think the fatter longer grains if cooked right can taste as good. [And in my case if you put enough salan & ketchup over it, you can’t tell the difference anyway] No?

Lets have a show of hands how many of you eat something other than Basmati Rice?

:guilty as charged:

Screw Uncle Ben…Hamaaray ghar tau Tilda hee banta hay :smiles:

non-basmati rice?

and to top it off, ketchup on rice??

faints

Non-Basmati......absol NO NO

Re: Basmati Rice

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
Lets have a show of hands how many of you eat something other than Basmati Rice?

What is other than Basmati Rice????:D :D

Ok jokes apart, with the rice you mentioned you need salan and ketchup.

But with Basmati you dont need any additives, Thoda sa Desi Ghee and your Palate will be in Gastronomic Paradise.

You eat ketchup with rice???? Sheesh!

You guys need to answer the question I asked; why are you so hung up on Basmati, rather than making fun of my delicious ‘ketchup on rice’ idea. Everyone says Basmati rice has this aura to it that doesn’t come from other rice … but I have never felt/smelt it.

Actually, you all should try the ketchup idea .. it tastes great on biryani :dixsi:

Biryani ka saara maza kharab karna hai .. tau zaroor.

Anyway, in most non-desi restaurants they serve the other kinds of rice. Steamed rice served in Chinese restaurants is sticky. Its not that we don't eat that rice, its just that Basmati is better quality, and if the price difference is like 2 bucks for a month of supply, then why not?

ketchup on food....yukk

Ketchups not allowed to touch any of my food...other than fries.

not just any ketchup knorr walo ki khattei meethi is the best
also white rice with milk and suga anyone?

Ahmadjee Bhai,

Have you had your annual medical checkup. :smiley: :smiley:

Looks like you are suffering from Nasal Congestation, otherwise No One repeat No One can Ignore the KHUSHBOO of Basmati.

Originally posted by mahnoor@lahore: *
not just any ketchup **knorr walo ki khattei meethi
* is the best
also white rice with milk and suga anyone?

mahnoor ji,

Tou aap kheer hee bana leejiye, and dont forget some Kishmish and Rose essence and rose petals.

*Originally posted by Aejaz: *

Ahmadjee Bhai,

Have you had your annual medical checkup. :D :D

Looks like you are suffering from Nasal Congestation, otherwise No One repeat No One can Ignore the KHUSHBOO of Basmati.

I agree with Aejaz, ahmed bhai!! basmati rice has this unique khushboo and flavor not found in ANY other kind of rice. The jasmine/sticky rice served in chinese resturants is pretty good too. But Shan's basmati rice is just perfect!!

when I came to Japan I refused to eat their rice and was constantly complaining. I bought myself a big bag of basmati rice imported from Pakistan. But surprisingly now, Japanese rice has grown on me and I appreciate its distinct taste and quality. Its not that other rice arent of a good quality, its just that we are used to khiley huey basmati rice.

basmati rice rules :D

two things:

khushboo
texture [non stickiness and length of grain]

im not nakhraybaaz, i'll eat whichever rice there is, but my family always buys basmati, even in college dayz i used to only get basmati :D

Hence proven that all Desis are stuck over Basmati rice as the red necks are stuck over ford trucks. :-P

I can eat all kind of rice as long as they are cooked right (tender).

Ghareeb log. :snooty:

Yeah Faisal Bhai you tell them.

Re: Basmati Rice

Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
[And in my case if you put enough *salan
& ketchup over it, you can’t tell the difference anyway] No?

I have shot people for less.

Basmati is a great rice, lekin ham log jab Hindustan jaate hain to we also eat a fantasticly fragrant rice called Ambemohor. Unfortunately this rice is very expensive and produced in quantities not large enough to export.