Son: “A” is for Allah.

Father: “B” is for banana.

Son: “B” is for book.

Father: “C” is for …?

**Son: **Courage

Father: “D” is for dog

Son: “D” is for decency

Dad: Who taught you these ?

Son: My teacher. He says that we should prefer learning " moral values " first.

-----------------------------------------------------

Father: Son! Never ever “lie” in your life. Never miss a chance of “serving” poor people. Always repect people as a human not because of their “status”

Son: Dad, your phone. Someone named Aslam.

Father: Oh..Aslam driver requires loan.Tell him that I am not at home.

Son on the phone

Son: Dad is saying that he is not at home

Son: Dad! he is saying that it is urgent and your help is needed.

Dad: Tell him that I told you that HE IS NOT AT HOME !

Son: Dad! he is saying that he is your boss!

Dad: Ohh…Mohammad ASLAM!! I am coming in a second. ( Now someone else talking on the phone. Someone polite, complacent, decent, caring, helpful…etc.)

Dad: Son! When you grow up and do a job, always be polite, humble, caring and helping to people around you.

Son: Only to boss or to my juniors as well ?

Father: Son! according to a hadith, giving gifts develops love in people’s hearts. Give this gift to your school principal and this one to your teacher.

Son: Yes, that hadith must be true. Any gifts for the school gate keeper and the sweeper ?

Re: Basics of Education..?

jazak-al-khaire, brother stp. :)

Dushwari

nice sharing...thanks bro!

very nice and true.. i especially hate it when parents tell their kids to lie over the phone ... to say they are not home... although im not going to lie.. i've made my mom do the same for me a couple of times... may Allah swt help us change for the better and forgive us and our parents for our mistakes. Ameen

^ your acceptance of your own mistake is actually able to keep your self-respect for you. and that is the first step to change.

best,

Dushwari

Alot of times I also made such mistakes and it were children who corrected me.

One of my 5 years old cousin started offering namaz with me, when she saw me praying.

When I was doing dua she also raised her hands and asked me," what should I pray from Allah to do for me ?

Thinking of her to be a child I said " Lots of choclates, money, dolls, car...etc"

She said "NO!!"

I said, " Ok, pray to Allah to bless your parents with a long and healthy life"

She said, " YES! that is good!"

JazakAllah brother.

While both father and son were in the market place, it was time for namaz

Son: Dad! we might miss namaz if we don't offer it here.

Dad: We are getting late! We need to buy few things immediately. Complete shopping first ! You can always offer your "qaza" namaz later. Allah would understand, He is forgiving and merciful.

Son: Oh...I just recalled that I haven't completed my school assignment and tomarrow is the due date. But it is ok, my teacher would undertand when I would tell him that I was busy in buying important stuff.

Dad: Lets go home right now! How many times have I told you that in order to succeed in life a duty should always be performed within the given time without any compromise! Shopping is not more important than the assignment, we can always do shopping on some other day.

**Son: **Ok dad !?!?

*Falsehood is falsehood*****

Abdullah Ibn Amir narrated: "Once my mother called me when the Prophet was present in my house. My mother asked me to come and said that she would give me a certain thing. He asked what did she want to give? She said that she wanted to give me a date (fruit). The Prophet said: *If you had not given him this date, then the committing of a falsehood would have been entered into your record of deeds.*'" (Abu Daud).

Abu Huraira says that the Prophet has said: *Anybody who called a child saying that he would give him a certain thing, and did not give it, then it is a lie.*" (Ahmed)

Adoption of straight dealing and telling the truth has been very strictly insisted upon, so much so that it has been enjoined upon to take care about this in even small household matters.
Asma Bint Yazid narrates that she once asked the Messenger of Allah: "If one of us women stated that she had no desire to have a certain thing even though she had that desire, then would it be considered a lie?" He replied: "*Falsehood is written as falsehood, and a small falsehood is written as a small falsehood.*" (Muslim)

****Source:**** “Muslim's Character” - Muhammad Al-Ghazali

Aww what a cutie .. MA

^Thanks**

Son:** papa, would you kindly pay a scholar to come to my house and teach me about Islam ?

Father: Why ? you already know about Islam. What do you want to learn more ?

Son: I think there are a lot of things I still need to learn. I don't know "Faraiz" (compulsions) of Gusul (taking bath), the dua of entering bathroom, the dua of drinking milk, the dua of wearing new clothes, the dua of sleeping, the dua of waking up....etc.

Father: (getting a bit irritated) Son, these are not of too much value. You should concentrate on the main things like 5 times namaz, fasting, ...etc. Son, I appreciate your interest in it, but you see Allah (swt) sees our intentions, so if our intentions are good he wouldn't question us on the basis of these minor things.

Son: But papa, there a lot of things about namaz which I either forgot or don't even know correctly. A friend told me that I need to check my "tallafuz" (pronunciation) as some mistakes may create serious change in meanings and make my namaz unacceptable.

**Father: **Son, you won't be asked about the minor things which you don't know or forget. It is not your fault that you don't know your mistakes, but again your intentions are good.

Son: Papa I am going to masjid now.

Father: Good, Namaz is a duty. I have few important things to do, I might inshaAllah join you later.

Father: **Son, how was your exam ?

Son: Papa, I forgot a lot of things but my intentions were good so I think the examinor would pass me.

Father: Son, it is your fault that you forgot. You should have practiced very hard, as many times as possible so that you should have not forgot.
Son:** But papa there were few things that I missed, as when the teacher made the announcement about the course syllabus, at that time I was in the washroom. And one chapter I missed because when he taught it I was ill. So I had no idea about that chapter
Father:** You should have asked your friend to tell you what the teacher said at the time when you went to washroom. It is your fault that you didn't keep yourself well informed. You should have told me, I would have payed a teacher to teach you tuition.

Son: And there were few minor topics which I thought were not important. As I should only learn by heart the "basic" and main topics.

Father: Son, nothing is unimportant in life. For taking the first position you should give importance to each and every minor detail. Even 0.1 marks can make a difference between pass and fail. You never know when you give less importance to a topic, it might be very much important in the eyes of the examiner.

Son: Papa, would there be any grading on the day of Judgment ?

silence

Parents have the biggest influence on their children.

I heard this story. When a notorious thief/ killer was being punished to death, he was asked his last wish. He replied that he wanted to meet his mother. When his mother arrived, he said to her that he want to say something in her ear. When she came closer, he bit her ear so hard that she started screaming. When the policeman cursed him and asked why did he commit such a big sin before dying. He replied, " When I was a child, the first time I brought home the pencil box of a class fellow, who forgot it on his table, my mother encouraged me and appreciated this act. She is also responsible for my indulgence in such acts."

Probably it is better to move this thread to parenting forum.

Nicepost submission brother. But Things are not always so straightforward.

First lesson: In School common object like 'fruits' or 'animals' are use to denote letters, because they are easy for younger minds to imagine and relate to as compared relating to 'values'.
and it should be accounted for that not all students are faith orientated, so an approach like A for Allah will not be broadly applicable.

*Lesson 2: Father tells boy, to tell caller he is not home. *

I think if you are not in a state or inclination to speak to someone, then you are not obliged to speak to them.
I also remember a hadith; where Nabi-Pak has said ''if you knock on your brothers house 3 times and you hear no reply, then you should leave.''

The shopping moral:

Although salat is ofcourse highly important. There do come times when certain things at certain moments can surpass the importance of that moments salat.
Respective to this, I remember the hadith of Juraj, the pious worshiper, who used to ignore duniya, remain and pray and fast all day in his mosque.
Once his mother came to him while he was praying calling for him urgently, in a state of emergency, Juraj ignored his mother and continued his worhip.
His mother out or despair and dissappointment of her son negligence let out a curse 'may you not die before seeing the face of prostitues', before leaving.
The curse later came true.

this proved the mother was right and her need was greater at that time than offering his salat. He could have made up for his salat, but not for the heat of moment he was needed by his mother.
So in this case his wordly duty was more was more important than his salat.

Similarly, how the boys father realised the boy has an assignment due tomorow, and he ordered immidietly for the boy to go home and complete it, could have been just, as the boy might have been penalised, suspended, beaten, expelled or suffered uncompensateble circumstances tomorow if he did not complete his assignment tonight.

Simillary the next moral:

I would agree it is a virtue for one to learn about deen.
But then again we have been told by Allah to keep moderation and balance between deen and duniya.
It must be noted, The demands and needs and competitivness of modern life are significantly greater than previous times.
working hard in your education and career from the start is an utmost for every person to be able to set up a stable basic earning and career later in life.
Nobody can be perfect and as long as they strive to furfill the most important deen and dunya acts, they can leave the smaller and less important acts for later.
A it is impossible to do everything.

And Working towards a halal, honest, self-sufficient means of earning for yourself, i.e a good education; and your family is also a high form of worship.
Education should not be critizized.
Such people should understand education is not a option/luxury of the duniya **but a neccesity. **In todays competitive climate more than an average education is needed to survive.

Also the Prophet (pbuh) also ordered "be not exccesive in deen''.

Anyways good post, submission bro.

Hope you get though no single treatments apply for every situation, and one has to also adapt to the times/situation that one is in.

I know a family who have trained their children in such a way that whenever they get something good in life, they immediately perform wudhu (ablution) and offer two rakah Salat-ul-Shukrana. When they face any difficulty in life, they offer Salat-ul-Hajah. And usually they offer Salat-ut-Taubah from time to time.

Salat-ul-tasbeeh on Fridays.

Such people live a happy and contented life.

love reading these, thanks for sharing :)

A healthy balance of the two is the key imo :)

Wa iyyakum.

To see how high a child would rise in life, check:

1. With 0% practical experience, how quickly he sincerely 'absorbs' the intense emphasis of his parents to inculcate in him the value of education.

2. Knowing parents' sincerity, does he ignore their warnings against unsuccessful exam scores by saying, "We will see when it comes" let me enjoy now the activities my heart desires.

3. Is he consistent in jolting himself to prepare before the actual exam thunderbolt

4. Does he consult the right people having enough knowledge and experience to solve his problems or he himself declares himself a master of all trades ?

*Now let us replace: our parents with the Prophet Muhammad (saw), our exams with Allah's exam, and our examiners with Allah (swt) and judge ourselves. The only difference is: in this life we keep getting chances but in hereafter there would be none for infinite years.

Even repeatedly reading, listening to and discussing the importance of education helps in inculcating its value in the mind of even a dull student, thus making it easy for his heart to work harder for it. Let us also repeatedly listen to, read and talk about what we "want to" become.

nice

thats why the first madaresah is your parents laps,what we instill in kids from the time they are young inshallah they will never depart from it.