basant ban

what’s your take on this issue? I personally wish there wasn’t any.

Re: basant ban

I don't like it either but it has to be done. Our people are too ****ed up to understand that metal/illegal dor is dangerous and kills. I remember Basant as being the only time where Lahore really showed it's festive side, the whole city would join in and the festive rooftop atmosphere used to be just fantastic. A real spring festival and tourist attraction. Shame a handful of people had to ruin it.

What is the significance of basant?

awwww no basant.....nooo. though i am not in pakistan but i still feel so bad. basant is such a ronaqi and khoobsoorat event. I LOVE BASANT. sadly some people just ruined it...i just completely wish that basant comes back with totally strict rules which no one can break (dont know when this will be true but i hope sooner inshallah)

ps. lahore has the best basant.

acha hua hay kai janay bach jay gi also it was not a cultrual festival its roots belond to Hinduism

Acha he hua :jhanda:

Insan ki jaan se zyada ahm koi cheez nhe hai

Life of even one child is not worth all the festivities. I loved basant growing up but got disgusted with it when blood started spilling. I don't think we can have an effective ban on dangerous practices during kite flying, so a blanket ban is a good 'temporary' solution.

I wish they would lift the ban from basant. Last time i was in lahore i didn't see a single kite in the sky, kinda depressed me.

It used to be like a sport for boys when I was living in Pakistan in the 1990’s. We were never allowed to go to the roof during basant. :teary1:

Anyway, ban ho gayi tau acha hua.

slit throats of 3-5 year old kids...who bleed to deat........against basant.........i think the answer is very clear..

I do miss the rooftop poondi :(

crazy government & people. Basant was i think the only f.... only festival of Pakistan on international scale ..and now they are beating into death.

Losers !

me too, kya din thy :(

Yes but what is it?

same here :(

Well if Pakistanis / Lahoris ( in this particular scenario ) dont know how to have decent and harmless fun without putting people's lives at risk - They dont deserve any festival ..

Government of Pakistan cant micromanage these activities - The People of Pakistan got to act sensible in due regard !

I am all in favour of a Ban

wase bii stupid festivals like this are nothing more then a Erection session ...

LOL

Okay I have nothing against bassant I guess it's some sort of spring festival right. Kite flying is a great pastime and Bassant was not a bad thing back in the days.

However saftey first, I gotta support this ban... it wont be lifted till people show some more sense.

I never could understand mentality of some people but when they compromise saftey of others not just themselves then they have to be curbed, besides there are some serious rooftop terrorists out there.

Besides save a kite for another day or better yet have a kite race outside of town, what idiot flies kites in a built up city....!

I mean you could snag a passing motorcylcist or kill someone with an impact from a metal kite or worse catch your kite on some cables. Ouch!

Kite fighting.. ala the Kite runner, but way more people , and tricked out kites that killed kids

Just to put things int perspective..

pata nahi ab bhi loag kertey hain ya nahi...but motorcyclists used to have this long stick (or flexible but firm rod) infront of their bikes so when a dor comes it would just slip away. it looked pretty effective but i dont know how effective that was. but i saw it nearly on every bike when the basant period came.