Bare Breasts In A Mosque: Outrageous Feminist Protest Is Hard To Ignore

This is totally not right.

Bare Breasts In A Mosque: Outrageous Feminist Protest Is Hard To Ignore (VIDEO NSFW) -

Aliaa Elmahdy is an Egyptian feminist living in exile in Sweden. She was granted political asylum in that country after she received death threats and was kidnapped in her home country for posing nude. For her blog, she posed in only a pair of thigh-high stockings, red shoes, and a flower in her hair – and nothing else (NSFW). She called it a form of protest against the oppression of women in Egypt. This got her into a lot of trouble, bringing death threats and charges from the government. Then she was kidnapped in Alexandria but released because her captors believed she was a virgin. She sought refuge and the Swedish authorities took her in.

But she wasn’t done with protesting. She discovered Femen, the activist group that was founded in the Ukraine, and found a home for her activism. Last December, Aliaa and two other women posed nude outside the Egyptian embassy, even though it was freezing cold. She painted the words, “Sharia is not a constitution,” on her chest and belly. Getting naked to protest the mistreatment of women is not something that bothers her.

On Saturday, Aliaa and two companions from Femen stripped to the waist, wrote on their torsos and entered a mosque where services were in session. Pandemonium ensued as the men pf the mosque hurled insults and called the police. The women were handcuffed and taken, still naked from the waist up, to a waiting van. After the brouhaha was over, a reporter spoke to them. The red-haired woman (her name is not given), a spokesperson for Femen, said (I transcribed this as best I could through her lovely but thick accent):

“We want the message of women’s spring, freedom to women… to have your own individual choice to decide over your body, not to have somebody else telling you ‘We do that.’ We should not be called ‘whores’ or that we are doing something shameful, like they were calling us today in the mosque. They were calling us ‘whores from hell’ and we didn’t get **** (sic) and that’s why we were there.”

Another Femen member, Amina, added:

“We are supposed to be free to do whatever we want if we are not hurting somebody, so people should not be offended at someone showing her body or someone saying something they don’t like.”

The three women then raised their shirts again for the camera and said this was for the “women’s spring,” and that they would continue to show their bodies which are “not a sin.”

This may seem like a bit much to some: entering a house of worship and disturbing the congregation. But this is how things change. This is how women, or, indeed, anyone, is heard. Sometimes you have to be disruptive so you are not ignored.

You can watch the report from Swedish TV here (there is an ad in Swedish first and this is NSFW).

Re: Bare Breasts In A Mosque: Outrageous Feminist Protest Is Hard To Ignore

So you bring attention to women’s plight by using yourself in a sexual manner. Well done.

Whores from hell? Even whores have more shame than these crazy feminazis.

That is a little bit too much, even American ladies don’t do that. If you are free or want to be just do it but don’t do acts like these.

fii naar-e-jahannam taa abad ul ibaad…Allah inko Ghaarat aur nest o naabood kar de…aameen

What they did was disrespectful to the beliefs and practices of the people in the mosque. I find this form of protest just plain stupid and meaningless, designed to incite outrage rather than change and progress.

But to hurl insults and call them “whores from hell” while you’re standing in a mosque? That’s pretty appalling. If you’re going to take a moral highground, you have to make sure you actually have it.

wow! totally crazy!

btw I like how I understood everything said in that video :smiley:

That is what these women claim, that they were called whores. Doesnt have to be true.

Not that it can’t have happened. But these women dont seem to be healthy and 100% so I don’t take their words serious.

She isn’t a feminist, but an attention whore. Looking for her 15 minutes of “fame”…next thing is she’ll be writing a book or something.

Wow, a muslim woman! What happened to “submission” and “surrender” to your Lord. The very essence of the word muslim and deen, islam.

This is the only way for such women to get a little bit recognition. By being controversial.

This is an opportunity for the people of calibre to rise above this action. The men should have just lowered their gaze - giving a strong reaction to these people is exactly what they seek … Ignoring them will deflate their agenda in getting publicity and the limelight.

The sooner we can learn to control our own gazes then we don’t need to put up the pretence that “we are offended” by the nude body. The nude body is not offensive it is however strongly impressionable at a deep psychological level. Guarding our own sights is far more important than playing the “offended card” … You will probably see men trying to grab the very women who are showing themselves; the men in their inane attempts to cover up the exhibiting women … by doing so will be increasing their own proximity to them, when in most cases it would be best to turn away and those who are looking at them to turn their faces away from them …

I agree with those women they have the complete right to bare their bosoms in public (at their peril) - but everyone else has the right to turn away … instead most carry on looking and gazing and cover up this behaviour and desire to do so by wrinkling an eyebrow and raising their voice - as if they are offended.

when people are so sure about them selves, they stop having regard for any thing but them selves.

On a street? Sure. Inside a mosque? No you can’t just ignore naked adults and carry on with your worship. They did the right thing by evacuating those women.

I do get what point you are trying to make. But why do we think of these men as some kind of supermen who should at any time and any moment show the perfect example? There is no such human being.
I agree with hareem. What should they have done otherwise, continue to read while some crazy nude borderliner fanatics are jumping and creating chaos around them?

Actually I agree that something should be done to remove the annoyance … Whether raising a fuss over it was the right thing to do or not that is the question. The sisters in the mosque could help out in such situations, but if there are not any around then a few people aught to try to contain the situation face the other way with a cloth creating a circle around her … And calling the police.

Dismissing her as a person mentally unstable rather than as an activist would help.

Don’t be offended if that was what she was setting to achieve … Just treat the situation as you would treat a person escaped from a mental asylum.

But we should guard ourselves … Sooner they realise that it’s not about them but about us then they will not bother trying to antagonise because they will not feel it to be necessary to make their political statements unless that is they are truly losing a few marbles.

Apparently, Psyah never had some guy praying in the mosque in front of him, in dhoti or low riding pants. Oh the exposures of butt cracks our even worst, family jewels when they bow down is impossible to ignore. Impossible I say :frowning:

TLK :smiley:

Oh God…if I were in that mosque I would just tell them they’re way too skinny…not attractive at all. In desi auntie way, “tum tou bilkul healthy nahi ho”. :devil: That would have worked.

A gem from Egypt…

Haha, I remember this guy at our mosque, when he bent down there was some unwanted exposure. When he realised (must have been the cold air coming into contact with this butt) I saw him moving into the most bizarre looking sadja position.

Khee khee?