This thread is dedicated to the guppies who struggle when it comes to the daily intake of dairy product as suggested in the food pyramids. I cannot drink milk in the purest form..neither i can eat yogurt or fruit yogurt. I can only drink chocolate milk and milk shakes..and can eat vegetable yogurt.
So, i would like to know how most of you add dairy products as part of your daily intake?
*shahreen *, i have no problems with cheese actually. I can have it with pizza..but i don't eat cheese on a daily basis. What about you? do you get enough intake of dairy products?
*afshan *, interesting..so you take plain yogurt..i was looking up recipes today on net..and i think i can try some yogurt recipes..like different kinds of dips, raitas and smoothies. About milk, do you dislike plain milk or even the flavoured milks? how about lets say dodh ki thandi bottle (those with pista and stuff) or milk desserts.
so am i the only one struggling with dairy? isn't there any other person who is concerned about their calcium intake..or daily nutrients intake or anyone who is concerned about osteoporosis perhaps *
Qrius you are not alone!! I am afraid of this osteoprosis thing too :(....Last weeek I happened to visit a few older female relatives who were sick and trsut me each one of them had the same problem!! one had her ankle joint affected,others had knee jts problems.... they were unable to read namaz in the proper manner,couldnt sit on floor,couldn't walk properly.This all starts happening with women around age 40.That day i realizes i had to improve my dairy intake at any cost!! I dont want to suffer like those aunties.....
But i have same problem with milk intake as you do.I dont drink pure milk except for chocolate flavour or doodh ki thandi bottle,i do have yogurt and thats around 2-3 tablespoons daily in either raita or plain form with dinner almost daily but thats not enuff for my requirements.I dont eat cheese except with pizza...i can drink lussi though but not the one which is available out at shops here,cuz thats toooo heavy for me.home made lussi is best but im too lazy to prepare it daily. and then when I think of milk shakes,I tend to count its calories and feel like i cant afford those :) so these are the problems but at least im trying hard to have half a glass of milk daily with chocolate flavour.Still striving to improve my eating habits !!
ya Qrius plain milk is something i can't stand for, agar peena bhi paray to naak band ker k peeti hon aik hi saans main ....:)
and abt flavoured milk, its just OK, majboori main pi hi laiti hon.
kashish *, i am glad that someone understands. I read an alarming article about osteoporosis actually..and i read up some quickies on vitamin, minerals and nutrients (few books that ammi brought from library for herself). According to the article..in US/canada..females of 30 years can be diagnosed with osteoporosis. 80% of the patients are females..and the every 7th female will get it. You need about 4 glasses of milk everyday to have about 1000mg of calcium intake..and it said that vitamin/mineral supplements aren't enough either..i just thought to check my ammi's supplement..and guess what it was only 160 mg of calcium..so i am planning a format for myself to follow.
Therefore, i thought to start this topic here..so we all can help each other..in few days..i'll update you on what i am gonna include as part of my daily intake..and i'll post some recipes too.
You have also asked about the rooh afza..yes, i drink milk roohafza in ramadhan..and the other day i asked ammi for it..its done..so i gotta get some from a desi store..in the meantime i am drinking chocolate milk..i drink about 500 ml approx a day..inshaAllah i'll increase it..just like i increased my fruit and veggie intake once :-)
*Originally posted by Qrius: *
*shahreen *, i have no problems with cheese actually. I can have it with pizza..but i don't eat cheese on a daily basis. What about you? do you get enough intake of dairy products?
I love cheese....if anything I eat too much of the stuff. Apart from putting it on pizzas you could also try in in sandwiches, or try cooking with paneer. Like you, I can't stand milk on its own but force myself to have it in cereals and smoothies. Another way I get my calcium intake is by cooking with tofu.....its a developed taste as it can be rather bland but I'm used to it now.
When I tell people that for average daily calcium requirement we are supposed to drink 4 glasses of milk,they make fun of me :(
And qrius the other thing is I am also very concerned about my calorie count when i think of increasing my milk intake.Have you ever tried skimz milk?since all we get here in Pakistan is the whole milk thing. does it taste fine? some of my friends told me thats unbearable..... But at least it has less calories and good nutritional value.
Please do share those recipes with all of us.I know one thing,if we do not strive from this stage,we would not be able to prevent osteoporosis at a later stage
I also made serious efforts 2 yrs back to eat fresh fruits and now i am regular at it :)
Not all calcium needs to come from diary products....Okra is full of calcium for example as are dried fruits, and they don't have the saturated fats that diary produce tends to have.
Qrius: as far as i know, choco milk or milkshakes are good enough in order to keep the dairy intake upto standard. Cheese is very good too :k:
as for osteoporosis: this occurs AFTER the menopauze because of the hormonal change in women. However, healthy diary intake in your youth protects against osteoporosis later on. And i think, that an average dairy intake is enough
Milk is just not for me, too much of it literally makes me sick but I do drink half cup of tea every morning which I know doesn’t make much difference. I don’t eat a lot of chocolates coz I don’t want pimpals on my face. I’m scared of cheese too, there’s too much chiknaayi in it.:o
Since there’s less calcium in tomatoes why not replace them with yogurt? I use yogurt in most of salens and I eat plain yogurt with fried stuff like Okra’s. There are different types of raitas that you can try, I’m sure you know how to make almost all types. Yogurt curry with or without pakoras is yummy When I eat I must have a huge plate of salad with yogurt.
shahreen, * tofu (the one like paneer)..i do eat that..but not much..i do eat shashlik style one once in a while..but your idea about cheese is neat..i'll get the soy mozarella cheese or soy cheddar cheese..i do find soy cheese alright :-) and you mentioned okra..yes okra is full of calcium..but its 149 mg while cheese and those ingredients are like around 300mgs..I'll mix and match things. Thanks for your help :-)
kashish, * awww, people shouldn't make fun of you..Well..don't worry..i trust ya :-) good to learn that you eat fruits regular..i do that too now. Well, i have tried skim milk..and to tell you the truth..i can now drink and eat lot of things as compared to few years back..so yeah i am fine with it..infact, i prefer to drink soy milk..i usually drink strawberry or chocolate one...it contains more vitamins, minerals and nutrients..waisay i read that you can make your own soy milk..so if you don't get that in karachi..i can get recipe for you. They have so many products here..i once ate a chocbar which was made up of rice..
Here's some recipes for you:
Zesty Ceasar Dip
Ingredients
1 cup Plain Yogurt
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon chopped garlic
salt and cracked pepper to taste
Directions
1. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and mix well. Season with salt and cracked pepper.
Serving suggestions:
Serve with plenty of vegetables. May also be used as a sandwich topper or salad dressing.
Yogurt Muffins
Yield: 6 large muffins
Ingredients
3/4 cup Yogurt
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 large egg
1 teaspoon finely grated orange rind
1 1/2 cups self–rising flour *
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup cranberries
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350°.
In a small bowl, mix yogurt, vegetable oil, egg, and orange rind.
In another bowl, combine flour, sugar (reserving 1 teaspoon for later), and cinnamon. Mix well.
Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients. Stir gently with flexible rubber spatula until just combined. Add cranberries or blueberries or any other "add–ins".
Spray muffin tin with non–stick cooking spray. Spoon batter evenly into 6 muffin cups. Sprinkle with remaining teaspoon sugar. Bake 30 minutes or until golden. Cool in pan on a rack.
Substitutions
You may substitute 1 1/2 cups all–purpose flour plus 2 teaspoons baking powder and 1/4 teaspoon salt.
Variations
Instead of 1 cup cranberries, use 1 cup blueberries
or 1 cup peeled and grated apple
or 1 cup chopped dates
calorie : 260
Spinach yogurt
1 lb Fresh spinach leaves
1 t Salt
16 oz Plain yogurt
1/2 ts Fresh ground black pepper
1 Green chilli pepper
- fresh, hot
1/2 ts Cayenne pepper
Rinse the spinach and cook very quickly in a saucepan until wilted, with just the moisture remaining on the leaves and a little salt. Immediately plunge the spinach into cold water to preserve the bright green color. Drain well, then chop finely and stir in the yogurt, black pepper and seeded chilli cut into very fine rings. Turn into a serving bowl and, just before serving, sprinkle with the cayenne pepper.
Carrot yogurt
Ingredients:
Yogurt 1 cup
Grated Carrots 1/4 cup
Roasted peanuts 1 tbsp.
Mustard seeds 1 tsp
Vegetable oil 1 tbsp.
Cumin seed (roasted) 1 tsp.
Black pepper powder 1/2 tsp.
Salt to taste
Coriander leaves 1 tbsp.
Method:
Make powder of roasted peanuts and roasted cumin seeds.
Beat the yogurt to get smooth consistency. Add salt, black pepper powder and above powdered mixture. Mix well.
Add grated carrots and mix.
Heat oil in a pan. Add mustard seeds.When the seeds begin to splutter, remove the pan from heat.
Add this to the curd mixture.
Garnish with chopped coriander leaves. Serve chill.
Nescio: * nah, i need to increase my intake coz its low on a daily basis and inshaAllah i will...coz everyone gave me some ideas here. About osteoporosis..yes post-menopause is one of the causes..but, i have read at several places that its not the only cause..it can occur at several ages due to other reasons as well..and americans and canadians have a greater risk of it..and since as a kid and teen my dairy intake was minimal..i need to take care of my bones now...thanks for your suggestion..i'll look into cheese category :-)
CurruptAngel: * Can you try substitutes of cheese? soy cheese maybe? Yes, i love to include yogurt as part of cooking and also milk in small quantities now..and yes i had been looking into raita and dip recipes..and i'll be using those frequently soon inshaAllah..By yogurt curry with pakora..do you mean karhi? dahi phulki? dahi bondian? sure..i'll be eating those more often coz summer is almost around..and i like eating cold stuff in hot seasons. Thanks :-)