I’m all up for a healthy and FAT-FREE diet now. I want a yummy food too, I just want to enjoy a healthy food. it’s really hard to swallow the raw veggies, can you guys guide me what’s the method of making baked veggies?
All I know is that people add vinegar and black pepper and salt + olive oil.
Hmmm I don't have any chef's recipe but all you need to do is to grill them with some salt + black pepper + olive oil ......and if you don't want fat free then use butter instead of olive oil.
I haven't tried it but I think some soya sauce would add to the flavour too.
I'm all up for a healthy and FAT-FREE diet now. I want a yummy food too, I just want to enjoy a healthy food. it's really hard to swallow the raw veggies, can you guys guide me what's the method of making baked veggies?
All I know is that people add vinegar and black pepper and salt + olive oil.
I need the proper method.
looking forward to your response
Add some
Lemon/lime juice and favorite dried herbs to your recipe and bake at 350 degrees in oven. They are delicious! I roast potatoes that way. In fact I posted a pic in weekly competition. It is absolutely delicious and healthy.
my mum does them in a wok and they turn out really tasty. recently when we've been having roasts or other non-desi food, she makes cabbage (sounds gross, I know) but it's actually really tasty especially with some gravy on top.
to be honest, if you want a healthy diet, you need to cut back on the carbs too. so forget the potatoes (or they should not be the main vegetable.
and what desi cooking? when we make salan, there's never more than a few tbs of oil put in the pan - just enough to cover the bottom to brown the onions.
my mum does them in a wok and they turn out really tasty. recently when we've been having roasts or other non-desi food, she makes cabbage (sounds gross, I know) but it's actually really tasty especially with some gravy on top.
to be honest, if you want a healthy diet, you need to cut back on the carbs too. so forget the potatoes (or they should not be the main vegetable.
and what desi cooking? when we make salan, there's never more than a few tbs of oil put in the pan - just enough to cover the bottom to brown the onions.
Are roasted / baked potatoes unhealthy as well? They are definitely loaded with carbs but I don't think they are necessarily unhealthy. put kindly correct if I am wrong. I do think that should be used sparingly if you are trying to lose weight.
I absolutely love steamed vegetables. In Pakistan, we have our own farm/farmhouse so we got vegetables from there when visiting on vacay - organic, fresh everyday. My Dad and uncle had steamed veggies for lunch everyday. Very easy to make - take a tad of olive oil, and slice up a bunch of garlic (slice, not dice!). Fry it in the oil so it's lightly golden and then add your veggies (Peas, carrots, cauliflower, brocolli) and stir fry lightly. Lower the heat, add a bunch of freshly ground black pepper (none of the packaged garbage!) and some salt, and steam until the veggies are tender. We added spinach and cabbage at the end, just to wilt them. Absolutely delicious - the key is to use fresh produce.
If you want to roast your veggies, just toss them in some olive oil, salt and pepper and minced garlic. When they're evenly coated, spread them out on a cookie/baking sheet and roast until tender.
And if you like a little bit of kick to your veggies, sprinkle with some crushed red pepper flakes.
Are roasted / baked potatoes unhealthy as well? They are definitely loaded with carbs but I don't think they are necessarily unhealthy. put kindly correct if I am wrong. I do think that should be used sparingly if you are trying to lose weight.
They're not unhealthy per se, but they're loaded with carbs as stoppit said. So it's best to keep the potatoes less and use other vegetables more.
Hmmm I don't have any chef's recipe but all you need to do is to grill them with some salt + black pepper + olive oil ......and if you don't want fat free then use butter instead of olive oil.
I haven't tried it but I think some soya sauce would add to the flavour too.
I wanted something which is FAT FREE and yummy also. I can't reduce my diet so I thought that I should stop having OILY/FRIED food (Foods with loads of Carbs are also included in NOT TO TAKE category). I used the same method you mentioned in your post. Thanks alot
I heard that cabbage is the most healthy diet food. I love to eat it.
Whenever I make these roasted veggies, they are a huge hit. Use fresh herbs and whatever veggies you like. I adapted the recipe from something I saw online: Roasted Vegetables Recipe - Allrecipes.com
The first time I made these was for a baby shower, so I changed the veggies since I only wanted to use “baby” veggies. I also added basil (why not?). And I added some crushed red pepper.
Well, I am of the opinion that a diet high in carbs is unhealthy. I love potatoes (ask Milly) but they don't hold much nutritional value.
The prevalence of type II diabetes and PCOS in Pakistani's just goes to show how unhealthy our diet and lifestyle is... and I believe it's more to do with all the carbs we consume (and then sedentary lifestyle) than fats. If people are stuffing their faces with methai and eating salan drenched in oil, it's obviously bad. But you find so many desi's complaining that they have cut back on fats/oils/sweets and they are still having problems. You need to leave off the white roti, rice, pastas, potatoes, breads as well!
We never have rice and roti together. Rice in generally only once a week. Roti is always wholemeal or mixed wholemeal with a bit of white. No one eats cereals. Bread is also brown.
I absolutely love steamed vegetables. In Pakistan, we have our own farm/farmhouse so we got vegetables from there when visiting on vacay - organic, fresh everyday. My Dad and uncle had steamed veggies for lunch everyday. Very easy to make - take a tad of olive oil, and slice up a bunch of garlic (slice, not dice!). Fry it in the oil so it's lightly golden and then add your veggies (Peas, carrots, cauliflower, brocolli) and stir fry lightly. Lower the heat, add a bunch of freshly ground black pepper (none of the packaged garbage!) and some salt, and steam until the veggies are tender. We added spinach and cabbage at the end, just to wilt them. Absolutely delicious - the key is to use fresh produce.
If you want to roast your veggies, just toss them in some olive oil, salt and pepper and minced garlic. When they're evenly coated, spread them out on a cookie/baking sheet and roast until tender.
And if you like a little bit of kick to your veggies, sprinkle with some crushed red pepper flakes.
Yes! This is how we do it also. We add some salt and mixed herbs though too. Don't always use the garlic and ginger (depends on the veg).
If I'm just making potatoes (small new potatoes cut in half) to go with a meal, this is how I do them as well. When done, they are crisp on the outside, and soft and fluffy on the inside.
I agree with stoppit she gave some really good advice. Desi diet is not only high in fat but also carbs and guess what happens to carbs in the body? It gets stored as fat in the body. So don't make potatoes a staple vegetable. Go for more vegetables and lean protein as compared to carbs and fat but don't totally cut out carbs.
Well, I am of the opinion that a diet high in carbs is unhealthy. I love potatoes (ask Milly) but they don't hold much nutritional value.
The prevalence of type II diabetes and PCOS in Pakistani's just goes to show how unhealthy our diet and lifestyle is... and I believe it's more to do with all the carbs we consume (and then sedentary lifestyle) than fats. If people are stuffing their faces with methai and eating salan drenched in oil, it's obviously bad. But you find so many desi's complaining that they have cut back on fats/oils/sweets and they are still having problems. You need to leave off the white roti, rice, pastas, potatoes, breads as well!
We never have rice and roti together. Rice in generally only once a week. Roti is always wholemeal or mixed wholemeal with a bit of white. No one eats cereals. Bread is also brown.
Can I eat whole wheat roti? we use the fresh wheat flour. does this help us in dieting?
I use Chakki atta. Supposedly that is better. But again portion control is the key. rice is the worst but consuming too many rotis is also not good when you are trying to loose weight.
^ yeah that's exactly we use "chakki atta" I eat half or sometimes small in size roti as I mentioned I can't starve and eat raw veggies all the time. that's why I keep roti in my daily menu. Rice can be avoided