I just finished throwing away 100’s of shopping bags, saving other 100’s in groups so that ‘kabhi kaam aa jayengay’
What is with our possessiveness with lifafay sambhaalna ? I hope I am not alone ! Anyone else ? how do you store them ? AND do you even use the stored ones ?
Re: Bags full of bags
We got a plastic bag organizer like this one
VARIERA Plastic bag dispenser - IKEA
We reuse bags as bin liners. I’ve also started keeping cloth bags by the door so I remember to carry one when going shopping.
Any excess bags, we just recycle (there are recycling bins at the entrance of most grocery stores).
I just used the thousands of stored bags during house shifting
I do this too!
Now our stores charge for them, so people here are more conscientious about carrying around reusable bags. I’ve also started collecting those. ![]()
But I cleared out a whole bunch of extra plastic bags and gave them back to the grocery stores to reuse. They also have bins outside the stores for people to put extra plastic bags and anyone can take them as needed.
I just don’t like throwing them away. Reuse/recycle!
we do NOT save bags because we have gone bags-free [to be environmentally friendly :D]…we take our own cloth bags for shopping.
I have this wall mounted in my pantry too! I also reuse the plastic grocery bags as trash bin liners and the excess bags I just send to recycling. Our city provides large recycling receptacles to each resident and once a week the recycle bins are picked up and emptied along with the trash (which is twice a week pick up)
Meanwhile in pakistan: RECYCLING BAGS??
woh kya hota hai?
I have used these bags for multiple things like lining trays for koftay , kebabs for freezing. Using smaller ones for storing chicken bones for making stock. I also used them as diaper throw bags. Used tgem to put shoes in before storing in suitcases. Used then to stuff shoes to maintain shape. Trash liners are a must .
I don’t do all of these things here because stores charge us and so we use cloth bags. Keep them in the car to collect wrappers and stuff.
I use for shopping, sometimes for freezing gosht into smaller packets, bin liners like everyone else said, giving gifts in… just kidding lol. I am like you proto - I have literally hundreds of bags in the corner of my kitchen which I’m sure I don’t use. The Ikea product someone posted is cute lol, but I’d need about 30 of them to accommodate the number of bags I have in my house!
S02 - what a cool idea to recycle your bags at the supermarket! I love the idea that someone else could use the extra bags I have! I always take mine shopping with me and when I have any left over, I really want to offer them to the person behind me just in case they don’t have any, but I never do! ![]()
We use re-usable bags here for shopping as it is encouraged to protect the environment. If I ever forget or go for a spontaneous food shop and don’t have my bags I get annoyed , the plastic bags are not good for carrying heavy goods. Yep we have those recycle your old bags at the front of the supermarket too.
I also keep these bags but i just recycle the ones I find would be excess. I dont have Ikea one but rather anotheer shopping bag holder which holds them for me. Proto recycling is just we put it in our recycling bin and the on the pick up of trash days we put our trashes out on road indicated and they take it away. Here recycle stuff is taken every fortnightly.
However I am more of fond of storing the decorative kind of paper and plastic shopping bags that we can gift in too. For those I have in built drawer storage in my bed and i keep them there
LOL omg. I can so relate to this!! I live with my sister and her husband and all I have is a room to worry about Even in my room ihave a bag of bags - probably more than my sister even has “just in case”. AND I have a hard time parting with them like throwing or recycling them as if I am going to be stranded one day without them. What the!! LOL so funny that we all do the same things but think its slightly crazy when we do it.
I just reuse them or recycle them
I have the ikea bag dispenser and still bags in a bag because it can’t hold them all. :desi hoarder:
I used to have bagsssss full of bagsssss…![]()
They all were in a cabinet and behind those bags of bags were some kitchen appliances I used like maybe 1-2 times a year.Every time I had to take the appliance out,I had to take all the bags out and just make myself miserable.Then a few months ago it dawned on me to just get rid of them…I took them to the nearby grocery store and left them at their recycling box.The end.
I do save some though.I use them as trash can liners,to double bag meat packets in freezer,used a ton to pack shoes in my suitcase on my last trip,keep a few in the car(alongwith those fabric reusable bags) to use at grocery stores who don’t give out bags and also for trips to the park etc to toss in trash where trash cans aren’t present,used them a lotttt for diaper disposing when my kid was younger.Also,I have started to try to get fewer bags from stores.Like if I am bagging my stuff myself,I’d rather use one bag instead of two.Or if I just bought I can carry out in my hand,I’d do that.Saves a lot of hassle.