Baghban

i finally watched this movie last night.

i think it should be made mandatory for all children to watch.

My favourite scenes…

• when his glasses get broken accidentally, then he’s trying to read his wife’s letter, and the image comes out blurry and he puts the letter close towards his eyes… and he’s squinting trying to read. That broke my heart.

• while the husband is on the phone with his wife, he’s pretending he’s eating, clattering the dishes so it makes noise, and his wife says “Aap ko theek sai jhoot bolna bhi nahin ata”.

• the speech at the end that he makes. “Laykin aaj kal ki generation practical ho gai hai… sensible ho gai hai…” man! That speech is worth writing down.

i loved this movie. Very different. Very relevant. Should be made mandatory viewing i think.

I agree 100%. It was a such a lovely movie which potrey’s the truth about today’s generation. Amitbabh was superb :k:

yeah i loved the movie. Amitabh was amazing and i lvoed the fact it was based on the parents love for another, truely beautiful

and Nadia those were some of the best scenes ever. There was another scene which i really liked

its when that lady reads out the letter for him when hes glasses are broken :(

oh Sadzzz :( That was another of my favourite scenes. i forgot to include that. i made up a mental list of 3, 4 favourite scenes. That was one of them. She goes, "Ab main nahin aur parh sakti" and leaves the table crying.

Yaasir, yes it portrays the truth about this generation. man. It's a heartbreaking movie. It's a real heartbreaking movie.

yeah their love for each other is sooooooooooo ... what can you say. SubhanAllah. One can only dream about having that type of love with your husband/wife after 40 years of marriage.

it was definately a beautiful movie.. i felt some things were a bit too dramatic, but nonetheless, it was great... actually quite needed..

there are soo many middle aged parents whose children have left them all on their own and this should be an eye opener for such spoilt brats...

my heart goes out to those parents with such children

Thank you! Hehe :blush:

But that does not take away the theme of the movie. :k: I know many many parents who really enjoyed it.

:k: Good movie…

i thought it was stupid..

** * if u have kids that u have brought up to the best of ur ability like big b and hema malini did in the film and they turn out like they way they did then i feel disowning them wouldn't be considered bad it would be a blessing! personally speakin' kickin' the $%^& out of em' is wat i'd do ** *

loved the movie... heart stirring - its a reinvention of the old movie Avtar - everyone who liked Baghban should watch that too.

Although the love and affection between Amitabh & Hema goes overboard at times, the issue at heart is genuinely realistic! Amitabh can really chameleon his talent into the role... The only thing that ostracized the movie for me was Salman Khan - he is a misfit in the film!

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#:
personally speakin' kickin' the $%^& out of em' is wat i'd do

easier said than done.... parents cant just forget their kids

Umar Talib.. i agree.. Salmans role wasnt necessary, although it made a point that sometimes water is thicker than blood

*Originally posted by ~Tikhi Jalebi~: *
i thought it was stupid..

Yes it was a stupid movie, how come it didn't have the same effect on me, I was not moved by any of the scenes!

*Originally posted by sadzzz: *

easier said than done.... parents cant just forget their kids

• ** who said forget them or disown them on a permanent basis!!!!! do a trial period and slowly they'll come to their senses and feel the wrath of life when th chips r down, like the kids of big b and hema malini felt in the climax of the movie baghban. it was a nice movie something different then the average movie made in the mumbai film industry. * **

i watched this movie ages ago it was fantastic and the storyline was different. It is really sad though sumtimes and the songs r gr8t. :)yeh it it really teaches the new generation how our parents have went through thick and thin for thier children.

I really liked this movie, although like Sadzzz said, it went a bit over the top at times. I kept wondering why, if the parents loved each other so much, why they wouldn't talk more on the phone ... or even agree to living apart from each other in the first place? sigh

people had told me this movie was nice despite the bad reviews. If you FF all the songs it's better. The movie surprised adn touched me. I loved the ending when the parents disowned their terrible kids. But it also makes you think - should one be so dependent on their kids? shouldn't people be smart enough to invest for their old age?

Pathetic movie , allot of overacting and exaggeration…..:nook:

it was worth watching :k: