Bad videographers and photographers

hi,

Just wondering has this ever happened to anyone here. When the videographer misses some important parts which you would have liked on your wedding video? Or has a photographer been not too good and didnt capture the event properly?

Please feel free to share your thought…

Re: Bad videographers and photographers

sort of… our original wedding photographers were booked a year in advance, everything was fine, then all of a sudden they decided to charge us a $1000 extra to cover the tax, which they had initially waived. it was in our contract and everything. a month before the wedding, we cancelled with them because they were being such arseholes. SO STRESSFUL! i wouldn’t wish it on my enemy! with only one month to go till the wedding, i ended up scrambling to find another photographer who would be free, and AH, i am SOOOO HAPPY i found them! they turned out to be even better, more professional, and so much nicer than those two idiots- it was the easiest and **best decision **i made about my wedding, handsdown.
Boyfriend/Girlfriend l Professional Wedding Photography
:slight_smile:

Yes.. my photographer took gorgeous portrait shots and all but when it came to the actual event, I wasn’t too happy with the pictures. Walking in, cutting cake, sitting on stage- the pictures were just so-so, the kind any person could have taken, important parts such as rasams were not captured well at all. Alot of the times, I saw her just standing around and I had to TELL her, ‘can you take a picture?!!!’ She excelled at the portraits though so I have some great pictures atleast but overall, nothing extra ordinary.
Also, she started rushing everything post 10 pm and came upto the stage to say she was going to charge me extra money if I didn’t start my portraits right away. We already had established that she was going to stay till the event lasted and being a desi, she already knew that desi events don’t end at 11 or even 12. That’s why I got really pissed too because even though we had a hotel booked for her and everything, suddenly she told us she wanted to drive back home (about 2 hours drive). Still, to accomodate her, I basically had to rush through cake cutting, couldn’t even stick around to watch my brother/cousins friend perform, and all the fun dancing everyone else had because we had to go in a seperate room for portraits. Then we called in everyone for family portraits and my brother had gone to put some stuff away in the car so my mom asked her if she would wait 2 mins so he could be in the family pictures. She started yelling at my mom saying we cannot exploit her at 1 am and blah blah. I think at that point, everyone especially my MIL got very shocked and walked out of the room. My mom politely just said, okay beta if you want to go, you can go. I wanted to remind her that incase you have forgotten, you made a commitment to me saying you would stay till the end of the event even if it ended at 2. Also, when I was paying her that night, I was writing a check and she refused to take it saying she wanted cash and if I wrote her a check, she was going to charge me an interest rate on it… wth?? How was I suppose to be carrying so much money in cash?? When I had communicated with her before, she had CLEARLY told me that check or cash was fine. Thankfully, my husband had some cash on him but still we had to write a check for part of the amount which she accepted without interest :rolleyes:

I am thankful to her for taking really gorgeous pictures of us, especially at our mehndi even though the live event photography wasn’t all that but yeah, very unprofessional attitude. Now while hiring someone for rukhsati, I am gonna make sure I bring up these points so they know what NOT to do. And I am going to make sure I keep a copy of the contract near me at my wedding at all times :hehe:

thats just too bad!!! are u in canada???

well on my cousin`s shaadi.... it was a huge mess.... for mehndi my taya abba asked one of our family friend to cover it.... who have been covering so many shaadies and other events in our family... so taya abba was in lahore and the that unccle was in rawalpindi... tu taya abba called him and said keh u are invvited for shaadi plus u have to cover the mehndi of my daughter... tu he was like... i will do it... plus it will be like a gift from me to her... mainye gudoon khilaya hai uss ko....... so anyways on the mehndi day... my taya abba went to him and said ... get ur things ready and we will start the function soon........ tu he was like.... what camera??? i dont take my video cameras to family events...... my taya abba was like... i told u a month bak and even called to remind u two days ago that u are going to cover the mehndi...... tu he was like... well ok.... i have my ghar ka camera i will take pics..... taya abba was so upset.... he said no.... leave it... u enjoy the family event!!!

thankfully we had our handy cam... and my mamo jan had his professional camera.. tu both my mamo and bro covered the mehndi...... and i tell u.... it was much better then any professional video and photographer!!

then for next day... for shaadi and valima taya abba and my cousin's father in law had decided keh they will get same person to cover the shaadi and valima... and her FIL took the responsiblity to organize that.... we gave him a huge list of very good videographers.... aur pata nahian where did he got his... he was damn annoying.... plus when the pics came out... our side of the family was nowhere.... even in the video....... we were nowhere... it was all her in-laws family and their photoshots........ my taya abba didn't said anthing to him.... but it was very upsetting coz again our handy cam and my mamo's sstill cam worked!!!

now for his next daughter.... we are going to get everything ourselves.... no family business or colabaration!!!

and yaa on another cousin's shaadi photographer ki hard disk failed and she lost all her wedding pics... poor her... she got her photosession again after a month or so!!!

I made sure I had a desi photographer/videographer for my wedding and husband made sure the same for the walima. Desi timing is always out of sync so I wanted someone who would understand that and not rush my big day because I cannot stand that.

For mehendi I hired a gora photographer who did a good job but to this day the enlargements he had promised me are not here. I tried emailing and calling him but he has not responded. Its been a little over 6 months since I got married and I loved the job he did with the pictures but I only got them on a CD not hard copy like he had promised.

That was my only complaint. Everything else went smoothly alhamdullilah.

I know of someone whos ruksati didnt get filmed because videographer was in a hurry to go!

Shay that's horrible. Why did you pay the woman right after she took the pics at the end of the night? You should have paid her like 10% when you signed the contract, and the rest when you picked up the pics. I would have gone crazy if that happened with me.

At my wedding, the guy I got to cover my wedding was to only come to do the portrait session with me and my husband. However, I ended up getting to the hotel very late, and the man had already taken my husbands pics alone, and he took my pics alone for about 15 min and my stupid aunt was rushing him cuz everyone was waiting in the hall for me so the nikkah could start. after that the guy left and his assistant took pis of me and my husband together cuz it was very late and it really wasnt the photographers fault, my whole day was pretty much behind schedule and the photographer was there from 7 pm to 11 pm just waiting for me. But his assistant did a pretty good job too and the pics came out great.

The one thing I didn't like was on the day of the mehndi the videographer came with enough film to last 6 hours. And our mehndi event was very very long, after both sides, girls and guys came in, there was the whole rasm, then there were choreographed dances with about 20 people (not all at the same time), then there were comedians, at the end we had a medley with all my cousins and brother and sister acting out my grandparents, parents, uncles, aunts and finally me and my husband. after that ended, everyone was on the dance floor.

so the videographer ended up making the movie for most of the night and right when the medley started (which was probably the best and most fun part of the night and everyone was looking forward to it) the guy said he only had 10 min of film left. my cousins and siblings had practiced for it for months, and it was hilarious with commentary done in between the songs by my uncle about how each couple met and got married. It just sucked he didnt bring enough film with him to cover it so now in the mehndi video u only see half of the medley.

I am just shocked, it is very sad, loosing, missing or corrupting the video or photo data of something that cannot be exersized again. Most of the time, video and photographers are well prepared and bring enough tapes, memory cards, lights and other stuff to cover the event, but after reading all this my heart beat went up, how ill prepared these pros were.
I know sometimes video person could miss one or the other shot but that is just one to two minutes and if it is something important going on like cake cutting or Nikah and he is running out of the tape or cable or some other thing then he normally stop the function and inform what he needs to change and how many minutes he required. But there are some who during the wedding just keeps their camera lights on all the time but record only very selective. same goes with the photographers, they have to change batteries, memory stick and some times lense, both the camera man has to plan ahead and the party people have to cooperate with him.
I think person who is contracting should ask the videoguy to write everything on the contract very clear, and ask the original tapes of the function shoot as well as edited ones, it might cost few buck extra but it will make videographer more responsible to make video. also if you dont like his editing, later you can take those originals to some other pro to have him edit it. One girl shot three weddings for some videoguy on contract and at the end she found out that her lense or camera had some technical problems and 75% of every picture was out of focus and it happened for all three weddings and she took over 2000 images. Now videoperson didn't get any money from his clients for those three weddings in total of 19000 dollars. He asked the girl to compensate but she replied that she didn't have any written contract with the video guy and she is not responsible for any thing, now the case is in the court because the client is sueing video person the original contractor and video guy sueing the sub contractor photogrpher lady, client wants all the videos from the video person without paying and also asking the compesation for their defective pictures, so let see what the result will be.

I think we should make the list of things to ask these pros (i am one of the pros) just to make sure no one have these disasters in their weddings.

I am so happy this thread is here cause I feel like i should warn everyone!
I got married in the summer and couldn't decide on the video until the last two months. Anyway, one of my friend's brother got married and I had watched his wedding video...so I booked the same videographer...his prices were pretty reasonable too. I was going to book Vijdan for my video but he's expensive! It's been almost 8 months and I still haven't received my video. First of all it's his responsibility to take pictures from all three events if he wants to put them in the video. He nagged us forever to send him pictures. the first time, he didn't receive the email...then I decided to mail him a cd with pictures which surprisingly, broke. Sent him an email again. My mother in law and I have called him sooo many times and he doesn't call back..doesn't respond to the messages! I am so mad! This time around when I am in Toronto...I am planning to just show up at his place!

^ u had this experience with Vijdan???

PSB, file a complaint with the better business bureau. i fought with merry maids one time to get my money back after they “cleaned” our place, and after i filed the complaint, i got my money back.
Canadian Council of Better Business Bureaus

I know.. it's a lesson learnt and iA at the rukhsati, Im gonna make sure that whoever I hire KNOWS what I do NOT want to happen and even on the contract, Im gonna have them specify all this stuff.

On the other hand, I had a WONDERFUL experience with my videographers. I called up so many and got different quotes. Then one day on facebook, I saw one of my friends mention something about his videography business. Turned out he and his older brother had just started it and so far they had only recorded a few sweet sixteens and thats it. He gave me a quote which I felt was too high especially since this was gonna be his first wedding and he didn't even have any samples to show me. Then about 3 months later, I found this other company and we were gonna book that white guy and can you believe I forgot to do that until 5 days before my wedding. I called his company and they said they were available, and needed me to pay over the phone and no, not 50 percent deposit but the ENTIRE amount. My mil was so pissed, she was like they are not suppose to do that but the guy kept insisting we pay or they won't cover the event. Now call it a blessing or what that I thought of my friend at that point and called him up to ask if he could cover my wedding 3 days later. I didn't even care how good or bad he was, I just needed a videographer. He spoke to his brother and they were like OF COURSE we will.. lol. I told them what my budget was, a bit less than what they had quoted me, and they agreed. They didn't ask for any deposit, no 50 percent, nothing.
They called me the morning of wedding to ask what time to be there and the location. And exactly one hour before the event was suppose to start, they were there setting up everything. They stayed till the last minute of the wedding and told me that I would get the DVDs in about 3 months because editing takes alot of time. We stayed in touch through emails, they asked me all about the songs I wanted, the pictures I wanted in there, etc. FINALLY, not even 2 months had gone by when he called me saying it was READY!!! and that he was sending me a 'draft' so I can make any changes I want.

I remember I had gone shopping and when I got back, I saw this package outside the door and I nearly forgot all about the shopping bags and danced all the way to my room upstairs because I was sooooo excited.. LOL. And you won't believe it, I started crying after watching just the first 5 mins of it. They did such a BEAUTIFUL job!!! They even had a 5 min 'music video' on us with all our special moments and also put in a slideshow of our mehndi and dholki pictures at the beginning, family's intro, and so much more. And instead of the video just going on and on, they broke it into different parts like arrival of baraat, nikkah, dancing, etc.. the captions they showed in between were so cute. The best part was the end where they put in a slideshow of all our post-marriage pictures in different clothes/places. I got soooo emotional while watching it all because I had been really pissed after getting pictures but this totally made me the happiest. All the special moments, everything, he captured it ALL and edited it so freakin well.

I told them about what I needed changed, what song I wanted where and just a few tiny things here and there and he took care of it all. He even made me as many DVDs as I had requested because we were sending a few to Pakistan and for our relatives here. Anyone who watched it loved it SO much. Most of them even sang along with the songs and anytime we watch, we have so much fun. I already told my friend that he's all booked up for all my rukhsati events already. I heard they are putting up their own site now and they asked me if they can use a few mins clip of my wedding, I can't wait to see it. I'll link it here too.

pyari si bachi: thats really bad! Gave you heard anything from him yet and did he also do your photos?

wow.. so many bad experiences !~ I think I would be classified as the "bad br-oom) cuz our photo/vid guy keeps calling us to tell us he has done the pics and we have to pick them but we still haven't gone in yet ! yikeeeessss :s

hey guys

for those of you in toronto, i've heard some scary stories about Ross Photography! To the point where people left their thousand of dollars deposits with him and LEFT. so be careful.

I love the work these brothers do they are paki and come the most close to paki styled wedding videos from back home (somehow videos turn out so nicely back in pakistan) anyhow :

A & A Video Productions- Voted Best of Weddings 3 Years in a Row by the Knot!

they have this great thing that like airbrushes all the images and made us look great (they did a lot of my friends’ weddings)

Sara: No, it wasn't Vajdan. Vajdan only did the pictures.
SGC: Thanks. I hope I don't have to do this :( I really want my video!!

and i still haventtt heard from him. I am going to toronto on the 13th of Feb..will let yu guys know what happens!

they are great .. we used them for my brother’s wedding and the video came out great.. they are very friendly and great to wrok with

Has anyone here had experiences with CB Art photo and video. They are based out of Maryland. They had a really nice ad in a south asian bridal magazine but I still would like some personal reviews about their photography and videography? Their photos look good but their videos are nothing special. Any comments?

OMG.. iam soo happie for u <3
so where da videogrphers again ??