Bad 'Kismet' after Shaadi- Is it really only after shaadi?

Okay, so these random thoughts have been coming to my head for some time now as I try to make sense of my life. I wanted to ask GSers what they thought.

When I was younger I rejected the very idea of kismet(destiny) playing a role in a person’s life. I thought we were the masters of our own fate and as long as my life decisions were sensible and ethical things would eventually work out. However, that did not happen.

Slowly, over the years I have resigned myself to the fact that there is very little in my life that is in my control, life will keep throwing curve balls and all that is in my control is how I deal with them and even if I played one inning well doesn’t mean from then on my life is going to be easy or good. Life is a CONSTANT STRUGGLE and there will always be things, major things in life that will be out of my sphere of control.How significantly these ‘beyond your control factors’ impact your life is maybe what will call ‘kismet’. If you do not believe in kismet you can stop reading any further :stuck_out_tongue:

As a girl, growing up Pakistan, I was used to hearing things like , ‘kismet burri thi, shaadi ke baad itnay burray susral walay milay’ and ‘bahut kismet wali he, itna acha husband mila he’ etc etc. so normally in the desi culture kismet is thought to come into play only after Shaadi. However, I have observed there are girls who were ignored, less favourite daughters of their parents before marriage and things did not turn out well for them after marriage either. Infact, if I look around me all the divorced girls I know were always the less ladli or less important child despite the fact that all of them are good, obedient daughters who love and actively take care of their parents and have done nothing to earn the position of the least favourite child.

That made me think that maybe their is a connection, your life pre marriage is a reflection of how things will be for you after marriage? If you are destined by Allah to have a difficult life generally then maybe that starts from the time you are born and continues throughout your life? Or maybe the reason of less than happy married life is because you were the ignored child, your parents did not put much effort into the rishta screening process nor were they very supportive during the initial bumpy years of marriage or when things turned tumultuous leaving you on your own during the whole journey?

Case in point, a friend of mine who is now divorced tells me her brother her has been favoured over her all her life. When time came for her parents did marry her to what looked like a good man but no effort was done to do background checks, her marriage preps and functions were treated as very trivial matters. It was exactly the opposite for her brother’s wedding some years back when everything from her bhabi’s suits to choosing wedding invitations were treated as paramount issues. The same distinction continued when problems arose in their marriages, to hers the parents had an indifferent attitude leaving her to make the decisions , with her brother they actively engaged to prevent solve issues. She ended up divorced and now gets to hear things like ‘bus kismet achi nahein nikli’ from aunties. I was wondering if she has been treated differently from her childhood and her parents had taken more than a casual interest in her life maybe ‘uski kismet achi nikal aati’. Knowing that your parents have your back gives you a whole lot of strength and an entirely new perspective to deal with life’s problems.

I know of other cases like these too, so maybe I was thinking what we call kismet and what we generally hold Allah responsible for when things go bad are really little contributions to our lives from people around us and put together over the years they determine how happy or difficult our life is.

Thoughts?

Re: Bad ‘Kismet’ after Shaadi- Is it really only after shaadi?

You have to give it your best shot, I know about one of the best neurologist here who became handicapped from the waist down and still pursued his career, the most respected scientist Stephen Hawking is a paraplegic. My dear friend Tony is an X para-olympian and on the Olympic committee and helps and mentors youngsters and is one of the happiest guys I have met. He was born with Polio. The rule here is that you make the best of what you have.

when it comes to your children’s marriages, parents do have a tendency to act differently between their son and daughter’s marriages…

if they dont give too much input into their daughter’s homes, it’s because, “beti ka ghar hai”, which is considered immensely more fragile, than their own son’s home (their home). their daughter’s house is a stranger’s house to them, and often best thought, to leave it alone, and they can figure it out..

when it comes to their sons, almost anything goes, cuz the bahu is in THEIR home, not the other way around, so they have alot more leeway in what happens.

I would have to disagree. I personally know of a girl who was a pampered princess by her family. Unfortunately, she ended up in a physically and verbally abusive marriage and it ended in divorce within 12 months.

Another girl I know, also led quite a charmed life pre-marriage. Her marriage barely lasted 8 months due to ongoing verbal abuse from her ex husband.

There are several other examples but I don’t think there is a link between pre and post marriage and the person you end up with.

Domestic violence there is an endemic social problem and can’t be blamed on fate. The only way out of it is serious social and ideological reform and enhancement of laws protecting women and children. I am dead against pampering children it destroys their life and is really bad parenting.

**However, I have observed there are girls who were ignored, less favourite daughters of their parents before marriage and things did not turn out well for them after marriage either.

**I agree .Not always and yes girls that are very “loved” at home may end up in bad marriages. However,I do think this happens. Definitely upbringing helps form a persons perception of themselves and the world and that in turn affects the choices the individual makes.

I believe we are pretty much helpless in front of kismat. You cant fight your taqdeer and I dont think it starts after marriage. It starts from the day we are born till we die. Dua can change naseeb and staying close to Allah helps deal with what may be written in our fate. We eventually have to deal with what we are destined to deal with.

With bad marriages,I think it also has to do with the girls self confidence as to how much importance she gives herself etc . Not always , marriage is a risk and we are human , we don’t know what tomorrow will bring. So really anyone can go wrong.

However, I do believe that girls just say that are not “ladli” at home or are not praised or feel neglected may look for that love elsewhere. They MAY have a low self esteem and low self confidence. So , people can easily make them feel bad about themselves, they generally might have attention seeking behaviour(as their are not getting much healthy attention at home) etc etc Usually then you can easily fall into traps.Because anyone that provides that attention or what they may think is lacking they will go to quickly and perceive it as real even if it is not real.Maybe accept rishtas because they feel they might not get another. Either settle for less, or quickly or just be really confused. All these traits are negative. A low self esteem is the biggest culprit. If you lack confidence people can easily manipulate you and if you don’t consider yourself worthy you will work hard to gain peoples approval and accept any thing that is offered in return.

I think its important to consider yourself worthy.Despite what may or mayn’t be lacking in your upbringing. It’s important to remind yourself that Allah created you and Allah has honoured all the children of Adam fullstop does not matter what society tells you, what people say , what you look like , what your qualifications or achievements are, you are a human being worthy of all good , is what everyone should believe. Self confidence is key.When you treat yourself well, you force others too. This leads to clarity, you know what you want and don’t want from life , you are not confused hence you will make better choices. You will encourage your parents to screen better , you will fight for your rights and you will know what your rights are. I believe this. Again, nothing guarantees anything and yes, life is a test however these qualities are essential if you want to do well in life. I think when you consider yourself worthy of good you attract good as well.

You cant really fight fate, but you can have good thoughts of Allah and yourself and this makes all the difference. I think the link between “bad” for a lack of better work pre marriage life and “bad” after pre marriage life is that the “bad” pre marriage life may lead an individual to have low self esteem which then leads to bad choices.Not always, but sometimes and in some cases.

Agree