Bad dreams/sleeping problem

Okay I didn’t know where to post this but this seemed like the best place!

Anyway, for the past month or so whenever I go to sleep I have bad dreams. And I am not talking about sleep as night sleep but even 20 30 minute naps. Some of the dreams are downright scary too. I NEVER used to have ANY dreams for months on let alone every freaking day!

I looked it up on the internet and some say its because of sleeping patterns? I’ll admit mine are very…abnormal, to the point that there is NO pattern. But still its never happened before.

Just wanted to know if anyone experienced this. :bummer:

Re: Bad dreams/sleeping problem

I had experienced it during past few months. But I was going thru some extreme mental stress.

may be you are under stress about something ?

Are you really stressed out at the moment? I find that when I go to sleep with my mind preoccupied I either have a restless sleep or I suffer from bad dreams.

Also, you mentioned how your sleeping patterns are abnormal, I know that when my sleeping routine is all over the place I suffer from sleep paralysis along with bad dreams. Are you suffering from sleep paralysis as well?

**Diamond,

**Nop thank God not had sleep paralysis or anything, just very bad dreams, to the point where I don’t like to go to sleep. :bummer:

**Syraa,

**Nop no stress, actually been the most ‘care-free’ months of the year as have a break from uni for a couple of weeks! Hence why I am surprised!

The only reason I can think of is my sleeping patterns or the lack of any?

I usually have nightmares too:bummer:
with increasing stress n tension it increases.

People get bad dreams for all sorts of reasons although none of these reasons are definite.

Have you been sick lately? Got into an altercation with someone close to you?

Maybe establishing a sleeping pattern now is a good idea.

With age, our body changes sometimes for good and then not. Ive always thought of myself as pretty healthy but recently developed allergies to random things like cashmere (unfortunate), sun and weather allergies.

It’s good that you’re not suffering from sleep paralysis…I wouldn’t wish that on anyone :frowning:

Yeah, it would be a good idea to establish a healthy sleeping pattern. Try not to take naps in the day but have a good nights sleep.
You mentioned uni…do you have exams coming up? because that could be the stress thats subconsciously effecting you.

Don't go to sleep too full on stomach and try sleeping on a side preferably right side. Whenever I wake up from a nightmare I normally notice that I am lying straight. and yea read Ayat-ul-kursi and quls before going to bed.

Reha, nop no arguements or anything and thats the weird thing too because the common theme in ALL my dreams is me arguing with my family members when that never happens when I am awake! I suppose you may be right about some body changes. I had the same with allergies too, things that have never bothered me before bother me now for some reason!

Syraa, I have exams next month but haven’t thought of them til you mentioned it, that alone is bad enough I know lol. :bummer: As for naps, I’ll def cut down on them!

Masi, I’ll read dua before I go to bed every night I’A :slight_smile:

What is the usual gap between your last meal and your nap/sleep?

Hmm TLK, its usually a few hours i.e. 4-6? If the gap makes me hunry I'll quickly take a snack before going to bed but if I don't get hungry then my dinner is my last meal!

warm milk before going to bed is suggested by few people.you can try that.

Sleep apnea?

Day time sleepiness, or grogginess
daytime fatigue,
being over weight (not in all cases)
snoring

....are signs of sleep apnea.

Low oxygen during the night can make unusual dreams.

Sometimes a formal sleep study needs to be done.

These things can honestly effect you on a subconscious level…I asked because I’m going through a similar thing with my sleep paralysis and the only factor that could be causing this for me are my uni exams next month. I honestly can’t think what else could be the cause…

These things help me: having a regular sleeping pattern, not napping in the day, not sleeping on my back and reading duas definitely help!

Hope the bad dreams go away Inshallah :slight_smile:

I do feel groggy but I attributed that to me not having a pattern at all or just not getting enough sleep I think (and hope)!

Syraa, yup inshAllah will read a dua when I go to sleep form now on! I hope you don’t get the sleep paralysis! I have heard that its a terrifying expricnece!

Darn uni exams. :smack:

Sure, will try everything really to stop this annoying thing!

:nahi: Ur wishful thinking about becoming a mode is not letting you sleep now! Kaha tha maine, leave the modertor issues to me! Ye larkon ka kaam nahin hai!

Something in your subconscious? I used to have those but i was stressed. Recite Ayatal Kursi before you sleep.

Mode…:omg:

Its ‘rator’ from now on. :snooty:

Reha, BabrieQ just admitted she is the source of my bad dreams, ban her.

Well now Syraa mentioned exams..:stuck_out_tongue:

I’ll also add in my dua ‘Allah mian khaab denay hain to ladkiyon kay do’!

Something I have no proof of except personal experience is that sleeping close to some radiator (in particular the head) or in a hot room. Can cause me to have headaches when I wake and usually bad dreams.

As for the abnormal sleeping pattern, I am suffering from this too.

^that makes sense medically. Always sleep in a room with uniform temperature, never infront of AC or a heat radiator, it helps.

And as for OP, best thing is to establish a sleep pattern, read/think about good stuff before going to sleep and recite Ayat-ul-Qursi. Also, since you have exams next month, it might be that you're subconsciously stressed even though you don't know it?