Backache in mid pregnancy

I am alhumdullillah half way through … and since last two weeks have started to feel backache .. its not in the lower back .. but on the sides , in the muscular area …

I feel it particularly at night when i cant lay straight coz it strains the baby , I try to lie down on either side and which ever side is touching the bed , pain starts emerging in my back muscles …

I have tried different postures but nothings working at the moment …

any advise ?

Are hot water bottles safe to use during pregnancy?

Re: Backache in mid pregnancy

I hope you are taking your prenatals and vitamins regularly. I have noticed that I have this vertical kind of pain in my back (running from shoulder to the down) but it gets alright if I take my Vitamin D tablet regularly.
What I do when I have these aches anyway is:

Take panadol
Let the particular part of body pressed by some maid or someone
Take a nice cup of tea. Helps me relieving my muscle aches.

I hope people will come up with better advices. Cant help really since I am in the same boat :bummer:

thanks so much Mirage .. so you are feeling the aches too .. urgh .. i keep thinking abi ye hora hai baad mai kia ho ga :no:

I am taking my iron and vitamin D tabs regularly .. but its the muscle tension .. I feel tummy is also growing mainly in the front only so that could be a reason that the muslces are getting over stretched already .. i get husband to just lightly pat me on the upper back for a few seconds and that sort of shifts the muscle tension around the shoulder area .. but the minute i try to lie down again , it starts aching again !

I am wondering if sitting in a massage chair is safe during pregnancy :hmmm:

^ google it and you ll know. :slight_smile:

aches are v v normal in pregnancy. i doubt if there was anyone ever who didnt have them. Growing uterus obviously puts strains on back and rather the whole body all over. Well This is what it is doing to me anyway :hinna:

abi b boht acha horaha hai aor baad mai mazeed acha hoga :smiley: we both know that for sure :slight_smile:

i had that too... with aariz... i had a pointy belly that really bulged out in the middle... way too much strain all down my sides.

nothing helped realy... got worse until he popped out.

have you tried a pregnancy pillow?

as long as the hot water bottle isnt on the belly.. its all good. :)

mashallah.. cant wait for you to pop!

So is that myth really true that a pointy belly points towards a boy and a wide one is for the girl? :faizy: :faizy:

not in my exp.. i had the exact same belly both times.. yet had a boy and a girl

other than this

ahem.. yes cb.. care to share.. first boy names and now this :D

lol. As far as the ultra sound readings are true, she is having a baby boy ma sha Allah. Ma sha Allah. More than a boy or a girl, she is having a KID!!! :wub: Ma sha Allah :slight_smile:

ooooo i missed that news... awesome.. mashallah .

u have to name him aariz cb... nothing else matters :D

Err she didnt like announce really. But why else would she ask for boy names only? :silly:

Aint we ALL just so happy for her :flower1: :flower1: :slight_smile:

you can go for a pregnany massage.. or have your husband regularly give you massage! I have had backache before and even six months after the baby was born and massage helps a lot so please go get it!

ahem! i've already reserved that name, thankyouverymuch :p

Sgc did I miss something?

Hi Khawa , Aariz is one of the most beautiful names and its definitely on my list .. actually the name is associated with your little prince that I think of him everytime i come across this name :hula:

Mirage :hugz:

GTG, yup massage is what got done twice now .. it does sort of give the relief for an hour or so and then goes back to hurting :no:

The little search that I did on using massage chair during pregnancy didnt give much positive results :frowning:

I think the more time passes, the more your husband will progress from pat to press you. :blush:

Congratulations CB. Is this your first? I remember those back pains with my first. They are normal. As soon as you give birth, it will disappear. Try keeping your posture straight. Nothing much helped me, i just put up with it. I have a son and 21 weeks pregnant withmy second inshallah. When are you due?

lol no, its just for the future!

Ok :)