Tell us something about your bachpan. Anything interesting, something yaadgar?
And In case you have already crossed it, You can also share Pachpan ki yaden (55)
Tell us something about your bachpan. Anything interesting, something yaadgar?
And In case you have already crossed it, You can also share Pachpan ki yaden (55)
I drank hydrochloric acid to impress a girl in chemistry practical.
I fell off a horse and broke my tail bone, i repeated the same honour 15 years later!
I used to hide my rubbish under the bed to convince my mum i had cleaned the room
I used to have mild-moderate dyslexia as a child
I learnt to play piano, but stopped when started medical school
I once stole my classmate’s lunch, but soon felt guilty and quietly put it back in his bag.
I used to be very shy around the ladies, most people don’t believe it now
I used to be quite religious in my younger days, i wish those days could return but i’m working on it…
I started driving aged 12 and crashed my dad’s car, breaking a poor chap’s leg in the process, I was grounded for a week for this sin, incidentally the guy who was hurt came to see my dad for treatment, lol
oh yes! I also ran away from home to avoid being sent to the boarding school
I was a cute kid, do not know what happened to me now. I used to eat chalk n mitti and that’s the only thing i got scolded for in childhood. Once i wandered off somewhere and they did Alaan for me in a masjid.. I did not stop taking feeder-bottle until i was 10…
I guess that’s enough.
I loved multani mitti, aka gaachi. I knew it was bad to consume it so I would bite a piece, savor it in my mouth for as long as I wanted, and then spit it out as well as rinse my mouth.
My mom had brought back these gold bangles for me when she went for Umrah, I used to put them on when I did namaz because I loved the sound they made. Plus, in Pakistan usually newlywed women wear gold churiyan around the house so I pretended I had just gotten married. Rotfl.
Okay, here’s a memorable bachpan ki story…It even has a lota in it.
It was a lazy afternoon and there was nothing worth watching on TV after the usual round of cartoons. Being bored out of my mind, I decided to go hang out with my mom, who would either be resting at this time or talking to her Aunti-friend over the phone. I padded down the hallway and into the bedroom where I found my mom sleeping. That kind of peaceful slumber which makes you either wanna leave the person be or it incites you to stir them awake. I tended toward the latter. I whispered, “Mama.” But she didn’t stir. I tried again and nothing. I figured that I should combine my whisper with a gentle shaking of her shoulder. When even that didn’t work, I employed a more audible voice and a more vigorous shaking. Still, nothing. At this point I panicked. I ran down the hall and told my younger brother. We both raced down the hall and into the room where his own attempts yielded the same failed results. Finally he said, “We should call Papa cuz that’s what we were told to do.” He reached for the phone that was on the nightstand. But I stopped him. I told him I had a better idea. “We should throw water on her like they do in the movies,” I ventured. He didn’t seem too convinced, but he gave up on the phone idea. Either he didn’t know the number, or my suggestion had peaked his curiosity.
While my brother and I were having this exchange of ideas, little did we know that my mom was actively listening. Yep, this was a prank of hers. She wanted to know how we’d respond. My naive mother kept up this prank because she assumed that I would fill a glass with a few drops of water and flick a few harmless cheentain at her. But no, I had other plans. I’ve always had the bad habit of over-estimating time and amounts and this occasion was no different. I headed straight for the bathroom where I spotted the orange lota. It wasn’t one of those squat and stout fixtures with a spout from which the pours in a slow and steady stream; that would have worked better in my mom’s favor. Instead, this orange lota was in the shape of a very tall lemonade pitcher. And I filled it all the way to the top with cold, cold water. I carried the lota to the room where I found no change in mom’s condition. So, I reared back…and hurled the cold water at her. She sprang up, sputtering and coughing, and dashed to the bathroom while my brother and I stood there, speechless, gawking at that very speedy recovery. I awaited the scolding (or worse) but it never came. I guess my mom figured that it would be unjust considering she was guilty for playing the prank on us. Moral of the story: Never under-estimate your lota.
At quite young age, once my mom took me to visit a relative. I believe aunty was sick, she was resting on the bed while we were also sitting on the bed, her son - my cousin around my age, myself and mom. While both ammas were talking, somehow God knows for what reason I & cuz got into a fight, tumbled down the bed where I hit my head on the side table and started bhaa bhaa. Both ammas were aray aray yeh kia hua!!!
Later on, cuz & I went to same school and college and would sometimes reminisce about it but we never figured out what/who started that fight.
On another occasion, our phuppi arranged a house warming gathering/milaad. Whole khandaan, friends, friends of friends, neighbours were there. As usual I got into a tiff with my phuppizad cousins and locked them out on the roof with the help of my younger brother and childhood besties. As kids you don’t think much about your actions so I said fk it and moved on with other things. In the craziness of that huge family gathering with aunties milaad pharring, uncles having loud & passionate debates on politics, kids running around, it took a while for my phuppi/phuppa to realize their own kids are MIAs. While the search was going on, I stayed mum like I wasn’t even there. After things calmed down, my phuppa laughed it off, phuppi and ammi gave me silent stares but the worst reaction was naturally set aside for my dad who - for a starter gave me a zoredar thapparr that literally had me feel like I was floating up somewhere in 0 gravity.
Later at home, the royal treatment I got from my dad, that’s the stuff of legend that should remain buried in the dark, hidden, forgotten corners of history.
I could take the beatings from my mom all day long and then some. But my dad was built like a pahelwaan, just one light tap on the head was enough to set me straight like an arrow.
Ahh.
Amrika ke na Jaapaan ke…
Hum to hen deewane Multan ke.. wink
Here is one song totally suitable for this topic.
@batameez its no aisa wesa link. Totally a saf suthra link ejactly like yours truely. Do watch
It’s a long loooong list. Can’t recall much now at 3am but I remember I’m the only one in my siblings who has beaten up all my siblings (bad temper) including older brother & sister. Oh yeah, one lesson from childhood. My mother was busy somewhere & not listening to what I wanted to tell her. I tried to get her attention but she was too busy. Can’t recall where (I was 6 I think). I went to lie down in the TV lounge with my head on the bottom section of the TV trolley & feet towards the kaaba . Because I was angry, I wanted to piss off God (satanic, I know) as we were told not to lie down with feet towards the kaaba. So I purposely did. And thought to myself, if there is any God, He will punish me for doing that as my parents are not watching & there is no one to stop me from lying down with my feet towards the kaaba. After 7-10 minutes or so, I heard a loud ‘bang’ followed by a loud scream. I realised within moments, that was my own scream. The tv on the trolley had fallen right over my lower legs & I was screaming. My mom came running down, gave me first aid, put me in bed, called my father, asked how/ what happened. I just told her I was lying down with my head on trolley but not the rest of the story about me attempting to piss off God. Father came home, sat by my side asking what / how it happened. Both parents were shocked how on earth I had managed to have tv fall on my legs. Father spoke, sweet loving words, not to worry, I’ll be okay soon, etc. etc… I was scared to tell them both I was angry prior to that & all. And I was scared inside also as God had answered my question too & punished me so fast. Until today, I never lie down any new place until I ensure my feet are not facing the kaaba.
There are so many more but this one on my mind right now.
Once I wore salwar inside out
But was noticed by a local non desi lady, who assumed it to be in fashion and ask about the design material etc etc
Luckily went into the mall toilet and fix it before entering the Desi gathering
Another time a guest who was from Karachi was in home and I was supposed to company her but I fell asleep in her face while she was talking about how great Karachi was
Was still asleep when she left
Sibling told me about it later and don’t remember if mum knows or not
Auntie is likely to remember this as she is sensitive
These are early teens
Don’t remember bachpan or maybe I was shareef child and did no shararatain
anyone click on the link?
What is the song about?
Holy Coincidence!
Iv’e a tons of memorable moments from childhood as from now it looks that was certainly the best time.
One of them is how my mom wanted to take a afternoon nap religiously and made sure that each of us siblings also sleep in that 2-3 hrs session. And boy, that was one misery for us. Especially me. I was like using all possible tactics to make sure i dont sleep. Never liked it a bit.
Also I was very very playful. So getting bruises was a norm. And most of it was at my head. Countless times I got hit here n there and my head opened up bleeding and ended up getting stitches. Fun fun.
I once got a few tissue rolls, ripped a few off to make it thick. Doused in water. And then went to the garden and threw them at my neighbours windows so that they’d stick to them. Think I went through 7 tissue rolls that day. All my neighbours upstairs windows in the back were covered. Remember the black guy next door open the window and start screaming something in his language and point towards me. Next thing I knew my door bell rang and he told my dad what I did and for me to come and take it all of his windows. That never happened. Think most the tissues stayed on his window for at least a year before eventually the rain washed it all off.
Atleast its better than people coming out of the bathroom with toilet paper sticking out of their pants. Aur na karo lota use.
And your nick should be be-qadri instead of batameez. Holy chose a Golden song for this topic and you didnt even watch it? Dafa dur
You and your obsession with toiletries , tauba
Why would not the song be related with toiletries?
Awein
Was that incident you mentioned your bachpana?
It’s ok song
Depressing one though
Listen to it few mins only as then felt bored
Aye, no obsheshon. Just a perfect counter example of your bachpan ki yaden. That was actually a scene in a movie where Salma Hayek <3] storms out of ladies room in anger in such situation.
About song, Barae mehrbani shtop assuming. Holy is a very much baa-zoq and maqool person. Hence the song selection would be good too. Enjoy farmayye.
badzoq log
yeah counter example
acha as you say so then ![]()