Is it possible to get more than one bachelor’s degree from multiple college/universities? Has anyone done this? If I were to do that would I have to go through the general requirements thing all over again or can I go straight to starting a degree? The only reason I’m asking about a Bachelors and not a Masters is because I haven’t seen any schools that offer what I want to study as a Masters. How about an Associate’s? Is it possible to get an associates after you’ve completed a Bachelor’s?
Re: Bachelor's degrees
If u want to get more than one degree from different colleges you will need to meet certain amount of requirements towards that degree from that school. Say for example I got a business- Marketing degree from school A and I want to go to school B to get my International Studies degree. Some of my credits from school A will transfer to School B, but school B has say 90 (made up number, each school varies) credits required in order to graduate with my International Studies degree. Hope that helps. You might want to call the school and talk to an advisor...good luck!
yes I know tons of people who have multiple undergrad degrees... there's nothing stopping you from going for a second degree - in fact if you stay at your current school, it'll be even easier.
Like Pyaari said, you'll get some transfer credits for sure and prolly be able to finish your second honors degree in 3 years if you try.
That being said, I'd wanna still think about a masters in a related area... what is it that you wanna do?
The school I am looking at (Fashion Institute of Technology) only offers a bachelors or associates in Fashion design. Another school is not an option. They offer a masters in Global Fashion Management but that will not be for another few years. I may also just get an associates in design, I'm not sureyet.
sara, why do you want to study fashion? perhaps the most open industry wrt nudity, culture, pushing the limits etc. why fashion?
Hmmm...good question. I never really thought about it...
I'm creative.
You don't have to be naked or vulgar to be fashionable or even sexy. I've been learning more and more about the paki fashion industry lately (since comin to GS actually), and how it's so risque. To me, it's trashy and pointless because 90 percent of the people cannot wear designer outfits, because of price or lack of modesty in the clothing or whatever. In my personal experience, the "common" fashion there is also very cookie cutter. There is no point shopping around because every store has the exact same thing. there's nothing really special to the designs or colors out there. Once a color is popular every single girl I know will wear it, whether it even suits her or not (white face powder??).
I may be idealistic or naive, but I want to be unique. I've noticed that uniqueness isn't a quality that's really appreciated among desis (here and in Pak). If you decide to deviate from teh "norm" then ur looked down upon, kno wat i mean. It's not just in what you decide to wear, but in all the different areas of life, what career you choose, what you eat, how you enjoy your free time, whatever.
Sorry if this dont make sense, but this was just hte first thing that I could think of...
^ Ok, so you want to do desi fashion..why not just get an apprenticeship with a darzi. You can not only learn how to cut cloth but also how to feel chicks up. ;)
Linked to matsui's post, what personal and intellectual development are you expecting a fashion degree to produce in you?
Re: Bachelor’s degrees
^ Dude i saw your shirt in that picture where you were smoking the hukkah…explains why you still haven’t kissed a girl. As a poster child for why fashion is direly needed…you should just be chup. :nono:
You’re just jealous that you weren’t smoking that hukkah ![]()
From my own and others’ experiences with darzis (just read the “Darzi” thread in Soc/Culture), I’ve come to the conclusion that the whole lot of them are morons. They don’t understand simple directions, or the concept of “the customer is always right.” Which goes back to my previous answer, there is no such thing as “individuality” in Paki culture.
Example: Last January (2004) I wetn to Pakistan. I drew the darzi, Ashraaf, or as he was more commonly known, ironically, “Accha”, a pic of what kind of skirt I wanted, below the knees, A-line with a flouncy hem, zipperred waist. He gave me a freakin abaya
Some long, shapeless dress with a neck that came up to the chin and dragged on teh floor, a “maxi”. It was hideous. And this year, we wetn to a “better” darzi but he still screwed up the size and shape and cut.
So, I have no respect for most darzis. They’re idiots.
The great thing about artistic ability, you either have it or you don’t. You can’t learn to be creative, like you can learn to do accounts or write computer software or whatever it is you IT/finance ppl do. If you have no talent, a four year degree won’t help you. But to be a successful designer, you need to learn the ins and outs of the business. It’s a cutthroat industry (so I’ve been told) and a degree certainly cannot compensate for lack of ambition or courage to put yourself forward and stand up for yourself or ability to kill any bit of self-doubt whenever you’re discouraged. But a degree certainly can help you get your foot in teh door.
I know of many people who have done multiple bachelors and/or masters...
Yes, You can get more then one bachelor degrees but not from same universities. If you got one degree from a university then to get another degree, You must change the university.
This is partilly true , some universities do not allow second undergrad degree some do. I have two bechelors degrees one with science major and other with business major.
omggggggggggggggggggggggggg
Aur Sara, how did FIT work out ![]()
Bachelor’s degrees
lol did you end up at FIT?
Lol, nope, never reapplied, my interest in art/fashion kinda faded after a while. Some way, somehow, 9 years later I ended up as a tax accountant. Go figure :hehe:
@Pinstripe_Danda… where you be. ![]()