bachay ki shakal aur us ki kismat

one of my first cousins is abt to have a baby daughter mashallah se…him and bhabi travelled out of town to a mazaar recently to make a mannat that Allah un kee beti k naseeb achay karay, nayk seerat de aur, according to my aunt sab se bari baat us kee shakal achee karay… my aunt was saying that if her shakal is not good, us kee shaadi hona mushkil ho jayay gi aur us k naseeb kharaab ho jayein ge…jab kisi kee beti honay wali hoti hae then their biggest concern is that Allah us kee shakal achee karay takay us ki shadi achee jagah ho aur us k naseeb achay hon…

i have grown up hearing these kinda things…but..i always felt something weird after hearing such statements…i mean…shudnt the biggest concern be that Allah miaan give her a nayk seeerat and kind heart…

kismat depends on ur kirdaar n what Allah swt destined for u and ur own actions and attitude and treatment of others…kismatein shaklon se nai banti aur na hi shakal se aakhrat sanwarti hae…

then why this obsession with bachay ki shakal…

hmmm

I've also seen that attitude, my younger sister has darker skin and everyone's only concern has always been her skin colour. It was so heart breaking when few weeks back she told me that I look nicer because my skin is white.. I mean no one in my family has ever given her such impressions but she's just so sensitive to how people react while talking with her... and she sure has noticed only what type of kids are told "oh what a cute baby" :-/ I just hope this complex doesn't stay with her for long..

what if they r bestowed with a fairy like daughter n she grows up as a person with lose character ,God forbid!

its sooo sooo bad ....i could never pray for a boy/girl/beautiful etc.
i always pray to Allah miaN to give me wha is best for me .....n Alhamdulillah He has always answered my prayers!

what I find slightly contradictory is that on the one hand they have done prenatal diagnositics to find out the gender of the baby (a very western thought), but on the other hand they perform such mannatein that her face shud be nice (a veryyyy conservative window of thought) :konfused:

whatever happened to just praying for a healthy baby? Is is overrated nowadays or sumthin?

Funny how people can doubt anything Allah will create to be anything less than beautiful. People like that deserve to not have kids.

What a shame, I wonder how these parents who are asking for a beautiful baby react when they recieve one who is mentally ill or some how has a major disability. Ur right..in my mindset..these people don't deserve children...but we have no say in that..:(

This is sad and funny at the same time. Tell them to take a good look in the mirror before they think of bringing another life in to the world next time. Thats pretty much what they'll create. If they themselves look like monkeys God can't do much to make their kids look like any different!

In pakistan it is a valid concern.

Especially in arranged marrages, the guy and his family doesnt know what the girls heart is like etc, they see only the face, figure parents bank balance etc etc education of the girl < if the guy is picky and idar udar sai poochna.

If the girl is ugly, poor and uneducated then she doesnt have much of a future, so they pray against probability for her to be lucky enough to get a good hubby, who can provide for her etc.

Looks are extremely important in Pakistan, no two ways about that.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
This is sad and funny at the same time. Tell them to take a good look in the mirror before they think of bringing another life in to the world next time. Thats pretty much what they'll create. If they themselves look like monkeys God can't do much to make their kids look like any different!

Homo sapein adam and homo sapien eve beg to differ :-p

I dont see how a person can ever look ugly.

As far as wanting good looks, thats NOT just an eastern thing.I mean its a pathetic , ridiculous issue to be so worried about...but its something too many people care for.Maybe they need to realize that babies are beautiful no matter what.Beauty is never defined by looks.Its very sad to see people worry over something like this.

sad how the only aim in the minds of the parents for their little or even unborn girls is to get them married somehow. Almost every decision they make for the girl somehow relates to or revolves around getting her ready to be a good wife and a good daughter-in-law. Parents work their butts off to raise a marriage fund, they put their girls through med school, so she lands a good doc who wants a doc in turn.

I mean, here we went to visit a new mother(prolly 27, who happens to be a dental surgeon herself) the other day..and the baby BOY has a birthmark on his face,the mother says.."god bless the child isn't a girl, the mark would have spoiled her face and thus ruined her chances of finding a good match."
I was outraged and felt like performing Bruce

Lee on her ass.

What if they get a beautiful daughter, but she then has an accident?

People are so stupid, they should pray for a righteous child no matter what the gender. If your gonna ask Allah, ask for something that is good and worthwhile, not something superficial that could be lost or taken away in a second.

Good looks are not always a blessing, sometimes it can be a curse. So be careful what you wish for....

It's a well known and well documented fact that people who have better appearances have a better chance in life and are often undeservingly rewarded for their good looks

Our society and probably society at large has been sucked into this mirage that white is the better color becuase everything white must be pure. yeah right.

Health, seerath and Suraath. It should go in that order.