Babysitting

so this is kind of inspired by my other thread about grandparents…

when you go out, who do you leave your children with (IF you decide to go out without them)?
Your parents (if they are in the area)? other relatives? do you hire a babysitter?
At what age do you start to leave your kids alone without an adult?

When you were a kid what did your parents do?

Re: Babysitting

When my mother in law stayed with us or comes to stay with us, without question we'd leave our kids with her, but at other times, we have neighbors trusted daughters take care of them...we know the families well, trust the girls with our girls so we feel comfortable. usually, this is for a couple of hours once in a while.

We have hired professional nannies through registered agencie as well and have been very comfortable with them as they are trained to handle children, are CPR certified, have police clearance, etc.

I actually feel very comfortable with a babysitter is being compensated rather than taking favors from friends and relatives on a regular basis. Once in a while is fine of course.

^ see I am very much in favor of having babysitters who are educated, trained/certified etc than to just leave with relatives all the time, that just seems like taking advantage of them.

I just got back from Pakistan and I used to leave my daughter very frequently with my mother...whenever I was going out to the markets or see a friend or something....
Not sure what I will do here where I do not have any family....maybe hire someone through an agency if both of us decide to go out....haven't thought about it...
ah the joys of having family closeby...:(

^leave her with us!!! We love to baby sit baby E :-)

havent left her alone yet unless i need to go shopping even then, its a very wuick shop, back in 30mins...only on husbands day off, do i go out, and he has her....mum can have her here and there but dont think its fair on her to bundle her with a baby frequently and wander off shopping. only person il feel ok with having her all day and night would be husband, its his job. parents too old and not too well to be able to deal with a crying baby.....

babysitter? hmmmm, no need yet.

If you weren't that far,I would have taken full advantage...:p

Most probably when I have kids, they will be left with my mother after appointment with her. I dont like when people take grandparents or siblings for granted. Yeah I might be home, doesnt mean I have time to babysit your kid sort of situation .. So always make an appointment and dont forget to say thank you .. It means sooo much :)

I leave them in a creche or sometimes with my husband and sometimes with their grandparents....or sometimes I leave them with their best buddy The Christmas tree in the corner. :)

that’s pretty rude and sarcastic. :rolleyes:

Why? It’s true. You smoke and I have a Christmas tree buddy.

There are a very few people that I trust. I usually lug them around. My sister, my SIL, my parents or MIL. I have left them on occasion with baby sitters but only a few time.

Dads should send the kids away with the mother and then he can spend some time with the babysitter ...

Oh boy, Monk hacked Psyah's account.

Monk is so dead now :ASA:

LOL! Psyah ji ki khair nahi! Wait until Hareem comes around here!

:( Hey ... hareem01 made me do it ...

Very good !!! Totally out of character ... and in somebody else's ...

Is that really you? Really :mad:? Cuz if it is then I’m coming over to rescue sister Hareem and the children :asa:

What’s that old saying, kisi aur kai kandhay pay bandook rakhay chalaana :nahi: For shame - blaming poor Hareem :smiley:

We are not sure if Hareem made you do that, however we know one thing that Hareem is not hiring a baby sitter who is any prettier than Nanny McPhee.